We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful... as usual.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Superior Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful... as usual.”
Reviewed February 22, 2011

My boyfriend and I found this place by chance on a motorcycle trip up north last summer. Now, it is also our "go to" resort when we want to get away for a weekend. We were up there this past weekend and had a great trip as usual. Wonderful rooms, clean, cozy... and right on the lake. (Although you do pay more for a suite... about $160 a night, it is totally worth it to have a balcony ON lake Superior, a fireplace, AND a jacuzzi overlooking the lake). It is quiet, romantic, and all around great relaxing getaway. It's in a pretty small town and there is a few great places near for dinner or drinks, but if you're tired and in the mood to stay here and only here, then ask for Blake in the bar and you're guranteed great service. Blake was our server on both trips and he was on point with impeccable service every time. The food is also good. We have had dinners and they are okay... but the burgers and sandwiches are great! They also always have activities at night and a wide variety of things to do. Bon fires, ice bar, skating rink, sleigh rides, snow shoeing, and much more. In the summer, it's the same, bonfires, smores, bochhe ball, etc. This is just an all around great resort and well worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCrazyC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    126
    55
    29
    30
See reviews for
176
215
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We went to the north shore of MN in Feb 2011 for a nice mini-vacation. The resort overall was excellent. The room was very clean, had nice decor, and was spacious. The amenities of our room were great! We had a nice view of Lake Superior right from our balcony and would awaken to the beautiful sunrise over the lake in the mornings. Overall it was a very relaxing stay. The resort was very quiet when we stayed with only a few other guests at the time, which we liked since we wanted a quiet, relaxing vacation. The restaurant in the lodge has great food and was very convenient to dine at right on the resort. I just wish the bar/lounge was open later in the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The resort was very clean and kept up very nice, a lot of the rooms feel like new still and were luxurious. I will be staying there in the future:)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biglakebowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Four of us went to the Splashing Rock restaurant this morning. We had the worst service we have ever seen. The waitress was very rude and did not seem to have time to take our order. We asked for peanut butter twice and never did receive it. The food was just ok and barely warm yet. Wish we would have taken a drive to Bettys Pies.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I decided to try a new lodge as part or our annual trip to the north shore. The website seemed great but we are always skeptical until we are there. Low and behold this place was brilliant! We had an amazing view of the lake, did not have to travel too far in either direction to visit the state parks, and had had a bar close by to catch a very dissapointing Twins game. The staff was always very nice and we could tell they would go above and beyond to make us happy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almarie0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed at Grand Superior Lodge for 3 nights earlier this month. Upon first arrival we were so pleased with everything we saw -- stunning grounds and views, and the room (1 bedroom lakeview in the main lodge) looked very charming and comfortable. Included in the room was a whirlpool tub, fireplace, flat screen TV with DVD player, small couch and chair, coffee maker and mini fridge, and a separate bedroom with one queen bed piled with pillows.

As we settled in, however, little things became apparent that added up to a not-so-comfortable stay. The towels were very scratchy and the amenities (soaps, etc) were very skimpy. The seating (couch, chair) were very uncomfortable if you wanted to settle in for the evening to watch TV or enjoy the fireplace (which was a gas fireplace with a very noisy ticking timer). The TV was mounted so high, above the fireplace that it became very uncomfortable to view for any amount of time. We found very little room to place our things other than one round coffee table in the sitting area. The noise in the room was unacceptable -- and NOT from noisy inconsiderate other tenants...we rarely heard other people staying at the resort other than doors closing, unfortunately with a loud bang...surely some kind of soft closure could be incorporated...as it was, doors close with a loud echoing bang, even when trying to control them to close quietly. The worst and most upsetting noise was apparently from the laundry room which happened to be directly below our room. During the night there was intermittent loud rumbles and vibrations which even shook the bed. We complained about it the next morning and were told the machines weren't supposed to be running after 9pm. The next night the same thing happened and we called the desk. They said there was nothing they could do except change us to a different room. We were already undressed and ready for bed and not in the mood to pack up and move. Thankfully they allowed us to just go sleep in the new room, and move our belongings the next morning. The new room was quieter, but we did lose our fireplace and the whirlpool tub, and to be fair, we were comped for the inconvenience for one night's stay.

That all said, positive things are the staff, all very friendly and helpful, great restaurant with stunning views, good food, though a bit pricey. There was a nice little gift shop with cute items, a handy library with free computer/internet access. We will probably be hesitant to recommend this place to friends though, in spite of the beautiful location and views. For the price we paid, we expected much more comfort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phxtraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My fiance and I made a special trip to check out the facility in April 2010. Courtney was very nice, and the space looked great, so we asked to have a date held for Sept. 2011. We were told and received an e-mail confirmation from her that same month stating she had locked in the date for us, and would be in contact if anyone else requested the date. We e-mailed her again in August, ready to put down a deposit. She did not respond to the e-mail or following phone calls for 3 weeks!! When we finally did get a hold of her via e-mail (as she avoided speaking to us directly), she told us there had been some "miscommunication" regarding our date and she had booked the date for another couple. Although she extended the same offer for a different date and a 20% room discount, this did not change the fact that her avoidance of us would force us to take a date in October, by which time the leaves would be gone and snow might be a possibility. The manager was condescending and made us feel like we were lucky they were even extending us any offer during their busiest season. Do not trust a date hold there - put down a deposit ASAP!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suncat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We were able to go on a fishing charter arranged through the front desk - for a VERY reasonable price too! They also offer massages - which I would highly recommend as well! The staff at the Grand Superior Lodge are outstanding - especially in the Splashing Rock Restaurant! They went above and beyond to make our dining a unique and delicious experience! We ate all of our meals (except one breakfast at Betty's Pies) at the Splashing Rock Restaurant! The chicken and wild rice soup was delicious! Actually, everything we had was delicious!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnRHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
12.6 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
515 reviews
8.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
414 reviews
10.7 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
17.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
10.7 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Superior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Superior Lodge

Property: Grand Superior Lodge
Address: 2826 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Superior Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Superior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Grand Superior Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing