We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Superior Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We rented a 1- bedroom cabin for a few nights. There is a separate bedroom and pullout sofa in the main room. The cabin fronts Lake Superior and the entire site is beautiful. The cabin was comfortable and the resort friendly and family friendly (e.g. board games to check out, free smores each night....)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thaddeus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Thaddeus P,
We thank you for sharing your experience and even more pleased you found the 1-bedroom cabin perfect for your needs! We agree that with all the games and the activities that our Explore Program offers as well as our location and pool/hot tub/sauna area nobody should have trouble finding their idea of fun! We look forward to having you back and let us know if we can do anything to make your perfect visit even better!

All the best,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 522 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Disclaimer: We have yet to actually stay in the hotel

My husband called this evening to book a room at the Grand Superior Lodge. Our budget isn't enormous but our needs are few so we figured we'd give a call and see what was available since the Lodge is both beautiful and situated perfectly for access to the Superior Hiking Trail.

The gentleman answering our call was a total delight! I believe his name was Darren. He worked with my husband on the phone for nearly 20 minutes as they explored all the possibilities for lodgings that we could afford. My husband thinks he's sneaky but I'm positive (due to stepping out of the room during the call) that he has something up his sleeve and that Darren may be privy some sort of anniversary surprise by my husband as we never were able to have a honeymoon and our 5 year anniversary is approaching.

Regardless, my husband is often quite gruff of temperament and downright surly after dealing with many people but Darren must be a genius at customer service as my husband was practically whistling with glee after he hang up. Darren is a wonderful employee and I recommend everyone talk to him and that the Lodge management give him a big bravo!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Anna A,
Thank you for sharing your experience of just making the reservation, we do often spend a lot of time on the phone describing and selecting the perfect fit, as other reviewers often comment on, for your visit. I hope your stay is/was special and you keep coming back to share your special days here with us!

All our best!

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed for five nights in cabin 502 mid June, was ok but could have been better. First night about 7 pm we realized we had no heat or hot water so called front desk and young service man came to our cabin. He made several excuses, talked a lot and fiddled around with the thermostat and left. Nothing changed at all over night as the guy said it would be warmer in few hours. We spent a lot of money for this cabin and were very uncomfortable with no heat or hot water until later next am. It was 37 degrees that night with cold wind from lake and wet snow at times. Next am we called front desk again and another service guy came and did a very simple repair by lighting pilot light in attic area which helped after few hours. Check out person did not ask about our stay because we would have asked for refund for first night. Remainder of stay was good except our lake view was only partial view and rest of view was cabin in front of us and we were told good lake view so that was very misleading. Also Splashing Rock restaurant in lodge has great food but service was almost not there both times we ate there so that is another black eye for this lodge. We did like the area as a home base for our travels further north and south and was quiet at night. Cabin was homey with nice kitchen area and was very pet friendly which we enjoyed. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for cabin with lake front not lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaRee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear LaRee H,
Thank you for our feedback as it is the only way we can improve and I am sorry we did not solve your problem when it happened or by the time you left. We will make sure our maintenance staff know how to solve the issues that come up in 502 or otherwise and we have corrected the staffing issues in the restaurant so please feel comfortable coming back and please contact me at nick@grandsuperior.com to make sure you know we heard your comments.

Best,
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

It was our first time in the north shore and had a great time staying at the Grand Superior. We went for the weekend and stayed in one of the lake front rooms. It was very relaxing. The room was spacious. Minor issue with the shower stall - it was dated, but it is a cabin type property so that was ok. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: any lakefront would be good. the property is right by the lake, you would here it in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank docneneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear docneneng,
We are so pleased you spent your first time on the north shore with us and you shared it with so many others! We continue to make our resort more comfortable and well maintained so thank you for sharing your impression!

Best regards,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Great place with very friendly staff. Cabin was spacious and comfortable. Great view of the lake and beautiful shoreline. Restaurant visit was poor and slow but outside of that, it's a great place to stay. I would highly suggest it and would visits again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank abrafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear abrafat,
We are glad you enjoyed our location!
Yet we are sorry you did not enjoy our restaurant, we strive to make sure every guest enjoys every aspect of our resort and if you contact me I will be sure to listen and see what we can do to ensure you feel comfortable trying us in the future!

nick@grandsuperior.com,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Grand Superior lodge is a fantastic resort for our family. The resort is very nice, the entire facility is clean and It's close to so many places we love to go and things we love to do. we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenncy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Jenncy86,
Thank you for sharing your great feelings towards our lodge on the north shore! We aim to have every guest feel as you do and we hope your words encourage others to give us a try so we can keep seeing more and more people experience Grand Superior Lodge!

Best,
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is the most family friendly resort i've been too, but still had a luxury north-woods feeling to it. Rooms were very spacious, large refrigerator, microwave. 2 soft robes - i fell in love right there! It was rainy when we got there, so we played chess in the library, checked out a movie for our room with a complimentary microwave popcorn. (our room had a dvd player). They had tons of books to borrow as well. The pool was fun for the kids, they had extra goggles and dive toys in the pool. There was stuff to make bubbles and sidewalk chalk at the front door. They had a kids corner with coloring pages, scavenger hunt pages (for indoor and outdoor)
They have investment opportunities available here, and after one night stay, my husband was seriously considering it!
Customer service was excellent from check in to check out!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback, and as you can see by the many recent Trip Advisor guest comments, we are maintaining our high standards and exceptional customer service. We were glad to read that you were able to take advantage of the many amenities we have to offer at Grand Superior Lodge. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again to our resort.

Best Regards,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
8.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
449 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
546 reviews
10.7 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
17.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
10.7 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Superior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Superior Lodge

Address: 2826 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range: $87 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Superior Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Superior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Grand Superior Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing