We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Superior Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Superior Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I have been staying a the GSL since it was first opened. We have always found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. We have never stayed in the lodge but rather chose the lake homes or cabins. Most have a fire place or wood stove which adds the ambiance and rustic feel. The best part is the proximity to the lake! You can leave a window open at night and hear the waves...very relaxing. When we first started staying in the cabins and log homes they were nicely decorated but last few times many of the decorations have disappeared, and those that remain and firmly attached.

We have always found the restaurant to be fantastic in both service and food. When you check in they give you a coupon to use for a discounted breakfast and I recommend you try it. Their food tastes fresh delicious!

GSL is close to many attractions such as Split Rock Lighthouse and Gooseberry Falls, great hiking and biking trails. They also have canoes you can use free of charge which is a great way to experience the lake as you can see 30 - 40 feet down due to the water clarity. We always look forward to our fall getaway to the north shore to enjoy all it has to offer. I wish they offered a frequent stay program as it is our favorite place to stay on the shore of lake Superior

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Bobbi,

We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write us a positive review following your recent stay with us at Grand Superior Lodge. It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and appreciate your continued patronage.
It was great to read the comments regarding the unit types you have stayed in over the years from our Cabins to our Lake Log Homes on the shoreline. As you are im sure aware, all of our outside units are individually owned, so as the layout in the units remain the same, our owners do often change the décor up to reflect the contemporary times while still keeping in tradition with the rich rustic feel that is Grand Superior.
We are happy to see that our accommodations, staff and location have exceeded your expectations over the years and many more to follow we hope.
As to your question regarding a frequent stay program, we have had talks about putting together a program that rewards our valued customers such as yourself however, nothing has been finalized at this time. I would invite you to check out our websites specials and packages page where we post the most up-to-date specials.

Again thank you for your continued support and we look forward to welcoming you again,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 565 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Grand Superior Lodge from 10/11/13-10/13/13. We had a wonderful time as always. It was a perfect time of year. The staff and the accommodations are outstanding. We will not wait so long the next time.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad view on the property. Although some of the 2 bedroom cabins are bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Grand Superior Lodge. We are overjoyed to hear that you were able to get that "Well Deserved" vacation. We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendations worthy. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My family joined me here for a nice long weekend in September during which time I had a conference for work on site. The accommodations were wonderful for this event.

The lodge rooms were typical hotel rooms from what I saw but we had reserved 4 nights in one of the private 2 bedroom cabins by the lake. There are several of these, all with slightly different layouts and size. The theme is the same: clean, well appointed, internet access, fireplace, big windows facing the lake and close to everything.

The lodge facilities including the indoor pool were well above average and well maintained. The onsite bar was pretty decent and had live music (not too loud) but the restaurant itself was overpriced and mediocre food. There are other culinary options within 30 minutes which I'll write separate reviews on.

The proximity of this resort to both Gooseberry Falls State park and Split Rock Lighthouse State part is wonderful. (1 mile and 8 miles). A ridiculous amount of biking and hiking can take place from this resort as a base.

Room Tip: Recommend the private or semiprivate cabins by the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GStarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I treated ourselves to a romantic getaway at the GSL. We were very impressed with the staff, grounds and rooms.. Only problem is our gas fireplace would not light. (Kind of a big deal for us romantics) the staff was very responsive and tried several times to fix it, but could not before we had to leave. Regardless they were wonderful and very nice and I would definitely return for another stay.

We stayed in the (upstairs) suite in the lake log home and loved it. The views are spectacular and the room is cozy and warm. Also make sure to check out the hot tub as it is big and feels fantastic after a long day of hiking.

Only thing I might recommend in the future is for GSL is to plant some sound blocking trees along the highway to cut down the little bit of truck noise that sometimes is audible from the rooms.

Great place!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ocho67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The room in the lodge was very nice, the view of Lake Superior was spectacular. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. If you like to relax, this place is very quiet and peaceful. A good location. Gooseberry Falls is about 2 miles away and Split Rock Lighthouse is about 8 miles away.

Room Tip: If staying in the lodge select a room with a balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write your comments, and to give us a positive review. We are glad to read that our amenities, accommodations and overall stay with us exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you for being our guest.

-Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We've stayed here many times over the years. Sadly, the past few years the accommodations have been increasingly disappointing - unclean & in disrepair. Not sure if it's the property management or the individual unit (cabin or log home) owners who have slid to a lower standard. It's a beautiful property and the location works wonderful for us, but we'll be seeking other options next trip. The resort charges an 'amenities' fee but doesn't even do a daily trash pull or towel refresh. Nightstand was sticky, ceiling fan had cobwebs, bedspread had spots - not okay at ANY $ rate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed in a Lakehome suite for our honeymoon, was very clean, modern and well maintained, grounds were perfect, view was excellent. Those at the front desk provided excellent service, were always accommodating at arranging for fires, food / drink arranged for in advance and were delivered to room before we arrived. The front desk and grounds staff were very pleasant, loved the hospitality with lighting fires, providing smores, DVD movies, and games to borrow. Had an unpleasant experience at the restaurant however, would highly recommend if it were not for the restaurant.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Hello Mark,

Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments, and give us this positive review of the resort. Our staff are dedicated to providing exceptional customer service for every guest. We have been working extremely hard to earn reviews such as yours. On behalf of Splashing Rock Restaurant, we would like to apologize for the problems you encountered. We appreciate the time and feedback provided as this enables us to continuously improve our product and services to our guests. I hope you if we see you in the near future you will be able to give them a second chance to show you true customer service.

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
8.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
459 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
555 reviews
10.7 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
17.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
10.6 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Superior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Superior Lodge

Address: 2826 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range: $97 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Superior Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Grand Superior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Grand Superior Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing