We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Superior Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed in a Lakehome suite for our honeymoon, was very clean, modern and well maintained, grounds were perfect, view was excellent. Those at the front desk provided excellent service, were always accommodating at arranging for fires, food / drink arranged for in advance and were delivered to room before we arrived. The front desk and grounds staff were very pleasant, loved the hospitality with lighting fires, providing smores, DVD movies, and games to borrow. Had an unpleasant experience at the restaurant however, would highly recommend if it were not for the restaurant.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Hello Mark,

Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments, and give us this positive review of the resort. Our staff are dedicated to providing exceptional customer service for every guest. We have been working extremely hard to earn reviews such as yours. On behalf of Splashing Rock Restaurant, we would like to apologize for the problems you encountered. We appreciate the time and feedback provided as this enables us to continuously improve our product and services to our guests. I hope you if we see you in the near future you will be able to give them a second chance to show you true customer service.

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 522 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Service is horrible, the area is beautiful and the cabins are nice so it is too bad that the service was terrible. Our gas fireplace in the room was not working on Friday night and when we called them they said sorry there is no one here that knows how to fix it. So we called Saturday morning and someone did not come until Saturday evening, and then they couldn't fix it and just said its still broken you are not able to have a fire tonight. The manager said he would take $100.00 a night off the bill because of this, but at check out only took off $50.00. He was very rude. It was obviously not a big deal to them that we didn't have a working fireplace but it was a big deal to me. It was our one year wedding anniversary. We will never stay at any of their resorts again but that is OK because there are many other places to stay on the north shore!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hello Lisa,

On behalf of Grand Superior Lodge we are sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We would like to apologize for the circumstances surrounding your recent stay with us. It was unfortunate to hear about the fireplace not working in your unit during your anniversary. For this there are no excuses. I did speak with the General Manager who had spoken to you Saturday regarding the issue in the unit and he had said that he would take off $100 for your stay. We were able to pull up your folio which did reflect the $100 off. We apologize for the miscommunication. We are happy to report that the fireplace was fixed and is now working in the unit that you were staying in. While certain circumstances of the room did not meet the expectations for your weekend, we do hope that you were able to relax along the shoreline and take advantage of the complimentary smores and fire pits.
We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay and hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with better service.

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My mom and I decided on a summer trip to the North Shore for the first time. She found Grand Supierior and decided to book a small cabin. While it was pricey, it was wonderful! The cabin had a stocked kitchen so we could make breakfast in the cabin. Our balcony faced the lake and it was a lovely way to greet the day. There were two rooms with two bathrooms as well as a DVD player and TV. It was convenient to a number of places - Split Rock Lighthouse and Castle Danger Brewery. We didn't eat at the restaurant but did spend out gift card at the gift store which was fun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendations worthy. We look forward to serving you and your mother again in the near future.

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stopped for a night on our way to Thunder Bay, On. Wonderful room, facing Lake Superior, expected it to be expensive, but it wasn't. There was a very helpful young lady at the desk with an Australian? Accent. Very close to Two Harbors, Split Rock Lighthouse, and Gooseberry Park Falls. Nice place to spend time, so much so we stayed a second night on the way back.




Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank MichiganBenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. Certainly we have passed this on to our employee. We are glad you were able to enjoy the pristine waters of Lake Superior from your unit and welcome you back soon.

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed one night, last minute decision to stop... thought we'd be soaked $$ but not at all. Beautiful clean and comfortable second floor room, very quiet, good view of the lake from windows over the Franklin fireplace, walked over to the bonfire where the Lodge was making S'mores. I haven't had one of those for many years! Breakfast wasn't included in the price but was delicious, offered fresh fish in many entrees. If we lived closer I'd be tempted to buy into one of the units for sale. There were amenities we didn't use but it's very family oriented.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryNCarol2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the resort staff, we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us at Grand Superior Lodge. We are delighted you were able to stop in and enjoyed the accommodations of your room as well as Splashing Rock Restaurant located on our property. We hope to welcome you again in the foreseeable future.

Sincerely,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

They really need to hire a rooms inspector or fire the one that they have. The missed some pretty major stuff in both unit we stayed in. First unit had an inch of dust under everything. Animal crackers in plain sight under the edge of the dresser. Dirty washcloth on shower rod. Whole unit needed to be vacuumed. Then to top it all off after we came back from dinner, I went in to use the restroom when I sat down something was dripping on my head! It had obvious watermarks from previous leaks. Gross!
Second unit was nicer. But the coffee cups among other kitchen items were put away dirty! Used dental floss on the floor in plain sight next to bed and nightstand. this property could really use a facelift.

Room Tip: Restaurant staff is very slow!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lodema R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. I have spoken with our Housekeeping Manager and we have made changes to the way our rooms are inspected before guest use. Again, on behalf of the resort, we do apologize for the circumstances during your stay and hope you are able to give us a second chance.

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom cabin on Lake Superior for a family get together! Beautiful cabin, very clean and nicely furnished. The beds are comfy, kitchen well furnished! The view of the lake could not be beat! We will be returning this fall again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonKM1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


On behalf of Grand Superior Lodge, we would like to thank you for your visit at our establishment. We hope the cabin as well as the amenities offered at our resort surpassed your expectations and look forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
8.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
451 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
547 reviews
10.7 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#1 of 6 in Two Harbors
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
17.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
10.7 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Superior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Superior Lodge

Address: 2826 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range: $86 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Superior Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Superior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Grand Superior Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing