We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They need to pay closer attention to details when cleaning. Gross”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Superior Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

They really need to hire a rooms inspector or fire the one that they have. The missed some pretty major stuff in both unit we stayed in. First unit had an inch of dust under everything. Animal crackers in plain sight under the edge of the dresser. Dirty washcloth on shower rod. Whole unit needed to be vacuumed. Then to top it all off after we came back from dinner, I went in to use the restroom when I sat down something was dripping on my head! It had obvious watermarks from previous leaks. Gross!
Second unit was nicer. But the coffee cups among other kitchen items were put away dirty! Used dental floss on the floor in plain sight next to bed and nightstand. this property could really use a facelift.

Room Tip: Restaurant staff is very slow!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lodema R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. I have spoken with our Housekeeping Manager and we have made changes to the way our rooms are inspected before guest use. Again, on behalf of the resort, we do apologize for the circumstances during your stay and hope you are able to give us a second chance.

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 520 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom cabin on Lake Superior for a family get together! Beautiful cabin, very clean and nicely furnished. The beds are comfy, kitchen well furnished! The view of the lake could not be beat! We will be returning this fall again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonKM1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


On behalf of Grand Superior Lodge, we would like to thank you for your visit at our establishment. We hope the cabin as well as the amenities offered at our resort surpassed your expectations and look forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Grand Superior Lodge was a great resort to stay at. We made a phone call to them and Dawn was pleasant and professional on the phone. We told her we were just in Two Harbors and she took our name down and she held it for us until we arrived. When we arrived it was a very beautiful property and that has a log home feel to it. The lobby area was just as nice with a log cabin feel. We approached the desk and Dawn greeted us and we told her our name. She asked if we were celebrating anything and we said nope we're just on vacation. She told us there was a problem with our standard room and that it had to go down on maintenance for the night but she put us in a Jacuzzi suite for the same price. We were thrilled as we've never stayed in such a nice room.

Dawn was very informative and told us that being we arrived so late that we could use some of the other amenities such as the kayaks and bikes later on in the day if we would like. She also offered us the free DVD's you can borrow and watch in your room as well. The room was beautiful we had a balcony that over looked Lake Superior. They had fire pits you could sit around one on the patio and one down by the lake. The room was very clean and also very quiet. We woke up the next day well rested and very pleased with our stay. If we go north again, which we will, we will go back to the Grand Superior Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CumminsMan500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your recent review! We greatly appreciate your recognition of our front desk staff member and have posted a copy of your kudos for the entire staff. It was wonderful to read that you were able to enjoy the amenities offered at our resort. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed for our Anniversary (yes long time married folks). We booked this from an internet search. We were able to stay in a one bedroom suite with jacuzzi tub, bathroom, gas fireplace and small balcony overlooking Lake Superior. The amenities were great and the view and nighttime star gazing amazing. Make sure you do get a lake view. So worth it. The complementary bike rental was nice, but no trails. Yes we braved it and went along the highway to Gooseberry Falls. They also offer complementary kayak or canoe use. The nightly smores by the fire behind the main lodge was a nice touch as well. We were a bit disappointed in the restaurant - Split Rock on the property. Our food was great. Ribs and sauce great, but could have been just a bit more "fall off the bone". Our server the first night on our Anniversary wan poor. Only 6 tables full (one which was in the bar) and most were done by another server. Our server should have stayed in the bar area as he commented he was really busy? Our bread came after the meal was served, only when we asked for it. No desert suggested or if we even wanted any, no refills on my water. Refile on my wife's wine. Another server also brought our meal, not the one we thought was assigned to us? My wife's steak was great and full of flavor. The second night we ate on the patio and Ryan our server was wonderful. Wine kept coming, the appetizer sampler was excellent and full tasty varieties w.e have not had before. Overall, we were pleased with our stay. Note, not far away is Gooseberry Falls. Well worth the trip and down the road is a couple cafe's that are great, including the world famous Betty's Pies.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room. Fun to go down to the rocks and create your own ZEN.... Make sure you bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonnieDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review following you stay with us at Grand Superior Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our amenities ( canoes, bikes, smores and fire pits). I do apologize on behalf of the Splashing Rock Restaurant. We have shared your feedback with the proper department heads and changes have been made. We hope despite the issues in the restaurant, you were able to enjoy your anniversary with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Superior Lodge as a 3 day escape to visit the north shore. I'll admit we were a bit confused by the website and unsure of what kind of accommodation to reserve. We were VERY pleased with the lakeside 2/queen standard room in the lodge we selected. You MUST get a lakeside room or you will be sorry. We live in the woods in northern Wisconsin, so we weren't sure a lakeside would really be worth the extra money. IT WAS!.. outstanding view from dusk to dawn, SO CLOSE to the lake. The bar and dining room were OUTSTANDING! From breakfast to our anniversary dinner the food was first-rate.

Room Tip: We had read on-line reviews and were apprehensive of the late check-in. We stopped by at 2:30 just t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norski56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us at Grand Superior Lodge. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our pristine lake views of Lake Superior from our standard two queen room. We hope to see you in the near future.

Thank you again,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed 2 night at Grand Superior Lodge. Had a King Suite with Lake view.
Housekeeping never showed up the 2nd day. Finally asked for clean towels at 5 pm. Also requested clean coffee cups. Was told they just rinse the cups in the room and so they didn't have any !!! No one ever did show up to clean the room. Bed is very hard with poor quality sheets.
The air conditioner has no thermostat- so had to get up several times each night to turn it off and on.
The restaurant on site was another nightmare. Fist morning poured us coffee and it was COLD.
Had to have been from the night before. Pancakes were burnt black. Service poor. For over $200 per night this was awful. I would NOT ever go back. Have had better experiences at Super 8.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Go up the road to Blue Fin Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheshe1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. It appears that we definitely failed when it came to housekeeping during your stay. I do apologize on behalf of housekeeping for the inconvenience. I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping manager and we are re-evaluating our inspection process to ensure these type of issues do not occur in the future.
We are happy to report that we have installed a brand new thermostat in your unit.
Again, we are terribly sorry for the inconveniences associated with housekeeping and our restaurant. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience.

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just got back from two nights near Two Harbors, MN. I wanted to take my granddaughter "up north" and chose the Grand Superior Lodge for our stay as it was close to Gooseberry Falls and Split Rock Light House. It also had complimentary bike rental. That was a big selling point for me, but turned out to be a disappointment. The closest bike trail is two miles away and the only way to get to it is to bike along Highway 61. No way was I going to bike along a busy highway with a nine-year-old. Other than that, the lodge was beautiful and clean. We stayed in a room with a courtyard view (i.e. parking lot) that was roomy and clean. There was a TV and DVD player, but there was no TV signal, so all you can do is watch DVDs, which they rent for free in the lobby. They also provide free internet, but it's very slow. I was unable to stream Netlix movies on my tablet. Which really isn't a big deal. When you head up north, you're there for the scenery and all the outdoor activities. Which we thoroughly enjoyed and took advantage of despite the unusually hot humid days they were experiencing. My granddaughter also enjoyed roasting marshmallows at the fire pit and making smores and we made use of the swimming pool and whirlpool.

We also were not overly impressed with the lodge's restaurant. The service was A+, but the food just so-so. Even my granddaughter suggested we eat somewhere else. So I highly recommend the Rustic Inn Cafe which is across the street and a few feet south from the lodge. I wish we had discovered it sooner.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvic51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to here from guest who enjoyed the complimentary amenities offered at our resort. I do regret you were unable to use the bikes as the closest trail begins at Gooseberry State Park which is located 2 miles north of us. To access the trail, you do need to follow the shoulder of the road which has been zoned for bikers and runners but it its ultimately up to the discretion of our guests should they choose to bike to the start of the trail head. I hope you were still able to enjoy a short bike ride around the property.
As to the comment about the TV not receiving a signal. On our TV remotes, one must switch over from TV to DVD using the television remote. Often times, the guest before will have left the TV on video mode making it seem as if the TV has no signal. This may seem confusing...I agree but our staff is well-versed in communicating this information if a guest doesn't seem to understand how to work their TV.

Again, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments and look forward to your visit with us again!

Thank you,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
8.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
446 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
543 reviews
10.7 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
17.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
10.7 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Superior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Superior Lodge

Address: 2826 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range: $109 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Superior Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Superior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Grand Superior Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing