We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Winter Wonderland on Lake Superior” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Superior Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Superior Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland on Lake Superior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our (8th?) annual family getaway to the North Shore in winter. Located just 12 miles north of Two Harbors, and 1.5 miles south of Gooseberry State Park, this is a great location for winter getaways, about 3 hours north of the Twin Cities.

We rent one of the Lake Homes for our extended family of 10. This provides you with a walkout lower level studio, a main floor one bedroom unit with a full kitchen, and two additional suites on the upper floor, all with gas or woodburning fireplaces, with their own full baths, including whirlpool tubs. Great lakefront views from every unit. Comfortable beds, very clean, and the staff is very responsive to your needs (more towels, trash pick up, etc.)

The kitchen comes fairly well equipped for most basic needs, but bring your own specialty cooking items {and if you like to cook bring your own knives!}. The pool and hot tub in the main lodge is available for use, but neither are large. The ice bar is a memorable experience, even if you don't drink, go grab a hot something and enjoy the experience (weekends only, Fri & Sat).

The best perk is quick acess to Gooseberry for winter hiking or nordic skiing, depending upon conditions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    115
    47
    28
    30
See reviews for
146
189
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas. Our family booked three rooms in the lodge. Quiet and comfortable sleeping.
Wish the Ice Bar would have been open but it is only open on weekends and Christmas was not on a weekend so it was closed. We would probably go back again, it was a bit pricey for not having much for extra perks but it is a nice place and our kids enjoyed the pool and whirlpool.

Room Tip: Slightly cheaper if you do not have a "lake view" and if you are in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a great place to stay. The room was clean and the views are amazing. The food isnt the best. I got a suite for my girlfriend and I. Nothing to complain about. I would reccomend this hotel to couples rather than a large family. The location is great, very secluded and close to Goosberry falls.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I went up north for a week near the end of spring in May when there was almost no one else up there yet for the summer. I can understand why other reviewers might have complained about it being crowded and service being slow if it was packed, but when we went there was hardly anyone else there. We stayed in the cabin farthest away from the main lodge and it was truly beautiful! Also, this place is really expensive but if you keep an eye on their website they have a lot of specials throughout the year, when we went up they had a stay one night, get one night free which was a great deal! The rooms are luxurious and it is right on the lake, you can hear the sound of the waves as you fall asleep at night. I would definitely recommend this place if you are able to go up there during low tourism seasons.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieP90411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for three nights after Christmas. It was very slow paced and very relaxing. The staff was exceptional and they got to know you during you stay. Alissa was extremely helpful on multiple occasions. Alissa helped us line up everything from a campfire on the shore to great breakfast service and recommendations. The rooms were amazing huge bathrooms, giant tubs in the bedrooms and great lake views. Our unit also had a gas grill we used. The front desk has a large selection of movies games and books you can use.

One of the coolest things was the ice bar Blu. It does have very limited hours so check those out but it is a great experience. The detail in the ice carvings is pretty cool. There are little details all over the place. I was told it took six days to build and it is really impressive.

We also spent some time at the bar inside and I highly recommend the homemade Parmesan chips. The ice cream brownie is also pretty good. Overall I highly recommend this place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gussy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Keep the spa - I got totally relaxed with waves of Lake Superior breaking on the rocky shore just a stone throw away. It is the reason I keep coming back.

The hotel is fine. I liked the rustic decor. Any problems that arose were resolved with a little patience. Give the staff a chance and they will solve whatever problem you have with the hotel. The hotel restaurant is not the great for dinner (at least what I ordered). I still eat there because I don't want to drive 20 miles for something a little better. However, the cheesecake was fantastic and is a must for my next visit.

We had a room with a hot tub and really didn't use it. I sat on the balcony reading and listening to the waves.

Room Tip: Lake Superior is why you stay - get a room with lake access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holyoke_Herm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just returned from spending the Christmas holidays at Grand Superior. We had two rooms, one was a standard courtyard lodge room and the other was a 2 bdm log cabin.

The staff is extremely responsive. Firewood delivered and stacked within minutes, garbage removed quickly. The cabins are non-housekeeping but if you need anything, they still respond quickly with a smile. The lodge room is a housekeeping room and the rooms were cleaned nicely.

The cabin was decorated very nicely and equipped well for cooking. I would bring a few extra things like a scrub pad for doing dishes and extra dish towels. Plates and glasses for eight were provided in the 2 bdrm cabin. DVD and CD players in the room and a good stock of games.

You have views of the lake but are not on the lake. This was fine for us. Paved paths are there for you to take a walk down and along the lake. Big Plus which we did not notice when booking the room; the room description calls out one bathroom with whirlpool tub. They did not mention that there is a bathroom with shower in the main bedroom. That was great with the group.
Lodge rooms are nice as well. Ours overlooked the parking area and was quiet. Other reviews stated that the lake views are great but if a wedding is going on that it might be noisy. Because of this we were just fine with a parking lot view of the Ice Bar and taking a walk if you wanted to look at the lake.

Pool area was good, large hot tub, pool and sauna. Nice locker rooms to change in if you are coming over from one of the cabins.

Perfect location and space for a family get-away. Close to state parks.

Parking is an issue. It was quiet-time and yet we were not always able to park close. It appeared that many of the Lake Homes have no parking in front of them, rather you park in a lot and walk down a path with your "stuff".

Room Tip: We really loved the 2 bdrm log cabin. Heat control in the room was accessible and they are more pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeSuperior5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
8.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
10.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
10.7 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
17.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
10.7 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Superior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Superior Lodge

Property: Grand Superior Lodge
Address: 2826 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2004
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Superior Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Superior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Grand Superior Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing