We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wedding Ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Superior Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our son got married at Grand Superior Lodge this weekend and it was AMAZING! From the wedding cordinator (Reba), Server (Dana), Chefs, Bartenders (Tom and Katie) , Food and Beverage Manager (Dex) to the wonderful people at the front desk EVERYONE was very very helpful, nice and friendly. It was like staying with dear friends. They all were right there to help with anything even if it had nothing to do with the Lodge to make sure this was the BEST WEDDING EVER! We ran into one little issue with the Drapry Company we had hired did an awful job decorating and wouldn't come back to fix the issue. Reba whipped out her phone grabed a latter and all was fixed. She took down the tacky drapry that was there and she found someone to come in last minute to decorate who did an amazing job. Great Job done by all. I recomend anyone who wants an intimate wedding where everyone will welcome you like an old friend with excellent service, awsome food and attention to detail have it here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Grand Superior Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 516 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

We booked 2 midweek nights at the Grand Superior Lodge based on recommendations from others. We knew we were traveling both midweek and off season but we were so surprised by the lack of service and activities.
When we arrived at the lodge, no one was working at the front desk. We peeked in the restaurant/bar and gift shop and found no one. We walked back to the car to give an update and back inside and finally the front desk person showed up. He was kind but very unenthusiastic about anything. He didn't have too many answers for our questions re: the area.
The location of the lodge is beautiful and our view of Lake Superior was incredible. The room was fine, both clean and well decorated. The pool is very small and certainly not designed for kids. There is a tiny exercise room and arcade nearby.
Having stayed at a variety of hotels/lodges on the North Shore we were very surprised at the lack of activity and service at this higher end hotel. An example of this is at other places on the shore, they will make a bonfire for you to relax and enjoy. At this one, when I asked the front desk person about a bonfire (because they had the area for it) he told me I could start one if I wanted to. Other places on the shore will give you ideas of hikes and usually drive you to the trailhead and park your car at the end. No - Grand Superior doesn't do that...I was told.
Again - beautiful place, but I hope in high season it offers more to do and better service!

Room Tip: Spring for the balcony overlooking the lake!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mageestillh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The staff and accomodations at Grand Superior are fantastic! I would so recommend a stay here! you will come back again and again!

Room Tip: I recommend the Guest Rooms in the Cabins...great rooms!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We hosted a relatively last-minute intimate winter wedding at Grand Superior Lodge with our closest family the first week in January. It was amazing! We did not actually start planning until mid December, but everything came together perfectly thanks in large part to the Group Sales Manager, Reba. She and the rest of the staff were extremely friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, and accommodating. With our small group of just under 20, we were able to use the Board Room overlooking the lake and breathtaking sunset for both our ceremony and dinner. We have some beautiful photos along the scenic shoreline of rock, ice, and crashing waves. Our family enjoyed the variety of lodging options... we had a couple rooms in the lodge as well as a 4BR log home so we had our own kitchen and common space for our family to gather outside of the ceremony. The facilities are all extremely clean, cozy, and inviting with spectacular views of the shoreline and lake. When we discovered a burnt out light or needed an ironing board, maintenance would stop by in a matter of minutes for assistance. Our group also enjoyed dogsledding with a nearby sleddog racer (which was recommended to us by the lodge), ice skating and boot hockey on the onsite frozen pond (which is nestled in a low-lying area partially protected by the wind which was nice), swimming in the indoor pool/hot tub, browsing in the gift shop, and socializing in the Blu Ice Bar. One recommendation if you are planning a trip up there is to bring your own skates and/or skis or inquire with lodge staff about arranging for rentals in advance. There are not onsite ski trails, but Gooseberry Falls is just a few miles up the road with some greats trails for hiking or skiing. Again, the lodge has endless recommendations for outdoor winter (or any season) activities. Another thing that had appealed to us when we were comparing lodges is that GSL allows pets in some of their units. We did not bring our furry friends with us this time but might consider it for our next visit. We highly recommend Grand Superior Lodge, whether for a wedding or simply to get away. Check out their website for more information http://www.grandsuperior.com/.

Room Tip: For larger groups or families with children the log homes are a great choice. We also had a lakeview...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Jensandersens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We hosted our wedding at Grand Superior Lodge on the weekend of February 10-12. It was a great time! Everything came together nicely, from planning through execution.

We picked this location after visiting several similar resorts from Brainerd to the North Shore. From our initial visit, we were impressed by how kind everyone was and how comfortable the staff made us feel - including the front desk staff, bartender, waiters, and the maintanence staff. Reba (the group sales manager) was especially great to work with! She made suggestions & was very accommodating. We enjoyed working with her throughout the planning process as well as the day of... We were confident that our wedding would be a great event - and it was!!

Of couse, the scenery speaks for itself. We loved the idea of hosting a Winter Wonderland Wedding Weekend up on the North Shore. Even though we missed out on snow this year, there were plenty of cool sights & sounds created by the crashing water and the ice that formed along the rocky shoreline. Also, the glorious sunset helped make our wedding pics look awesome.

The rooms are also very nice and there are plenty of options to choose from including the larger cabins that allowed some of our relatives to stay together. Out guests are still talking about how much they enjoyed it!

If anyone is considering hosting a wedding up on the north shore we HIGHLY recommend you check out Grand Superior! Summer would be nice, however there are some discounts in the winter. Not to mention more flexibility. Plus, cool activities like: skiing, snow shoeing, dogsledding and, of course, the must see Blu Ice Bar (check it out on the web).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Had a romantic Valentine's Day getaway in a Lakeside King Suite. I always find it a little nerve-wracking to book a room at a new place, but this was lovely, and a great value. We relaxed in the hot tub, had a great time watching DVDs from bed, and even though it was winter, the heater and fireplace allowed us the indulgence of cracking open the deck door, and being lulled to sleep by the sound of Lake Superior waves. The food at Splashing Rock was good, too. My boyfriend and I would do this again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed at Grand Superior Lodge two nights over New Year's weekend to attend a wedding. For the most part the hotel is very nice and the staff was friendly. The view overlooking the lake is wonderful and it's very close to Gooseberry Falls. We had a great view of the lake from our room. They have a nice pool area, which the kids loved. The bar/restaurant is nice, staff was very friendly. Food is overpriced though. No continental breakfast available. I did have a few issues with the hotel however....
- The pillows are not comfortable and were like sleeping on a sack of cement. My neck was sore all weekend as a result. If you stay, bring your own pillow from home.
- The bed in the lodge was very, very firm. Some people like a firm bed, but it was too hard for my liking.
- Upon booking for the hotel, I was quoted a higher rate different from the rate quoted for the wedding guests.
- The food for the wedding was at least 30 minutes late. The wedding party was left standing around while waiting for the food. Guests were complaining about being hungry and asking why the food was not ready. This was a disappointment.
- The hotel promised heat lamps would be provided for the outdoor wedding ceremony, but failed to put them out. The wedding ceremony was outside on New Year's Eve. Despite the mild winter, it was still COLD outside. Another disappoinment.
- Our hotel room was right above the ballroom, so it was extremely loud in our room. Impossible to put children down to sleep at a decent hour.
- The toilet in our room was clogged. It took over 2 hours for the maintenance person to fix the issue, after we reported it twice. They apologized for the miscommunication error on their part.
- The bathroom fan in the room was extremely loud and needs to be replaced. As high as the rates are, I feel they could easily replace a simple bathroom fan.
- Upon making reservations, I was informed this was a pet-free hotel. However, two rooms had dogs in them.
Overall, the hotel was fine, but I would not stay again due to the high rates.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mart0551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
8.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
438 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
539 reviews
10.7 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
17.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
10.7 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Superior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Superior Lodge

Address: 2826 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range: $120 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Superior Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Superior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Grand Superior Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing