We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Romantic Getaway and Cultural Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Superior Gateway Lodge
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
“Wonderful Romantic Getaway and Cultural Experience”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The cabin was wonder. Great decor. I loved the slate tile in the bathroom. The kitchen was beautiful, the countertop stone was to die for. The couple were old school with wonderful skills. The food was excellent. A great place to stay for any couple.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ckmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
79
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Had a wonderful time at superior north shore this weekend. Stayed in a fabulous B&B. It was one of the most relaxing weekends we've had in awhile. Pat and Joe the owners were very warm and friendly and breakfast was superb. The log home was a wonderful addition to our weekend and a great first B&B experience for my fiance. We will definetly plan a trip back. Great places to hike, bike and kayak, even the snowmoble trail is close by. Wonderful recreational area with incredable views.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinggirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

What a wonderful log home B&B! Impeccably clean and maintained, owners are super nice. They showed us all the rooms and they were all equally well-appointed. Our room had a tile shower and copper sink, the home boasts a lot of nice touches. Very comfortable bed, wi-fi worked well, nice sitting area upstairs. We didn't stay for the breakfast, but should have, as it looked fabulous with all they were preparing. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantorville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

From arrival to departure Pat and Joe made us feel right at home. The lodge is beautiful, the gourmet breakfasts were delicious and healthy. We saw a deer with her two little fawns just outside our window. It was so quiet there we were amazed. We've only been gone 10 hours and already thinking about a return trip!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We were traveling on a budget, and this B & B was a really good value, costing no more than a motel. We appreciated the senior discount, and we were even given a 2-for-1 coupon to a teriffic nearby restaurant, which we loved (the new Scenic Cafe). The home was impressive, and the flower gardens are lovely. Although the package we selected did not include breakfast, Pat and Joe anticipated our needs and provided coffee, a microwave, and refrigerator. These comforts were not expected but were greatly appreciated! It would have been nice to have a TV in the common area, but everything else was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudgeSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2010

It is such a lovely, romantic and beautiful place. Absolutely beautiful house! It is very peaceful, perfect to rest! In addition, the owners are lovely (and the breakfasts they prepared were delicious). We spent a wonderful time there. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glorilucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selfhelp1948, Owner at Superior Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
Dear friends,
Your mini-moon was so short, interupted by Grandma's Marathon, but we were happy the atmosphere and care were provided made it the best mini-moon ever. You truly deserve to have that special time away and alone. It was fun to get to know you and learn more about your country and experiences. Thank you for the lovely pictures. We will never forget you!Please keep us posted as your future unfolds.
Warm regards,
Pat and Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed one night at this B&B for my husband's birthday and it was wonderful! The location is superb and you can't beat the friendly hosts or their delicous breakfast!! I highly recommnend taking a trip here for a getaway from fast pace life!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazy8Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
12.4 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
24.2 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
4.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
5.9 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.6 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Gateway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Gateway Lodge

Property: Superior Gateway Lodge
Address: 465 Westover Rd, Two Harbors, MN 55616-1397
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Gateway Lodge is a majestic handcrafted White Pine log lodge that beckons you to stay a while. Located near Two Harbors, MN, this vacation rental is perfect for that special group or family getaway. We feature luxury Jacuzzi suites, a full kitchen, and a kitchenette. Make this your special "Gateway" to Lake Superior's spectacular North Shore attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing