We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lakehome Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Superior Shores Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Reviewed June 22, 2005

Spent the weekend of Grandma's Marathon here. I have no experience with the lodge but the lakehome we had was great. Beautiful view!! We had two bedrooms and two baths, a kitchen, washer and dryer, sauna and whirlpool. I wish we would have had more time to enjoy it all.

Our deck had a amazing view with steps for easy access to the shore. We were able to do smores down at a fire pit along the shore--super!

Used the indoor and outdoor pool but not the restaurant. Really enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynn40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Superior Shores Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 438 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
St. Paul, MN
110
Reviewed October 18, 2004

My husband and I stayed at Superior Shores on our honeymoon 5 years ago and we have tried to return each year. This past year we recommended Superior Shores to my daughter and her husband, and my brother and his family. My husband and I also returned in July.

All three families were very disappointed with the service in the restaurant. It was very slow, dirty tables near us were not cleared for a very long time (during our entire meal) and they were out of several items on the menu, which was not explained to us before taking our orders. We did fill out a customer satisfaction card expressing our dissatisfaction, but did not hear any feedback.

This has been a huge disappointment to us, and we chose another destination for our Fall excursion to the North Shore.

Terry and Mary Telega
St. Paul, Minnesota

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rochester, Minnesota
15
Reviewed October 10, 2004

I just got back last week from Superior Shores, and had a great time. My fiance and I had our wedding at the Shores, and Molly and Raylene were very helpful. We wanted to get married on the beach, but the morning of our wedding dawned cold and rainy. We made some last minute decisions and ended up with a lovely wedding inside by the roaring lobby fireplace. The weather cleared up by evening and we were able to have a bonfire on the moonlit beach. All of our guests loved the resort, and we enjoyed the suite we splurged on. We stayed for 6 nights total, and loved it! We stayed at the Shores in April and really enjoyed it but this stay was a step above. We are talking about going back for our anniversary!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Duluth, Mn.
11
Reviewed May 26, 2004

My husband and I absolutely loved "Superior Shores" Beautiful atmosphere! Superb dining experience! The Creme Brule was OHHHHH so delicious.
Our hot-tub room looked directly out to Lake Superior...stunning, shimmering diamonds.
We are making plans to go back for our anniversary!
Romantic and lovely.
Thank you Superior Shores!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Twin Cities, MN
110
Reviewed January 3, 2004

I have stayed at Superior Shores many times in the last 8 years. My first stays in lodge rooms and suites were great. Then we started staying in a Lakehome that was just breathtaking...the view, the sounds...just gorgeous.

Well, I wanted to go somewhere peaceful for Christmas this year and decided to return and stay in the lodge because Christmas was "peak season" and the lodge is cheaper. I was incredibly disappointed. The carpet was stained and dingy, the gas fireplace barely worked, the oven mitts were filthy, the couch was incredibly uncomfortable and had a strange, ill-fitting cushion on the end that poked out. Everything just seemed really dumpy. I hadn't recalled it being that way before on previous stays. Also, the noise level was intolerable--lots of commotion, yelling, banging. Not a peaceful place for Christmas.

My friend and I went to the front desk to see if anyone had cancelled on a Lakehome, and staff were very receptive to our distress.
Fortunately, someone had cancelled and we got a gorgeous unit that was clean, recently remodeled, I think, and had a wonderful view of the lake. There was even an extra fireplace in the bedroom. And this was all for the same price as the lodge suite.

I suppose the inconsistencies between units arise from the fact that the units are individually owned...but you would think that SSs would have some sort of minimum standards.

My advice...go with a Lakehome and avoid the lodge.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed December 26, 2003

If you ever have the chance to go to two harbors stay at superior shore resort. It's perfect for family vacations. My family has been there twice and this New Years were going up again. This is one of our favorite resorts and is wonderful for the family. We have only stayed in the condos but this winter we will be in a suite. Our first time at superior we had an incredible room. It hada sauna and a whirlpool. The 2nd time we went we stayed with a large group, that room wasn't as nice as the 1st. The pool is perfect for nights and service is great. I highly suggest that if you have kids go sledogging. It's a blast and the perfect winter activity. Also the cascade river and the split rock lighthouse are great trails. Make sure to book early for both the resort and the sledogging. THEY FILL VERY QUICKLY!!!!!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Des Moines, Iowa
1
Reviewed November 22, 2003

Stayed at Superior Shores on a business trip. They had some convention going on and the place was very busy. Still, the front desk staff was very professional, the room was immaculate, and the lounge staff was friendly. As an added bonus, the view could not be beat. They also offer high speed internet access at a reasonable price. We are considering having our company retreat there next fall. They have everything we need for our group.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
21.4 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
539 reviews
8.8 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
516 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
2.0 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
44 reviews
6.8 mi away
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Shores Resort

Address: 1521 Superior Shores Dr, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range: $150 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Superior Shores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Shores Resort is located on Lake Superior in Two Harbors, Minnesota, twenty miles north of Duluth. The resort offers a variety of accommodations at three unique properties that include the Main Lodge, Burlington Bay, and the Lakehomes. Situated on sixty acres of north woods forest, the resort features over a mile of Lake Superior coastline. Conveniently located at the center of many North Shore attractions, including Gooseberry Falls, Split Rock Lighthouse, Canal Park and the Superior Hiking Trail, the resort is the perfect base camp location for your day tripping activities. With something for everyone, visit Superior Shores Resort and experience the North Shore at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Superior Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superior Shores Hotel Two Harbors
Superior Shores Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing