We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Superior Shores Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place To Stay”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights in late July. We were celebrating our anniversary. We rented a lake side suite. It was fantastic! There were beautiful views and the room had spacious accommodations. It was clean and comfortable. My husband had accidentally left his wallet in the bar after we had ordered some food to take back to our room. The staff was kind enough to call us in our room immediately to say they had his wallet. This could have been disastrous!! My only comments would be, you could hear people walking around on the upper floor from us. This was not terribly annoying to us. It was just an observance. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carriejl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    118
    65
    46
    32
See reviews for
158
161
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Really great place! It's not a 5-star hotel but it's not advertised as such. Stayed in a lodge suite and it was great. Enough room for the family and great deck to sit on and enjoy the view of the lake. Only negative is that walls are REALLY THIN. But it wasn't terrible at all! Nice to have a kitchen and sitting area to eat in the room. Also ate in the Kamloops restaurant for breakfast and it was pretty good. Nice to have on-site. Front desk and staff were all really cordial and check-in and -out were a breeze, and we asked for more pillows and they brought them up in a snap!

Pools were great, and the indoor pool has a little kiddy pool that the little one loved! The outdoor pool at the lodge had a fire pit too. Great ambiance!

We'll definitely be back in the future!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The scenic view of the lake did not compensate for the poor to fair management and poor customer service. The small Jucuzzi Room w/Fireplace with limited seating did not lend itself to a 3 day vacation stay. Bathroom was clean but had a shower head that was very low, a loose outlet cover, broken hair dryer, leaking faucet and a light bulb out over sink. In the living area, the box spring was stained, a cheap 32 inch flat screen TV, a DVD player that was stuck and an old desk chair and small uncomfortable Cain chair. Space to put anything was limited.

We received a call at 9:30 the first night from front desk asking if it was ok to have someone come up and check to see if a leak in the room below was caused by a problem in our room. It was not. The coffee in the lobby was out by 7:10 am without a reserve available for another 20 minutes. We were out most of the day and returned around 3:00 pm to take a short rest. The room had not been cleaned and a call to housekeeping resulted in a "we will get there when we get there" response. Came about a half hour later. Would not recommend and would not return again.

Room Tip: Find another resort or hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice accommodations and amenities. Staff is friendly and helpful. Beautiful view of Lake Suporior. Very close to Nationsl Parks & good restaurants. Slit Rock Lighthouse and Betty's Pies are just down the road!

Room Tip: Top floors if you don't have kids. Bottom floors close to the pool if you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobDavis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

11 years ago my husband and I spent our honeymoon at Superior Shores. We rented a "lake home" that turned out to be townhouse connected to a bunch of others. Not quite what I expected, but still nice. We had no issues with anything!

We returned to Superior Shores a second time this weekend. Instead of renting a one bedroom, like we did on our honeymoon, I decided to save a few bucks and book a studio lake home. Still very nice, but we could hear EVERYTHING that happened in the unit above us. We even knew what movies they were watching. It was quite irritating.

We would absolutely vacation there again, we just wouldn't get the studio.

The view of Lake Superior was amazing and we were the only ones on the beach. AMAZING!!!

Room Tip: Book a one or more bedroom if you get a lake home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolphingoddess_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We just returned, we are a family of four with 2 young girls 11 and 8. Last time we stayed at Superior Shores (no kids! Awhile ago).

We had a fantastic time. It was the Burlington Bay Lakehome with 1 bedroom. Very spacious, very new (we were in building 5) and we managed a ground level suite so we could walk right to the shore. As an added bonus there was a campfire site right at the shore.

The main reason I preferred Burlington Bay:
- It seems like it was much more quiet than Superior side, which was hosting a wedding or two;
- Everything looked and felt new.
- The indoor pool and the indoor/outdoor hot tub was never overly full at all. And when it's nice you are hiking or doing something else anyway. 2 of the 3 days were overcast so it was nice to have an indoor pool.
- Each room had a guaranteed great view.

Room has King bed in one and a pull out queen sofa. My only knock on the place was that the sofa mattress was pretty thin. But I would go here again, definitely.

Room Tip: Recommend ground level if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JugheadSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Spent some time at Superior Shores for a friends wedding and they chose the perfect place. The rooms were very clean and reminded me of a cabin and faced Lake Superior (which by the way is a must). Our room came with a whirl pool tub, king size bed, fire place, flat screen TV, microwave and fridge.

When we arrived to the resort, we noticed that there was some remodeling going on and it never interfered with our time spent at Superior Shores. The grounds were clean, well kept and nothing beats a good walk on the shores of Lake Superior. The staff at the resort were very friendly, helpful and they really took good care of all of us.

The food served at our friends' wedding was very good and I would have had seconds if I wasn't the DJ! The restaurant located on site serves up some good grub as well. There's nothing really spectacular about it, but it's good and you don't have to leave the grounds if you don't want to.

All-in-all, my wife and I were both in agreement that we would go back for a family trip in the future.

Room Tip: Face Lake Superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
8.8 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
502 reviews
21.4 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
522 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
2.0 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
43 reviews
6.8 mi away
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Shores Resort

Property: Superior Shores Resort
Address: 1521 Superior Shores Dr, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Superior Shores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Shores Resort is located on Lake Superior in Two Harbors, Minnesota, twenty miles north of Duluth. The resort offers a variety of accommodations at three unique properties that include the Main Lodge, Burlington Bay, and the Lakehomes. Situated on sixty acres of north woods forest, the resort features over a mile of Lake Superior coastline. Conveniently located at the center of many North Shore attractions, including Gooseberry Falls, Split Rock Lighthouse, Canal Park and the Superior Hiking Trail, the resort is the perfect base camp location for your day tripping activities. With something for everyone, visit Superior Shores Resort and experience the North Shore at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Superior Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superior Shores Hotel Two Harbors
Superior Shores Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing