We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend could not have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Superior Shores Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
St Paul Minnesota Usa
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Girls weekend could not have been better”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a girls weekend at Burlington bay and there were 5 of us. We had 3 bedrooms and of course the awesome view of lake Superior. I have stayed there in the past, but usually stay at Superior Shores. It was a lovely unit, very clean and the shared hot tub that looks out over lake Superior is fabulous on a cold winter night. It was wonderful. The unit we stayed in was lacking some utensils and items if you like to cook a lot which we do, but they brought us a can opener when we called (immediately) and we made do with the rest. It is a very well kept building, and quiet. Beds were all comfortable and great place to be if you want to visit the North Shore. Good stopping place if you want to see Gooseberry Falls, which we did and it was magnificent, the ice had just broke loose and the fall was running full force for the first time this winter. It was magnificent. Also, perfect place to be if you want to go to Grand Marais for the day. Lovely drive and fun shops in grand Marais. We loved Burlington Bay and will be back.

Room Tip: If you are having all three bedrooms just know that one of them faces the parking lot, but still a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    118
    65
    46
    32
See reviews for
158
161
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had around 200 people at a destination wedding, and things went very smoothly. Nothing is ever going to be perfect, not all guests will write raving reviews, but if you are having a big wedding on the north shore, trust that your friends and family will enjoy Superior Shores.

The owners were an active part in our wedding, and Jenna's direction and the support from her amazing staff made things go off without a hitch. Whatever I wanted, Jenna did everything in her power to accommodate. I basically wanted everyone to be in one place all weekend, ceremony (beach), reception (ballroom), groom's dinner (BBQ), Sunday breakfast (everyone at Kamloops), bridal shower (my Auntie's huge lakehome she rented). Superior Shores took wonderful care of us the whole way through.

Besides my husband, the wedding plan to keep it all in one place was the best decision I made. People were not worried about how to get from point A to point B safely all weekend. They just checked in, cracked a cold one, strolled the beach, found their friends and family, and spent their weekend enjoying one another. Our guests had plenty of time left in the weekend to go to Split Rock and Gooseberry, visit Castle Danger brewery, golf, book fishing charters, everything my husband and I love about Minnesota.

Our room was awesome! We got a 2 bedroom lakehome with loft so we had room for all of the bridesmaids to get ready, and to accommodate private group gatherings away from the main lodge. I highly recommend the lakehomes, the are a great value, with large spaces for big families.

I will never forget the wonderful weekend Superior Shores and their staff provided. If you love bonfires and beaches, stuffed bears and moose, big lakes and trees, walleye and whiskey...you will love having your wedding at Superior Shores.

*One suggestion, please paint the ballroom. Pink is tough to work with.*

Room Tip: Splurge for a lakehome! Not much more money, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iheartminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This property has a Fabulous hot tub/ pool area. Half of the hot tub is indoors and half is outdoors. The temp is 50 today. It's one of the main reasons we come here. However, because it's NOT a weekend we aren't allowed that amenity. That was not shared. I called the main office, transferred me to mngment
No answer. Tried maintenance they just would not accommodate us. I think it might take 10 min. For them to open the gate. But, after reading other reviews they just could care less. Hmmmm can u say LAZY!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a room with 2 double beds on the lake side. The room was decorated in typical 'north woods' style that is common on the north shore. Nothing really great about it, but it was clean and comfortable. However, the blinds were only light filtering & there were no room darkening drapes. If you like to wake up with the sun - you are ok. But if you prefer to sleep in while on vacation - this is not the room for you. Also, the water running while the room above us or next to us (not sure which) was deafeningly loud. If someone else was showering - you might as well not even try to sleep. I cannot comment on the value, as the price of the room was set for the conference and I didn't pay for it, anyway. I did appreciate the small 'fridge and microwave in the room, that was a nice addition. There was a small coffee maker in the room, as well. You might want to bring your own coffee, if you care about that, since the coffee provided left a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: If it matters to you, make sure you ask for a room with darkening drapes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed in condo 53.
It was spacious, had 3 bedrooms, 2 upstairs and a movie room.
The kitchen has about everything you need to cook up a storm.
It looks out onto the lake.
We watched movies in the movie room, walked about the lake in the cold, and spent time with friends.
Was truly a nice relaxing new years.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Charesef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, MN
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We are at Superior Shores as I write this. The staff was very nice and accommodating as we were able to change to a bigger room. Restaurant and bar staff did an awesome job. The views of Lake Superior and the woods surrounding are outstanding.
The problem with this resort is that it is so outdated and maintenance has not been maintained. Old furnishings, outdated decor, thin sheets, cracked grout in the shower,fake plants, thin and old towels, just to note some of the wear and tear. Not what you would expect when you pay $200 a night.
Overall the weekend was ok but I think if I had done a bit more research, we could have found something better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelingal0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bdrm suite. We ate at the resturante for one for dinner, which was good and local beer was ok as well. Chef was great and gave our son a bowl of fruit since he's allergic to dairy.
Rooms were not heated up prior to arrival, but warmed quickly with nice fireplace...that had the turn on switch behind the TV...FYI. Jacuzzi was nice, bed was comfortable, but the thousand kids that stayed for a hockey tournament didn't work out the best. We have a 2 yr old that was fine with it, but those 10 yr old kids were running around the hotel until about 10pm every night.
All-n-all it was a relaxing trip and it was all for a good cause to the Children's Hospital of Mpls, MN.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRossMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
8.8 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
502 reviews
21.4 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
524 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
2.0 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
43 reviews
6.8 mi away
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Shores Resort

Property: Superior Shores Resort
Address: 1521 Superior Shores Dr, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Superior Shores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Shores Resort is located on Lake Superior in Two Harbors, Minnesota, twenty miles north of Duluth. The resort offers a variety of accommodations at three unique properties that include the Main Lodge, Burlington Bay, and the Lakehomes. Situated on sixty acres of north woods forest, the resort features over a mile of Lake Superior coastline. Conveniently located at the center of many North Shore attractions, including Gooseberry Falls, Split Rock Lighthouse, Canal Park and the Superior Hiking Trail, the resort is the perfect base camp location for your day tripping activities. With something for everyone, visit Superior Shores Resort and experience the North Shore at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Superior Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superior Shores Hotel Two Harbors
Superior Shores Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing