We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Superior Shores Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Weekend Conference”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a room with 2 double beds on the lake side. The room was decorated in typical 'north woods' style that is common on the north shore. Nothing really great about it, but it was clean and comfortable. However, the blinds were only light filtering & there were no room darkening drapes. If you like to wake up with the sun - you are ok. But if you prefer to sleep in while on vacation - this is not the room for you. Also, the water running while the room above us or next to us (not sure which) was deafeningly loud. If someone else was showering - you might as well not even try to sleep. I cannot comment on the value, as the price of the room was set for the conference and I didn't pay for it, anyway. I did appreciate the small 'fridge and microwave in the room, that was a nice addition. There was a small coffee maker in the room, as well. You might want to bring your own coffee, if you care about that, since the coffee provided left a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: If it matters to you, make sure you ask for a room with darkening drapes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    116
    64
    46
    31
See reviews for
156
160
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed in condo 53.
It was spacious, had 3 bedrooms, 2 upstairs and a movie room.
The kitchen has about everything you need to cook up a storm.
It looks out onto the lake.
We watched movies in the movie room, walked about the lake in the cold, and spent time with friends.
Was truly a nice relaxing new years.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Charesef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We are at Superior Shores as I write this. The staff was very nice and accommodating as we were able to change to a bigger room. Restaurant and bar staff did an awesome job. The views of Lake Superior and the woods surrounding are outstanding.
The problem with this resort is that it is so outdated and maintenance has not been maintained. Old furnishings, outdated decor, thin sheets, cracked grout in the shower,fake plants, thin and old towels, just to note some of the wear and tear. Not what you would expect when you pay $200 a night.
Overall the weekend was ok but I think if I had done a bit more research, we could have found something better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelingal0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bdrm suite. We ate at the resturante for one for dinner, which was good and local beer was ok as well. Chef was great and gave our son a bowl of fruit since he's allergic to dairy.
Rooms were not heated up prior to arrival, but warmed quickly with nice fireplace...that had the turn on switch behind the TV...FYI. Jacuzzi was nice, bed was comfortable, but the thousand kids that stayed for a hockey tournament didn't work out the best. We have a 2 yr old that was fine with it, but those 10 yr old kids were running around the hotel until about 10pm every night.
All-n-all it was a relaxing trip and it was all for a good cause to the Children's Hospital of Mpls, MN.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRossMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Relaxing and very scenic North Shore of Lake Superior. Was a great get away and enjoyed ringing in the New Year in Two Harbors. We were surprised by the top level entertainment in the Lounge for our celebration. The room was rustic and had a warm feeling to it. The staff was fantastic and made you feel very special. We had a special New Year unlike any other.

Room Tip: Get a lake view, its well worth it, any time of the year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubbies22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Burlington Bay one bedroom lake home with media center. It was gorgeous and relaxing. We were there in early June so in the evenings it was cool. The fireplace was so relaxing and the views were magnificent! Strongly suggest this resort. The lake home we stayed in had a notebook in there with suggestions of sights to see and places to eat in the area. There were amazing suggestions and we ended up seeing some wonderful sights and ate amazing food. Would definitely return for another trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamlnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We just returned from Superior Shores for a New Year's week, just the two of us. We stayed in a one bedroom condo townhouse far away from the main lodge. It was a downstairs trek to our unit, but the view was phenomenal!!! The stairs to our unit were always clean and salted. No matter how many different times it snowed, or how cold it got, our path was always clear and ice free. Our check-in and check-out process was quick and easy, no trouble at all. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but went up to check out the amazing view. The menu looked delicious! We went to the pool in the lodge once and the pool over at Burlington Bay once. We even checked out the condos over there. It would be awesome to own there, we would be there as often as possible!! The staff was accommodating, friendly, and over-the-top. I couldn't have asked for a better visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWickids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
8.8 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
496 reviews
21.4 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
515 reviews
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
42 reviews
6.8 mi away
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Shores Resort

Property: Superior Shores Resort
Address: 1521 Superior Shores Dr, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Superior Shores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Shores Resort is located on Lake Superior in Two Harbors, Minnesota, twenty miles north of Duluth. The resort offers a variety of accommodations at three unique properties that include the Main Lodge, Burlington Bay, and the Lakehomes. Situated on sixty acres of north woods forest, the resort features over a mile of Lake Superior coastline. Conveniently located at the center of many North Shore attractions, including Gooseberry Falls, Split Rock Lighthouse, Canal Park and the Superior Hiking Trail, the resort is the perfect base camp location for your day tripping activities. With something for everyone, visit Superior Shores Resort and experience the North Shore at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Superior Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superior Shores Hotel Two Harbors
Superior Shores Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing