We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing and Rustic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Superior Shores Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Relaxing and very scenic North Shore of Lake Superior. Was a great get away and enjoyed ringing in the New Year in Two Harbors. We were surprised by the top level entertainment in the Lounge for our celebration. The room was rustic and had a warm feeling to it. The staff was fantastic and made you feel very special. We had a special New Year unlike any other.

Room Tip: Get a lake view, its well worth it, any time of the year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubbies22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 449 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Burlington Bay one bedroom lake home with media center. It was gorgeous and relaxing. We were there in early June so in the evenings it was cool. The fireplace was so relaxing and the views were magnificent! Strongly suggest this resort. The lake home we stayed in had a notebook in there with suggestions of sights to see and places to eat in the area. There were amazing suggestions and we ended up seeing some wonderful sights and ate amazing food. Would definitely return for another trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamlnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We just returned from Superior Shores for a New Year's week, just the two of us. We stayed in a one bedroom condo townhouse far away from the main lodge. It was a downstairs trek to our unit, but the view was phenomenal!!! The stairs to our unit were always clean and salted. No matter how many different times it snowed, or how cold it got, our path was always clear and ice free. Our check-in and check-out process was quick and easy, no trouble at all. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but went up to check out the amazing view. The menu looked delicious! We went to the pool in the lodge once and the pool over at Burlington Bay once. We even checked out the condos over there. It would be awesome to own there, we would be there as often as possible!! The staff was accommodating, friendly, and over-the-top. I couldn't have asked for a better visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWickids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at Superior Shores in July 2013. It was a return visit for us, but our first time in the hotel area. We had previously stayed in the Lakehome units.

We stayed in the 1-bedroom Superior Suite. The room was beautiful and I highly recommend the upgrade from a traditional room. It had a full kitchen and grill on the deck, which we regretfully did not get a chance to use. It also had beautiful views of Lake Superior and sitting in front of the fireplace after a day of hiking/sightseeing was a treat.

While we were there, we ate at our all time favorite Betty's Pies and tried a new restaurant that was recommended to us called the New Scenic Café. Wow! I am so glad we decided to try something new because it was the best meal I have had in a looong time! Highly recommended....and it is located on a beautiful drive along Lake Superior. Perfect for couples.

We didn't check out the hotel restaurant or pool area since we were always on the go enjoying the wonderful outdoor recreation in the area. However, we have eaten in the restaurant in the past and the food is very good.

Overall, we would stay here again. The price is good for the area, the lodge centrally located and the rooms beautiful and clean. It was a wonderful anniversary weekend and we love returning to the North Shore area every year.

Room Tip: Go for the 1 bedroom suites. They are worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anybodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our second visit to Burlington Bay with extended family. There was a misunderstanding with our reservation and the room assigned to us initially was not going to work. Management went above and beyond to make the situation work for us with better space. What could have been a disappointing and crowded weekend up north turned out to be a great experience for our whole family. Next time I make a reservation I will be sure to confirm the room set up.

The Burlington Bay condos offer beautiful lakeviews, great up north atmosphere. We would love to come back again and highly recommend Burlington Bay.

Room Tip: Rooms were quite. Last year we had a three bedrooms with one main entrance and it worked well for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everest0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I hadn't been to Superior Shores since 2004. The place is going downhill. Our rooms in the main lodge showed many signs of aging. My biggest complaint is the bedding. How anyone could be expected to sleep in a mattress that had absolutely no support left is beyond comprehension. I felt like I was going to roll off the side. We had a king-size bed and even then I could feel the wood in the platform that the mattresses sit on. The tile surrounding the jacuzzi tub was cracked and missing. Points earned - the breakfast food ordered in the restaurant was scrumptious and filling and large portioned and as always the view is amazing. I could sit for hours in the bar just gazing out to sea. Bottom Line - to the owners - - you need to start renovating to upkeep this beautiful property.

Room Tip: Depends on what you are looking for - - a couple celebrating an anniversary, a family of tourists, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tallsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The decor is impeccable. No expesne spared and great views of Superior. However, we stayed in the next bldg down from the main lodge--read, get in car and travel for meals or other amenities apart from ice. No lotion, no newpspaer, one small shampoo, no conditioner, one soap, no place to stand outside and sip without getting wet or sunburned. The Inn owns the travel info store in town. While helpful, she told us that our room, (at $209 + taxes and fees off-seaon) was for two nights not one. Being MEA weekend, we had no choice. BUT--these folks are property developers, not hoteliers. They could care less about our comfort or convenience..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
21.4 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
543 reviews
8.8 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
521 reviews
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
204 reviews
2.0 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
46 reviews
6.8 mi away
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Shores Resort

Address: 1521 Superior Shores Dr, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range: $124 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Superior Shores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Shores Resort is located on Lake Superior in Two Harbors, Minnesota, twenty miles north of Duluth. The resort offers a variety of accommodations at three unique properties that include the Main Lodge, Burlington Bay, and the Lakehomes. Situated on sixty acres of north woods forest, the resort features over a mile of Lake Superior coastline. Conveniently located at the center of many North Shore attractions, including Gooseberry Falls, Split Rock Lighthouse, Canal Park and the Superior Hiking Trail, the resort is the perfect base camp location for your day tripping activities. With something for everyone, visit Superior Shores Resort and experience the North Shore at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Superior Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superior Shores Hotel Two Harbors
Superior Shores Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing