We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy room, best night's sleep in ages!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Rail Traincar Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Two Harbors B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We've stayed here a number of times. It's always a clean, cozy, relaxing stay. Cindy the manager is fantastic. They are very knowledgable about the area, and very easy to work with. Books to borrow, movies to check out, hot water for tea, it's so comfy. A+ experience, what more is there to say?

Room Tip: I personally like the King suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 183 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

I highly recommend Northern Rail Traincar as a weeknd get away. Bring your friends, kids and grandkids. We stayed this winter. It was great to spend time in the common area to work on puzzles, read a book, sit by the fireplace or just to enjoy looking out the window. The rooms are warm and have comfortable beds. You many even see the deer right outside your window. Hungry? Betty's Pies is nearby. They have great food and great pie!

Room Tip: My favorite was the conductor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debe53e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I would highly recommend staying here! The service was great and the staff were all so helpful and friendly. Our rooms were well kept and had great views looking into the surround woodlands. The breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious as well! It was definitely a unique place to stay and I look forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JordanKlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We came back to Northern Rail to rest and decompress. The hotel was full at times during our stay, but we were undisturbed. Cyndi's winter - themed decorations throughout the common areas were a delightful surprise! We can't wait to see what she comes up with next, and are looking forward to another opportunity to return to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We went up north for a mini vacation. It's the middle of winter. Some places weren't open. We stopped at this coffee shop. People there told us of this place. Really reasonable in price. Knowledgable staff, ( about the area) friendly service. CLEAN. Rooms. I can't wait to come back in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjboucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were thrilled with our stay at the Northern Rail Traincar Suites. The hospitality could not have been better, very friendly staff and management. The rooms were extremely clean. We stayed in the King Suite and could not get over the size of it. Pricing is also very much inline with what you would get with a larger chain, but probably a much smaller room.

This is not a B & B and management is working with Trip Advisor to have this distinction taken off. They do offer a continental breakfast which does have many choices. There are DVD's, books, and plenty of board games that you can borrow at no charge.

We never would have thought sleeping in a train box car would be so enjoyable. We are already planning our return trip here next summer with our daughters! Well done Cyndi!

Room Tip: If you are visiting for more than a night treat yourself to one of the three suites. Well worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just spent three nights in one of the gorgeous King Conductor Suites at Northern Rail. Having toured it previously, we knew what to expect, and our expectations were met and exceeded. There's something downright luxurious about a fifty foot suite with a king bed, separate big living room, comfy seating everywhere, large windows with great views, spacious bathroom, the convenience of a fridge & microwave, and lovely, unique decor. We enjoyed an evening in front of the electric fireplace, in our beautiful wing chairs--and another couple of evenings cozied up on the sofa, watching movies (from Northern Rail's extensive free library). A group of deer greeted us as we came back one evening from dinner. Even they know where the best spot is.

Cyndi is the perfect hostess--friendly, fun, knowledgeable--after five minutes she makes you feel as though you're her new best friend and that she has all the time in the world to fill you in on any questions you may have. At the same time, she puts in countless hours making sure the rooms are spotless, breakfast is served on time, and all of her guests are completely satisfied. We certainly were--and we've booked a long weekend in February. We're already looking forward to a cozy, happy time no matter how awful the Minnesota weather may be.

Although the Conductor Suites are the biggest, Northern Rail also provides smaller, but equally comfortable and beautiful, accommodations. No two rooms are alike. The front lobby/library/breakfast/reception area sports some unique items, and the long hallway that connects the boxcars, modeled on a railroad platform, is just plain fun. If you come by to check them out, Cyndi will give you a free tour (just don't jump on the beds!). Get on her e-mailing list before Christmas and you could end up with a great room deal in January.

Room Tip: The Conductor Suites (2 King, one Queen) have separate living rooms and bedrooms and each takes up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
3.2 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
204 reviews
20.1 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
543 reviews
1.6 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
46 reviews
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
7.6 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Rail Traincar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Rail Traincar Inn

Address: 1730 Highway 3, Two Harbors, MN 55616-1182
Location: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Two Harbors
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Rail Traincar Inn is a "Unique Hotel with a B&B Feel"! Nestled in the woods our accommodations provide a relaxing northern getaway 1/2 mile from the north shore of Lake Superior. There are 14 rooms in 7 boxcars (1/2 car each) called Porter and Porter w/Sofa rooms and there are 3 full car Suites (there are 10 cars total). We have several themes for our rooms: Oriental (inspired by the Asian influence of the Orient Express) Safari (Inspired by the Safari trains of the early 1900's) Victorian (Inspired by the era of train travel) Northwoods rooms for something different: Fishing, Bear, Golf & Lighthouse. From the charming platform hallway to the unique rooms and the peaceful surroundings Northern Rail appeals to anyone looking for a unique experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Rail Traincar Hotel Two Harbors
Northern Rail Traincar Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing