We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Restaurant Experience”
Review of Coho Cafe

Coho Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Description: Ease into north shore flavors Kick back and relax with an espresso or your favorite glass of wine in our casual, yet chic North Shore bistro. Sample the award-winning pizza, fresh homemade breads or one of our specialty soups or salads. Top it all off with something sweet and sumptuous.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We visited here on vacation. We were under a 1 hour time limit and the lady who took our order said there was a bit of a wait but would be no more than 30 minutes. We decided to order a pizza to go thinking we would just it in the car. 30 minutes passes and they told us the pizza was coming out of the oven. 10 minutes later they said our pizza would be out in "3 more minutes". 15 minutes later we were told "they are cutting your pizza". Another 10 minutes later they said the pizza was not fully cooked and it would be 3 more minutes. Finally we got our pizza about 10-15 minutes later. It took over 1 hour and 15 minutes for a single pizza. When we told them how unacceptable this was and for the poor updates, they shrugged us off. I would advise against anyone eating here. The food was mediocre at best for an overpriced and terrible service. Drive up the road a way for much better food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bweber36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluefinGM, Manager at Coho Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We apologize for your negative dining experience with us, including the wait time for your food. Our kitchen staff does their best to accommodate every order and to make sure all food is prepared fresh and is properly cooked and presented. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to serve you better in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 319 of 414 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Coho Cafe starts with a few good locally produced ingredients, then waters them down with a host of Cisco staples. The chef(s) fail to spend time or thought preparing the entrees, so the quality does not rise above chain-restaurant standards.

Service was slow, but friendly; we waited 45 minutes for a mediocre rueben sandwich and a rather glutenous blob of pasta with marinara.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SaltMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluefinGM, Manager at Coho Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments and concerns regarding your dining experience. We apologize for the slow service you received as well as for the fact that you did not fully enjoy your meals. We are currently working on a complete review of all ingredients that go into each menu item. We will continue to work with local food providers and our food distributors to make sure that we are always getting high-quality ingredients to put into all of our dishes. We will also revisit with our kitchen staff the importance of preparing each item to meet our high-standards. Thank you again and we hope to serve you better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is crowded and busy, but the staff doesn't seem to ever be adequate. You wait a while to order, then wait 25 minutes for your food. The cook is either new or just poorly trained. The kids menu says pancake. They don't warn you that it is some whole wheat, chunky granola with nuts. If you have a picky eater or a nut allergy, you are out of luck. The French toast was raw in the middle and the breakfast egg scramble is a dash of egg with 8 ounces of raw onion. We got our money back and went elsewhere to eat. The best part was the rude woman that have us our refund, she was incredulous that we didn't like our food and said "no one has ever complained before!"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lehrkl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluefinGM, Manager at Coho Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns with us regarding your recent dining experience. We apologize for the issues you experienced and have shared your comments with our kitchen and wait staff. We will work with them to prevent these issues going forward. We have also made changes to our kid’s menu to better describe the menu items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A really nice dinner at the Coho. A small restaurant on the Shore--friendly service, good well-seasoned food. I had the fish, friends had a delicious sandwich and others ordered tasty pizza. Of course, we shared dessert--again, fresh and delicious! Ligonberry cheesecake!

Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I loved the Northwoods salad. Dressing was tasty and loved the cheese with dried blueberries on top. Pizza was just OK - did not like crust. Toppings were great and service was fast. Slices of cake were small but tasty.

Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coho Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing