We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Favorite Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bluefin Grille

Bluefin Grille
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Flavors as big and bold as the view! Experience the Bluefin Grille's sophisticated yet casual atmosphere while savoring the most breathtaking views available on the North Shore. Along with scenery, you'll enjoy spectacular regionally inspired cuisine.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Favorite Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We travel to the North Shore of Lake Superior two or three times every year - it is my favorite getaway from the Twin Cities. We always try to stop for t least one meal at the Bluefin Grille in Tofte. Their menu changes frequently and features great light fare, as well as full entrees and appetizers (try the artichoke dip). On our most recent trip - a week ago, we had two dinners and one breakfast there. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. We enjoyed the live music on Sunday night, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdeank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    87
    50
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Gem in a Resort setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The Bluefin Grill was an unexpected surprise during our stay at Surfside. We had dinner coupons provided with our resort package and were not expecting much from the restaurant. I am happy to say that we were thrilled with the friendly service and the quality of the food we found. I highly recommend their specialty the Wild Rice and Duck chowder, we had it for dinner and lunch and found it delicious. Both the Filet Mignon and the Prime Rib for our main course were cooked perfectly and were well presented. This is certainly a find in the North Shore that provides an excellent dining experience with a view of the lake that is hard to beat, we will certainly be back again.

Helpful?
Thank TwincitiesAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exceptional evening on the North Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have eaten at Bluefin many times over the years and have been very satisfied diners. Last weekend, after a day of snowmobiling, we were led upstairs to a remodeled, more elegant dining room. My wife and I shared the cheese plate as a starter --- not much for appearance but a very nice combination of tastes. Then we both had the Coquille St Jacques and it was fabulous. We ended with the Creme Brulee and it was probably the best we had ever had. I wonderful evening!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GregoryOMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could be Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at Bluefin Bay Resort several times during the past several years and find the accommodations excellent. The on-site Restaurant has great atmosphere, super friendly (but slow) service and could use a bit of a recommendation on the menu. I ordered the Swedish Meatballs, and found them to be less than stellar. They were dry, the accompanying peas dimpled and dry, and not real appetizing. In our opinion, the entree's were overpriced, with nothing less than $22 and most in the upper $20's to low $30's. We returned the next evening for some late "bar food" and again, while the bartender was friendly, the drinks fine, and the service quick, the burger I ordered was dry and overdone. We have eaten breakfast several times there and fine that excellent,( but what can one do to breakfast). We will eat there occasionally since we are staying there, but, in the future, move up the shore to the many restaurants that offer more of a price range and better fare.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Upscale dining, 4 stars on the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family of six went for dinner. We enjoyed the food, especially the artichoke dip, fish of the day, scallops, filet, and prime rib. The kids had chicken tenders. Nice variety of drinks on the menu. The staff was a bit short-handed and the prices are high, but on the whole we gave this restaurant four stars.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Calif0rniadreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bluefin Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing