We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay for the price + shuttle for skiers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Addison, Illinois
1 review
“Nice place to stay for the price + shuttle for skiers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you are looking nice place to stay for the reasonable budget , clean with some facilities for relax ( pool + sauna ) and convenient service for skiers ( shuttle ) - take this hotel . Standard breakfast available . Good location near the lake . The only disappointment was very slow internet connection ( advertised as high speed )

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Jerzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    84
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
110
93
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Wifi is totally unreliable - so much that this hotel should not advertise they have it. When I was able to connect (which wasn't often) I'd get booted off the network within 5 min. Staff just indicated they knew it was slow and couldn't do anything about it. It also took the staff over a day to get our tv working. Decent enough hotel, but the staff weren't very helpful and the wifi was a big problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank AKHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngmTofte, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for staying at the AmericInn of Tofte. I am very sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We take great pride in our hotel & its amenities, and we sincerely regret when we fall short in the eyes of our guests.

I would also like to thank you for your comments on the quality of our Wireless Internet Access. We know that Internet access is a key factor in making the decision on where you choose to stay when you are away from home. I acknowledge that we currently have some limitations with our Internet speed and we are working with Cook County to help solve this problem. The good news is the county is currently moving forward with a plan to provide broadband internet to all residents and businesses within the county. However, there have been some delays in the process and the bad news is that the completion of this project is still 3 to 5 months in the future. We are hopeful that this service will be available to us by mid-summer.

It is with sincere hope that you will give me and my staff another chance to prove that we can make your next experience at the AmericInn of Tofte great. Please be assured that Internet connectivity will not always be an issue and that we are working through this temporary Internet situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

this place is great! my husband and I love to stay at this hotel when we come Snowmobiling! they have pet friendly rooms located close to an exit, a wonderful continental breakfast and usually pretty good deals( if you ask for their best pricing or have done your research)
we have stayed multiple times and never been disappointed... 1 tip... shower at night or get up early or you could have a cooler shower when in a very busy season

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktjane79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very clean rooms and with hot tub for my girlfriend a I was nice. Would be a place for snowmobile people to stay, as trails are at your back door. And hot tub to relax in after :) can't beat that. Thank you from Thunder Bay On.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngmTofte, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review! You are correct, our location is extremely convenient for guests coming to the area to ride snowmobiles as a local trail starts right at the end of our parking lot and connects with the state trail within approximately 1/4 mile. Most guests unload their snowmobiles when they arrive and don't load them back onto trailers until their departure day. We receive quite a few return guests year after year because of this convenience! In the cold, winter months we are glad to hear that our guests are taking advtanage of our whirlpool, whether it is an in-room whirlpool or our oversized whirlpool located in our swimming pool area. Nothing beats a warm soak after being out on the trails all day snowmobiling or skiing! Once again, thank you for your comments and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Mn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

A great place to lay your weary head after a good day of skiing, hiking, sight seeing. Relax with hot luscious shower and nap in comfort. Plenty of family room for gathering for conversation, games and refreshing pool. Satisfying breakfast for all. Great restaurant/bar across the street. This is a great place, value, comfort, convenience! Sheila

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Sdgronemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngmTofte, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the AmericInn Of Tofte. It is always nice to hear positive comments from our guests. We hope to see you during your next visit to the North Shore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We love staying at the AmericInn in Tofte. We always get a room with a Jacuzzi for a nice soak after a long day on the mountain at Lutsen. The staff is very friendly, breakfast is fantastic, rooms are clean and the pool is great too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank DieselDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Short drive to Lutsen Mtns. The beds were very comfortable. The decor was very nice. Very quiet rooms. Breakfast was very good. Always a pot of coffee on and fresh fruit available. Nice pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
7.5 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
3.0 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
17.1 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
3.9 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
8.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Address: 7231 W. Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing