We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have stayed at this American Inn several times and it is always a pleasure to stay here. The staff is very friendly, helpfull and efficient. Rooms are very clean, beds are awesome, pool area to include pool, hot tub and sauna is kept neat and clean. The free breakfast in the morning has an abundant amount of food and variety. The price for quality is an excellant deal.
5 stars out of 5 for me and my family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinngmTofte, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We are thrilled that you are consistantly satisfied with out facility, staff, and amenities. We take great pride in providing excellent customer service and clean lodging accomodations to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the North Shore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 291 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Had a great stay at the Americinn. Very clean, nice pool and hot tub area. Will be visiting again soon. Room was very clean and the Continental breakfast was very good. They were willing to give us the best rate possible and work with us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the AmericInn in Tofte, MN, in a King Jacuzzi motel room. The room was exactly as pictured on the AmericInn Tofte website, was clean, the beds and pillows were very comfy. The only drawback is that they advertised high-speed internet, which was running at about 56k by speedtest.net's measurement. Apparently the entire county was having issues, which is no surprise given how far away it is from a major population center. The Jacuzzi was wonderful and the pool area looked great. Breakfast was as advertised as well. I'll have to give it a 4/5 due to internet connectivity that was the only thing not as advertised. I would definitely stay here again though because it is much cheaper than staying at anything closer to Lutsen Mountains and it is only about a 15 min drive to the ski area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the parking lot to avoid any unnecessary light. I lucked in in that we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bassgirl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I have been staying at the Tofte AmericInn for 5 years during ski season at Lutsen. We are always happy with the room (we get the one with a large jacuzzi), enjoy the pool and hot tub and find the breakfast improves every time we go. The staff provides a friendly atmosphere and is always helpful when we need information or an extra towel. We have recommended it to friends and they are just as happy with AmericInn Tofte as we have been.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband turned 50 so we took a family ski trip to Lutsen mountain in Minnesota. The hotel staff was very friendly, room was clean they had a nice breakfast especially on the weekend, they had many breakfast options available. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool after skiing, rooms were clean and the bed was very cozy. I would definitely return and it is nice to see we would be able to bring our dog next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I were wanted to go on a short ski trip cheaply for a long weekend. Knowing this, our expectations for the hotel were rather low. We were pleasantly surprised with a very clean and nice room! A lovely addition was the free hot chocolate and coffee in the lobby. Wonderful stay, but the only con was the "high speed internet" wasn't quite high speed. Overall, well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Have stayed here multiple times while skiing at Lutsen. Very typical older AmericInn property. A little worn but comfortable and reasonably good value for the money. Pool area was very clean and well maintained. Water in hot tub was clean and clear. No overpowering smell of chlorine. Breakfast selection was limited but ok. Cell phone coverage was spotty which is to be expected in this location. As always the staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank steveA7454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
7.5 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.2 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
0.9 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
8.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
13.7 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior

Address: 7231 W. Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range: $88 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing