We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Nine years ago, my now husband and I spent our first vacation together at Bluefin Bay. We had a wonderful time, which led us to come back in September 2010 for our honeymoon. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room, as well as the amenities. We stayed in the Grand Superior 1 Bedroom, this room has a full kitchen, with refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, oven, and microwave, as well as a gas fireplace, floor to ceiling windows facing Lake Superior, and a Jacuzzi. This room was perfect for just wanting a week of relaxation.

There are two restaurants on the property, Bluefin Grille and Coho Café. The grille is more upscale food, including burgers, sandwiches, fish and steak. We ate at Bluefin Grille three times, each of which the food and service were wonderful. We only stopped into Coho Café once for a sandwich at lunch, but it was very good.

There are many amenities to take advantage of while staying at Bluefin Bay. There is an indoor and outdoor pool, spa and Jacuzzi, as well as a fitness center. And if you are looking for something to fill your day, speak with someone at the front desk and they can tell you what is on the calendar, or set you up on an excursion for the day.

The staff at Bluefin is exceptional, the one time we had to call housekeeping; they were there 15 minutes later with our towels. I have never had anyone respond that fast. The staff was well informed and suggested things to do in the area.

We had such a great time over the week, hearing the wave’s crash against the shore, while sitting in front of the fireplace. We could not have asked for a better overall experience, we will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 564 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

We spent four days with old friends at Bluefin Bay. We had a three bedroom, three bath unit and love the wood burning fire place. It was great to hike about went up the SawBill Trail and visited with one another. We do this every year as the group is spread far and wide. The food was delicious and we did some cooking in the unit but not too much as this was a vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watersedge_js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We had never been to the area and are so enthralled with the Lake Superior Shore and the lovely scenery, attractions, fine restaurants and the beautiful Lake Superior and its' history.
We will definitely go back and will try and get the same room at Bluefin Bay Resort! We were extremely pleased with our two bedroom, lake view, jacuzzi, fireplace room! The Grille restaurant is excellent! Our facilities were very clean and we were impressed with all the extras - coffee, refrigerator, firewood, cozy surroundings. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This was our third stay at Bluefin and won't be our last. We were even closer to the lake shore in this unit than previous stays. The location/view is incredible. The unit layout was just what we needed for our group including my wife and I, our oldest daughter, and my father. We had a two bedroom "upper unit" with a sofa sleeper in the living room. The kitchen was well equipped to use if we chose to. We did utilize the "community" gas grill situated a few feet from the steps leading up to our unit. The unit was very clean as were the grounds and the indoor pool area also steps from our unit. We did have an upstairs window the wouldn't close all the way. I reported it at the front desk and it was fixed when we returned. The staff has always been very helpful. On our last stay when my son forgot a drawer full of clothes at checkout I called the desk to find that they had located and bagged the clothes. They confirmed our mailing address and mailed them to us without charge. Great place, great people, unbeatable location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iowatraveler27_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Have been visiting Bluefin Bay for 20 yrs and won't stop. Nothing like falling asleep to the sound of the waves. Michael & Mark are our friendly bartendar's and always have a smile on their faces. Was a little short on tea in our unit and missing a iron. I didn't even have time to hang up the telephone and a staff member was at the door with the items. We have never had a bad visit. Have visited three times this year. Headed back in October for the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. See you then!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Our extended family of 4 adults, one teen and two children stayed in a 3 bedroom townhouse on the water which was the perfect spot. The townhouse was updated and very clean. The beds were very comfortable with featherbeds on top of the mattresses, down comforters and pillows. We kayaked, biked, sailed. Even though it was Labor Day weekend, we had no problem reserving spots for these items. I loved to listen to the water lapping up against the shore at night to lull me to sleep. Fireplace and whirlpool bath were big hits.
Used the kitchen for breakfasts and lunches. It was well furnished with dishes, pots and pans, etc. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was adequate but not anything to write home about. We went to the Bar-B-Que on Sat. night. Food had mixed reviews. Hamburgers were fabulous, but the chicken was dry and the salmon was almost raw, brats were okay and the meat on a skewer was okay. Everyone raved about the beans. Kids loved the campfire on the beach and making s'mores.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjweisenburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We've stayed at Bluefin every year for the past 4 or 5 years. This was the first time we brought our son, now almost 2 years old. We had a great time with him there. Our condo (grand superior 1 bedroom) was huge, which was nice because my husband and I were able to stay up by the fire after our son went to bed. The view out of every condo we've stayed in is great. The best activity for us this trip was throwing rocks into the lake. We also went swimming in the indoor pool and hiking at Oberg, Temperance river and Cascade. We ordered most of our food from the Coho cafe and ate it in our condo. We also ate one meal at the Bluefin Grille, but we did not care for the quality of the food. Be warned - do not go to the grill for breakfast. The service is unbearably slow and the food is not good. We've made that mistake a few times and will not go back. Overall we love this resort and will be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
7.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
1.2 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
8.3 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
3.7 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior

Address: 7192 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range: $188 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior is unmatched in its intimate proximity to the largest freshwater lake in the world – Lake Superior. The stunning views, warm and friendly hospitality, award-winning restaurants, and a full-service resort with complimentary outdoor equipment and activities are the hallmarks of Bluefin Bay. Choose from hotel suites, or one, two or three bedroom condos on the lake. Our restaurants, the Bluefin Grille and Coho Café and Bakery also overlook the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluefin Bay On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte
Bluefin Bay Hotel
Bluefin Bay Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing