We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“End of Winter weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“End of Winter weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

As always, our unit was clean and well supplied. Cooks should bring their own sharp knife. Beds are comfortable and views of the lake are impressive. We enjoyed visits to the bar and the service and drinks are great. This time we had only one meal at the Grille and it was excellent. My travel partner enjoyed a fish sandwich that was perfectly done. I had one of the best veggie burgers ever - an honest-to-goodness made on site quinoa/bean burger with the perfect combination and amount of add ons. (Not one of those things that seem to be trying to be fake meat.) We go to Bluefin a couple times a year for long weekends and find a perfect balance of outdoor action and indoor relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReCycle958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    142
    38
    25
    14
See reviews for
141
287
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our first time staying at the property and first time in the Tofte, MN area. The whole family enjoyed everything about the resort (service, location, room, etc). We were originally planning on going to Lutsen but never made it there because we enjoyed Bluefin so much and everything that it has to offer. Hope to visit again soon!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GabrielsMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I came to the bluefin with my girlfriend for a romantic night! Not what we got! I am from St.johns Newfoundland and have worked in tourism for 7+ years so I know a thing or two about costumer service.
To start we were charged for the room( full price) a week before we when there.
Then we were disappointed with the out of date room and it's cleanliness, but decided to enjoy our night anyway.
We had dinner at the grill it was ok! And returned to the room to light a fire and use the jet tub that after I filled it up the jets didn't work. We called the front desk and wile on the phone with them for 30 mins they had me checking and resetting breakers( located outside the room) was not inpressed at all!!!
In the morning we were up at sun rise as the window coverings didn't do anything to block the sun, witch we could live with! We wanted to make some coffee and head to the outdoor hottub, but of course the coffee maker didn't work( they said they would replace it for the next guests to stay in the room but not for us!), once again we called frount deck and asked for coffee to be brought to our room we were told it would take a hour or more, this is after they had me check the breakers again and made us feel like we were lieing about it not working! We asked them what time we could use the outdoor hottub they said 8:00am so we left the room walked to the cafe got coffee and to the hottub and waited till 9:30am when someone finely opened it!( the sauna does not work)
We returned to the room to shower and the shower heads were garbage !and barley had water coming out of them. At this point we were just pissed off that after I came from Newfoundland and drive from Thunder Bay to the bluefin ( witch Looked online to be the nicest of places to stay on the lake) that we had nothing nice to say about our stay!!
-Steve Lake, St. John's Newfoundland

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsideGM, General Manager at Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
This is a difficult response to write because the recollections of our staff people and the notes they made while interacting with this guest vary quite a lot from what the guest recounts. I apologize for whatever inconvenience this guest experienced. We will do our best to avoid mechanical problems with our accommodations and to improve the service we offer to solve problems that do occur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have stayed a Bluefin Bay (and its related property, Surfside) and have always enjoyed our stay. The location is wonderful, very convenient to excellent hiking trails on Minnesota's North Shore. The property we stayed in this time (one bedroom with kitchen) is starting to show a little age, but it's still a very nice and comfortable place to stay. We really enjoy being able to relax in front of a real fire after a long day of hiking. They also have nice amenities - like indoor and outdoor pool, exercise area, sauna and whirlpool. They also allow you free use of equipment like snowshoes in the winter and bikes in the summer. For the first time, we took advantage of their free shuttle - they dropped us off at Oberg Mountain and hiked all the way back to the hotel. One thing I will advise - ask at least TWO people for hiking advice before making any decisions. One staffer told us the snow shoe trail should be packed down for hiking and the distance was 5 miles. The next morning, the front desk was not so sure the trail would be packed. She was right. Our hike turned into a 7 hour, 9 mile epic journey. Just be sure you don't bite off more than you can chew - especially when conditions are extreme. We are fortunate we are fit and had proper gear. For someone else, it could have had a worse outcome.

We also brought along our dog - which was a first. We were thrilled that a nice property would allow us to bring her along. The staff was friendly and gave her treats whenever we were at the front desk. And she had a blast hiking the trail with us. And our condo had an exit directly onto a nice lawn area where we could easily let her out to exercise.

Oh - we also took advantage of the spa at Surfside. Very nice! Both my husband and I were extremely pleased with our deep tissue massage...and we wished we had left more time to enjoy the locker room sauna and sitting area (with tea and healthy snacks) before and afterwards. I would strongly recommend booking a massage - but be sure to book long before you go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christinamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have stayed at Bluefin Bay a number of times. A couple of years ago we had our family up for a week to celebrate our 50th anniversary. This stay was just a quick getaway. The staff at the front desk were great. Very helpful and friendly. When we arrived I seen the activity list and it looked like they took all our ideas and put them on the list. Perfect. Everyplace we wanted to go and everything we wanted to do was accomplished, except ice skating. The last afternoon we were just too tired. We enjoyed the activity director, Suzie. She was helpful, fun and was a walking, snowshoeing, skiing encyclopedia. We tried skating last year and the equipment was the best. Their summer equipment is all top notch and gave us the opportunity to try new sports. The guided tours have given us the chance to meet awesome families from all over. This year we tried snowshoeing and cross country skiing and Bluefin had the best equipment for that. Our room had all we needed but it was a little small. On the plus side it was right on top of the waves. We ate at the Bluefin Grill and it was delicious as always. Our last day we had pizza (the best) at the Coho and we had enough to take home for another meal. We love the North Shore and Bluefin helps us enjoy it in all seasons. Bluefin also has info on other activities in the area. We tired dogsledding and a sleigh ride with the full moon coming up. WOW!

Room Tip: Rooms with the bedroom on the lake lets you hear the waves at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denny-Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We love coming to Bluefin Bay and it's our go to place whenever we can get away. It was our 61st anniversary and a wonderful place to come once again. Our unit was clean and pretty and check in and check out was a breeze. The Grill has very good food and enjoyed our meals there and the view with big waves coming into shore. I'll be back in the summer with a friend from the West Coast to enjoy the North Shore with her. It's a wonderful place to stay and we'll be back next year for our anniversary and maybe with a group of old school friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a lake view but we try to get an corner suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watersedge_js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mn
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you book with a group and the place isn't full you'd think that the resort would make some effort to find a room near the rest of the group for a woman traveling alone. Especially if it is 0 degrees outside. Instead I was stuck with the most remote room (although there were rooms closer to the group available) with terrible cell coverage and not great wifi access. The rest of my group was a very icy walk away. And while I specifically asked about swimming pool/fitness center access, they still booked my room far from amenities.

Also when I checked in the woman was very rude about the fact that I didn't have a car for their forms. Despite the fact that I walked in with 3 other adults and had booked under the name of the company, she didn't quite get that I had traveled with a group for work. Again that might have been an indicator that I was *not* interested in the most remote room available.

I had booked a hillside room, which was fine. No view. Again very icy walk to the room. Would have happily paid for an upgrade to be near the rest of the group. (Mind I paid the same amount they did for their rooms.)

Despite happy memories of coming here on vacation with my husband years ago, I will not be coming back to a tourism destination that so poorly calls room assignments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnT-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsideGM, General Manager at Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are very sorry that this guest was located apart from others in her group. A group coordinator from this organization reserved a block of rooms in advance that included all of the Hillside Guest Rooms available at that time; and then instructed each group member to individually reserve a room from this room block. The group coordinator later canceled some rooms that were not needed. No one on their side or ours thought to move individual reservations around in order to assure that the rooms they kept were located more closely together. Improvements in cell and wifi service are coming soon. Our wifi system will be replaced in April and a new cell tower is being built in our community this May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
7.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
2.8 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
8.3 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
16.9 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior

Property: Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Address: 7192 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615-8615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior is unmatched in its intimate proximity to the largest freshwater lake in the world – Lake Superior. The stunning views, warm and friendly hospitality, award-winning restaurants, and a full-service resort with complimentary outdoor equipment and activities are the hallmarks of Bluefin Bay. Choose from hotel suites, or one, two or three bedroom condos on the lake. Our restaurants, the Bluefin Grille and Coho Café and Bakery also overlook the lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluefin Bay On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte
Bluefin Bay Hotel
Bluefin Bay Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing