We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place-we go every ski season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We've made Bluefin Bay home for our family ski trip to Lutsen every year for past 6-7 years. Always enjoyable. Great local action, views of the lake, pool, hot tub, etc. Dinner at Bluefin Grill highly recommended-get the duck.

One year, I damaged a ski and they let me use their tools and equipment to repair, so I was ready to go the next day.

All in all, great place and great service.

Stayed: February 2012
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 560 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I LOVE Lake Superior from Duluth, north to the Canadian border and we visit often as we live in the Twin Cities. Bluefin Bay is right on the lake. Only rocks seperate you from the lake. We open our windows and go to sleep learing the waves lap against the rocks. There's nothing better. We've stayed here twice, once in February and once in September. In Februrary, we had a one bedroom unit that had a spacious living room area with TV and balcony and kitchen. In September we had a two bedroom which shared bathroom but no kitchen. One of the bedrooms had a lake view. On both occasions we found the accomodations very clean and comfortable. There is a lot to do around Tofte. We went winter hiking in February and summer hiking and biking in September. Coco's Cafe, within walking distance, is a great place to eat. Over the years, we've eaten either breakfast, lunch, or dinner there and always been pleased. We have also eaten breakfast at the grille/restaurante on site and it was quite nice. That also has a great view. I would highly recommend this place. The only reason I didn't rate it excellent is because it's quite pricy, but prices are relative to budget and ours is small :( Others may find it quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent a few days at Bluefin Bay Resort for our honeymoon and it was perfect. We had a second floor view of the lake and the wonderful wood burning fireplace with jacuzzi tub. We did mention it was our honeymoon and when we came back from unloading our car we noticed a bottle of champagne chilling on the wet bar. Everyone was so nice and helpful. The food is great. The pumpkin latte at the Coho Cafe was amazing and the french toast at the grille is to die for.
I highly recommend!

Room Tip: I believe we stayed in the grand master suite and I guess that's where they recommend people sta...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessieA12Duluth_mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our fifth time staying at Bluefin, and we are eager to go back again. My wife and I love the smaller condos near the tennis courts. On chilly days we love to hike the Superior Hiking Trial and come back to make dinner and have a glass of wine by the fire. The bar in the restaurant is cozy and comfortable, too. We love views, walking along the lake shore, playing golf and kayaking on one of the inland lakes. The condos are clean and comfortable, with private decks and comfortable furniture if you just want to read a good book with sound of the waves at your window.

Room Tip: Smaller condos near the tennis courts are a great value.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The website oversells this property leaving you to be a little bit dissapointed at check in. However; the views were amazing, and I can't say I wouldn't reccomend this property; it gets a lot of good reviews for a reason, but I wouldn't stay here again...but....we do wish that we had of stayed at Bluefin's sister resort Surfside; the property looks much newer and worth the $; the main reason we didn't choose Surfside to begin with was no on-site dining; but dining at bluefin is poor and we ate most of our meals off site anyway.

The good:
- Some of the best veiws of the north shore right from your guest room window!
- Fireplace and Jacuzzi make for a great romantic getaway
- Quiet and relaxing place!
- Feather topper on the matress
- Location was in good proximity to all parks and attractions to explore on the north shore, never more than an hour drive in any direction!

The bad:
-Rooms need updating; bad!
-Outdoor hot tub & pool areas close at 9:00 on weekdays
-Service and food at Bluefin were poor, Coho cafe was even worse; much better dining options at the resorts competitors.

To sum it up; can't say anything really bad about the resort, but if you want luxury choose Surfside instead; the prices are more justified for what you get!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJC_84_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The scenery was excellent but for the price the room was just average for a sweet. We had a great time, but if we had it all to do over again. We would have just got a motel room for $100 a night less. The food at the grill was Applebee’s quality at 100% mark up.

Room Tip: Stay in Duluth!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JONATHAN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Bluefin Bay is a great resort in the middle of the North Shore of Lake Superior. Rooms are very clean, with lots of different options, the staff is really helpful and the views are spectacular. Situated in the middle of the North Shore, close to lots of access points to the Superior Hiking Trail, Superior National Golf Course and 30 minutes from Grand Marais it's a great resort to set up lodging while exploring the scenic options of Lake Superior.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
7.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
2.8 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
8.3 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
3.7 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior

Address: 7192 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range: $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior is unmatched in its intimate proximity to the largest freshwater lake in the world – Lake Superior. The stunning views, warm and friendly hospitality, award-winning restaurants, and a full-service resort with complimentary outdoor equipment and activities are the hallmarks of Bluefin Bay. Choose from hotel suites, or one, two or three bedroom condos on the lake. Our restaurants, the Bluefin Grille and Coho Café and Bakery also overlook the lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluefin Bay On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte
Bluefin Bay Hotel
Bluefin Bay Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing