We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of Lake Superior”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
minneapolis, mn
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of Lake Superior”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Bluefin Bay is a great resort in the middle of the North Shore of Lake Superior. Rooms are very clean, with lots of different options, the staff is really helpful and the views are spectacular. Situated in the middle of the North Shore, close to lots of access points to the Superior Hiking Trail, Superior National Golf Course and 30 minutes from Grand Marais it's a great resort to set up lodging while exploring the scenic options of Lake Superior.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    145
    38
    25
    14
See reviews for
146
295
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We loved our stay and will be back again in the future! We stayed in the superior one bedroom condo with our own lakeside deck and our view was stunning! We stayed in the older side closest to the Coho cafe (a few little things could be updated like carpet) but all in all no complaints! The kitchen had upgraded appliances, including a stove and dishwasher! We made our own breakfasts to eat on our deck, it was so relaxing and perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetlyss6904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were back again for our annual get together of friends. The check in was easy and friendly, we rented one of the larger condos and took A, B and C. All of the bed rooms were perfect and the living room and kitchen had all we needed, can't say enough good things about the units we were in.The weather was fabulous and we walked and sat out on the deck and visited for the four days. The location perfect right on the water and we had coffee out on the deck in the morning, listened to the waves hitting the rocks and watched the migrating birds eating berries from the trees out side our windows. What a treat. Our meals at the Grille were all very good and service par excellent. We all enjoyed our stay and look to next year. Thank you Bluefin for the great service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watersedge_js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofte, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Had a room the size of a postage stamp...Dirty, worn out bedding. Facing the freeway (Highway 61).
NOISY, had weird high windows with no shades, so once sun came up, you were up. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND, NOR EVER STAY HERE AGAIN

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank rcnldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsideGM, General Manager at Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We apologize that you did not enjoy your visit. You chose our Hillside Guestroom, the smallest and least expensive of our accommodations. We note that you booked on line. Our website includes a photo and floor plan of this room which show its size and layout accurately, and also states that it faces away from the lake. We are sorry that this information did not give you a clear enough understanding of what to expect. We also apologize that the condition of the room was not up to your standards. We invite you to contact us directly to further discuss your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We rented a 1 bedroom lakeside condo. It had a full kitchen, a bathroom with double whirlpool tub/shower combo. The living area had a dining set and sofa bed with 2 chairs and endtables. Wood burning fireplace with wood and starter logs already in it. Bose radio system with a collection of CD's, a flatscreen TV in both the bedroom and living room. There was a small triangular shaped deck off the living area with 2 chairs and small table. It was right at lake side so the view was spectacular and you could walk right down to the lake from the deck. The condo was VERY clean and in excellent repair. It was decorated so beautifully with local art. It was fully stocked with everything you would need. The bedroom did not have black out curtains, it only had a valance and mini blinds. I like to have blackout curtains so I can sleep later without light shining in so that was a disappointment. There are 2 pools and whirlpools, one inside and one outside. We did not use either though they looked well kept. They have activities throughout the day as well as sports equipment and bikes to check out on site. There was an onsite restaurant which we found to be very overpriced but decent food. There is also an onsite cafe (Coho) which we went to for a pizza and also for breakfast. The rolls and coffee for breakfast were very overpriced as well. The entire resort was very well kept and clean, and all of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They even give you smore kits so you can have smores at the lakeside fire in the evenings. Would definately stay here again, though would probably dine off site. Would highly recommend for a couples get away. Peaceful and relaxing place to stay where you can do as much or as little as you desire.

Room Tip: I recommend the lower level lakeside condo - so nice and close to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My sister and I were looking for a relaxing child-free getaway for the Labour Day weekend, and th Bluefin Bay resort delivered!
We stayed in one of the Studio rooms (without jacuzzi) and it was perfect. The ground floor deck was perfect for looking out over Lake Superior while enjoying your morning coffee, the fully equipped kitchen was clean for those who chose to eat in, and even the pullout bed was comfy!

If you wanted to take in the many activities (like biking, kayaking, sailing, nature walks, nightly campfires- the list goes on and on!) you could. Otherwise, simply enjoying the sights from your room would suffice.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would highly recommend Bluefin Bay resort to anyone wishing to enjoy some Northern surroundings!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Rented a one bedroom condo and it reminded me of a walk out 80's basement apartment more than anything. There were windows both in front and back but the unit was a bit dark and felt "underground". Furnishings were a bit oversized for the space and both the bedroom and bath were a bit tight. Noise from the highway as well as from folks renting the rooms overhead and walking down the steps were easily heard at all times. The basics were present but not much more-no iron, extras in the kitchen, etc. The unit had just what was needed, at a pretty steep rate, although I'm not sure what the competition charges.

On the positive side, the lake was right out the front doorway and the view was very pleasant. The grounds and the unit were clean. Tried both restaurants and enjoyed the food-especially the Scandanavian favorites. Also enjoyed the s'mores at night and the walking path around the resort. This was a great home base for touring the local parks and Grand Marais.

Room Tip: Were I returning, I'd probably opt for a larger and upstairs unit. I'd also ask for one wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank like2travelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
7.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
2.8 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
8.3 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
3.7 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior

Property: Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Address: 7192 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior is unmatched in its intimate proximity to the largest freshwater lake in the world – Lake Superior. The stunning views, warm and friendly hospitality, award-winning restaurants, and a full-service resort with complimentary outdoor equipment and activities are the hallmarks of Bluefin Bay. Choose from hotel suites, or one, two or three bedroom condos on the lake. Our restaurants, the Bluefin Grille and Coho Café and Bakery also overlook the lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluefin Bay On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte
Bluefin Bay Hotel
Bluefin Bay Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing