We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for all - big or small!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We most recently stayed at Bluefin in January. I wanted a surprise getaway for my husbands birthday. On Friday afternoon, our teen daughter and I loaded him into the car and off we went. And he had NO idea what was up! We checked into Bluefin and Marie at the front desk was most excellent in keeping the birthday party secret. She carefully checked us into 44A (we actually had 44A&B reserved) and congratulated us on our recent anniversary. We headed off to 44A. As soon as we left registration, she called the unit and told our friends we were coming. Walking into the darkened unit, my husband still had no inkling of the surprise to come. Our friends jumped out and congratulated him on his 50th! A great surprise that couldn't have happened without Marie's terrific co-ordination. Thanks!

We had 44A&B, an excellent combined three bedroom unit that suited our three couples (plus one teen girl) marvelously. The kitchen, while a bit small for multiple cooks at a time, was the very best we've come across for kitchen supplies of all types. Great attention to detail! We spent three nights cooking, eating, talking and drinking, cozy in front of the fire.

Each couple took a turn preparing a meal or two, and we ate at the Bluefin Grill one evening. Great service, excellent meal. A bit spendy, but we did live it up with drinks, wine and dessert. And being able to prepare all of our other meals in the unit made the one meal at the restaurant quite affordable. Plenty of room around the table for seven people - whether dining or playing Apples to Apples.

Our teen spent most of the weekend up in the large master bedroom, reading in a cozy chair overlooking the lake, fire blazing in the fireplace. She slept on the inflatable mattress of the sofabed and pronounced it quite comfortable.

We've been coming to Bluefin for years. We started with the studio suites and have worked our way through a one bedroom, two bedroom and now the three bedroom. They've ALL been extraordinarily marvelous. We also appreciate the many pet friendly rooms.

We'll be back in March for spring break!

Room Tip: The units at the very ends are most private. People out climbing on the rocks by the lake do not te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 569 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to BlueFin Bay, and won't be our last. The inviting atmosphere, execllent accomodations and personable staff make the stay more than relaxing. With each stay we have tried a slightly different accomodation, and have not had any problems or complaints. Bluefin Bay is a small piece of Heaven, perfect for recharging one's batteries.

Room Tip: 1 or 2 bedroom accomodations are a great value for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We've stayed here plenty of times and love it! We always stay in a Studio with Jacuzzi, and usually in the winter. My only complaint is with the guests who stay in the Studio with Loft - they always bring their kids, and the kids always stay in the loft, which is right above the Studios with Jacuzzis. We have trouble with this nearly every time we stay. The walls don't seem to be too thin, but the ceiling is another story. Other than that, no complaints! Cozy, relaxing (especially when the neighbors go into town), wonderful view of the lake. We've stayed in the summer only once, and we cracked the window to listen to the waves at night. The pull out bed is great, you would never even know it folds up. The firewood is plentiful and free, although not always dry. The kitchen is fully stocked, just as they say. If you can't find something in the kitchen (like a cookie sheet), just ask, they might be able to deliver it. Can't say enough good things about this place!

Room Tip: If you are bothered by neighbors, get a top floor room. The corner units have an extra window, if I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysOutOfOffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My Wife and I spent 2 nights at Bluefin for a short "Babymoon" vacation. It was exactly what we were looking for. We stayed in a Superior Suite and really enjoyed the room. Technically there was two rooms. The "Master Bedroom" had a King Size bed, whirlpool and wood burning fireplace and the second room was a simple second bedroom with a double bed. We used the whirlpool both nights and had a fire going nearly the whole night. We could hear the waves crashing on the rocks below us both nights. The highlight for me was the heated ceramic tile (in the bathroom and even around the whirlpool) to keep your feet warm. The room was very clean and overall very nice. We utilized both restaurants on site for dine in as well as room delivery. We had a couples massage at Waves of Superior Spa. The front desk was very helpful in recommending a hiking trail and provided Yak Tracks, they would have provided snowshoes, but not enough snow. I was very surprised at all of the free rental equipment they offer, snowshoes, cross country skis, ice skates and more... We had a very positive experience and would recommend this place to our friends and family. We hope to be back ourselves!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BoatDrinks44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This was our second visit to Bluefin Bay and it was romantic and quiet- just what we were looking for. We stayed in a Superior One-bedroom condo with a wood burning fire place, a lakefront deck, a double jacuzzi...it was a fabulous. The outdoor hot tub and pool are my favorite, and the Bluefin Grille is a nice fine dining treat in the north woods. Plus on the weekends they have a outdoor fire where you can roast s'mores and enjoy the stars.

In the late fall and winter, it is quiet and relaxing, but I bet it's also a lot of fun with friends in the summer months.

Room Tip: The condos have it all. And it's worth the extra for fireplace, and lakefront porch or deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My wife and I just came back from here a few days ago, and even though we have been there before and it is a awesome place(one of the best on the north shore) we found out why they have the stay for 2 nights get one free deal.Nothing to do after two days there this time of year with no snow if your a snowmobiler or skier. The place itself is very nice for the area and the staff is very friendly but I would choose to cook your own food there or go somewhere else, if you have a kitchen since the resteruant is nothing special.All in all one of the better places on Lake superior to stay,just wait until summer!!

Room Tip: If you dont have a pet be sure to ask for a room that doesn't allow pets since half the rooms do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandySSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We had an excellent stay at Bluefin Bay! We were there over Labor Day weekend. Beautiful accommodations, scenery and weather. The Bluefin Grille was delicious and had wonderful service. The outdoor pool needs some updating but we didn't use it. We rented bikes, enjoyed the nightly bonfires, and explored the area cliffs. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkar323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
7.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
1.2 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
8.3 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
13.4 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior

Address: 7192 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range: $188 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior is unmatched in its intimate proximity to the largest freshwater lake in the world – Lake Superior. The stunning views, warm and friendly hospitality, award-winning restaurants, and a full-service resort with complimentary outdoor equipment and activities are the hallmarks of Bluefin Bay. Choose from hotel suites, or one, two or three bedroom condos on the lake. Our restaurants, the Bluefin Grille and Coho Café and Bakery also overlook the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluefin Bay On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte
Bluefin Bay Hotel
Bluefin Bay Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing