We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Gets 5 Thumbs Up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfside on Lake Superior
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We recently returned from 5 nights at this resort and I must say that I was not disappointed. My requirements were : very upscale, pet friendly, and high speed internet.

Our unit was right on Lake Superior. There were tons a beautiful windows, and the weather was perfect. This place was quiet and relaxing. The units are beautiful, and nicely furnished. We took our own food, and the kitchen was a bit small, still worked just fine.

We did go to use the bike trail which we were told was 80 miles long. Well, they are still working on it, so it is still in bits of pieces. If you are looking for long bike rides, this is not very convenient. Did it spoil our trip? No, but the location is not great for this type of activity.

It was a lovely place, and we would go back. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 119 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in June 2010 to attend a music workshop; my wife and I shared an entire condo with friends in my group, so we could circulate freely through all 3 floors. The accommodations are beautiful, very well designed in layout and well equipped, with an excellent view of Lake Superior 100 steps or so away. We thought the units very well designed, they are well furnished, bedlinens and towels luxurious, and there's a well equipped full kitchen (but no close large supermarket). The layout in our condo was an upstairs area with two queen beds and two decks (one overlooking the lake), and internal windows looking down into the living room (good blinds on them for nighttime). On the main floor there is a large master bedroom with a king bed and extra-large bath, full kitchen, good sized living room with huge windows looking out at the lake, and fireplace, and dining area, plus deck; downstairs a large bedroom with minibar, whirlpool, and its own bath; it is set up to be rented separately (has its own door). The view downstairs is a bit restricted because it sits low.

One caution: there are 3 condos per building (4 buildings at present, construction on additional units has apparently stopped midway), each with 3 floors. In the middle unit only the master bedroom has a view only of the parking lot and no deck; that is a consequence of the floorplan for these condos. The other 2 bedrooms and all 3 bedrooms in the 2 end units all have lakeview windows and/or lakeview decks. We indeed had that middle main floor bedroom, but weren't terribly bothered by it; some people might be.

The place was spotlessly kept, and seemed well maintained. They seem to have fixed the floor problem (see earlier reviews); my friends were aware of it, and neither they nor we heard any sounds from elsewhere in the unit, nor from adjacent units. It was VERY quiet, and our unit and an adjacent one were both full. One person complained about the gym, but it was properly equipped on our visit -- not abundantly but adequately (one each of a treadmill, eliptical, and partly broken cycle, plus weights and a bench press), and you have a great view of Lake Superior when you work out. The GitchiGammi bike trail runs past the property, and the condos are far enough off Route 61 that highway noise is not a problem. I did not use the spa, but did find the meeting rooms for our workshop of over 2-dozen people quite adequate, the staff friendly.

The location is excellent, with Temperance River State Park a mile away on the western boundary of Surfside, and several other state parks within an easy drive. Tofte is tiny and doesn't amount to much. If you're going out, the most common destination seems to be the large and upscale resort Bluefin Bay, a mile down the road, which owns Surfside and offers a free shuttle to use BB's facilities.

Overall, very, very comfortable (my wife loved it) and we'd gladly go back. A bit pricey, though.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SocEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Very beautiful place, we were lucky to have unbeliebable weather for this time of year, Only negative was the bed was too plush, which seems like a silly thing to say but when you are used too sleeping on a very firm mattress, plush is hard on back, but had a great time.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunfishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Surfside for our anniversary getaway and the weekend was perfect! We researched pretty much every resort on the North Shore before we ended up deciding on Surfside! It was exactly what we were looking for: affordable, yet updated and beautiful! We decided to go with Surfside because the rooms looked gorgeous and brand new! If we were going to spend the money, we wanted to make sure we ended up at a place worth while! :) We are so glad we did! We stayed in the 1 bedroom suite, I think they call it the Master Bedroom Suite. It was gorgeous!! We had an amazing view of the lake and could hear the water hitting the shore all night! Our room was spacious and like brand new! We loved the jacuzzi tub for 2 and the fireplace made the room so cozy! The large bed and the beautiful bathroom were perfect additions! We also loved the private entrance in and out of our room.

The resort its self was so quiet and peaceful! Since the resort is so new there isn't a restaurant yet, but we did make it over to the Bluefin Grill which was delicious. It was a perfect dinner to start our weekend! We didn't get a chance to use the pool or the hot tub, but they looked very nice and inviting! The Spa recently opened-they offer a variety of services! When we go back to Surfside, we will make sure and get a massage! :)

Beside relaxing in our room, we went to Grand Marais to spend the afternoon! Went to Sven and Ole's pizza and visited the cute shops! Only about a 30 min drive from the resort!

Overall, it was an amazing place to stay! Romantic and peaceful! If you want to stay somewhere with gorgeous views inside and out, my husband and I highly recommend Surfside!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bekbek4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

I travel frequently to the north shore for both pleasure and business, and have stayed at the new Surfside several times. We love the NEW, large townhomes right on the water, and the more modern look and feel.

Once we discovered these townhomes with impeccable attention to detail, we aren't sure we can stay anywhere else! There are more windows, balconies, and decks to view the gorgeous lake than any property at which we have stayed. We have watched the full moon rise over the lake, and during our last stay, the stars were so gorgeous at night we didn't want to go inside. It was so peaceful and calming.

The in-room amenities - including a furnished kitchen and dining room with enough chairs for our group - made it easy to eat in or entertain. On one trip, we had a birthday party with nearly 15 guests and it didn't feel crowded at all when we all hung out in the open living room and kitchen area and the decks. On another occassion, I turned the dining room into an office with a view! I didn't want to leave my office.

The fireplaces, comfortable beds with beautiful linens, and the jacuzzi are all added benefits that just melt your stress away. The gorgeous pool, spa and full fitness center - exceeded our expectations! I am not sure there is anything else like this on the shore.

We love Surfside and would recommend it to anyone - hands down. If you like style and attention to detail, you will love it too. Wish we could afford to buy!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ls6127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

It appears to be a beautiful new condo complex but if you live in units "B" (downstairs) be careful as you can hear everything above you--it is amazing how loud and noisy it is! And then when you try to get housekeeping to assist you it is nearly impossible. they promise a work out club---there is NOT one piece of equipment--none! The pool and whirlpool are nice and the Spa is good--but expensive. Simply be careful with this property as what appears to be a awesome place will surprise you with such poor workmanship. To buy a condo here would be a big step with such poor construction!!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HLICguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsideGM, Owner at Surfside on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2009

We were very disappointed that the sound proofing did not perform as designed by our architect. We employed Orfield Labs of Minneapolis, one of the nations top sound testing labs, to evaluate and disign a solution for this problem. We carried out the changes designed by Orfield in May of this yuer, using speciality materials provided by The Soundproofing Company of Minneapolis. We are overjoyed with the improvement! Prior to the modifications we were able to distinguish television sound from the room above at volume "15" on a 42" flat screen television. After improvements we could hear nothing at the top volume of "92". I apologize to the guests who stayed with us before we were able to solve this problem, and hope they give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

On the surface, Surfside is beautiful--great design, high quality interior and fantastic views. We were first impressed with the apparent privacy-but rudely awakened by the foot noise from the upstairs unit. When our room wasn't cleaned as requested, we opted for a different unit to see if the upstairs guests were just exceptionally noisy. The second room was noisy to the point of distraction. It really detracted from the beautiful views. For what it is worth, the upstairs guests were an elderly couple who seemed very polite and quiet when we met in the parking lot. Poor construction quality will be the downfall of this beautiful property. I was offered a discount on our "next" stay, which we politely declined.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PsychDrM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
1.2 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
8.5 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
14.6 mi away
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
9.4 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside on Lake Superior

Address: Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfside on Lake Superior 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Lutsen/Tofte area, just a three-and-a-half-hour drive from the Twin Cities. Surfside on Lake Superior™ is set against the backdrop of the Sawtooth Mountains, surrounded by Lake Superior and the magnificent Superior National Forest. Surfside combines all the comforts of a luxury vacation on the North Shore, with the rewards and benefits of owning a second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Surfside on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing