We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the waters edge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfside on Lake Superior
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
226 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Right on the waters edge”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed three nights here with a spring special that they offered. It was pure luxury to us. We stayed in the Master Suite which is on the lower level of the complex. You have to take a full flight of stairs down to get to the unit so it is definitely not handicap accessible. We faced the lake and stepping outside onto the patio there is a small incline to go down to the rocky shoreline. We were there when the wind was strong so the sound of the waves was always present and very soothing even though we had to keep the windows closed because it was cold. Our unit had a wonderful king bed that was very comfortable. The bathroom was large with a double head shower. There were plenty of towels which was good as you have to call for your room to be cleaned as they respect your privacy. The room was large with two rocking chairs and a very small table. It would have been nice to have some foot rests to use while reading or watching TV but we used our cooler for that. Also if you choose to eat in your room the little table is way to small to do that so you have to hold your plates on your lap. They do have a small kitchen area with a few dishes which was a nice feature only it was just hard to eat without a table. The TV was a flat screen and they have Direct TV service with plenty of channels. There is an air tub which we loved and used every day. It is much nicer than the average Jacuzzi in most rooms as the thing really bubbles up. There are plenty of windows that look over the lake. The gas fireplace was a welcome for us as it was very cold up there. Only problem is it goes off every hour and you have to go and turn it back on. The only concern I had was one day someone was cleaning the unit above us and it was very loud. We were fortunate that there were not many people there this weekend and no one above us. That would have been noisy with walking above our heads. The pool, spa and sauna were great. Perfect temperature on all of them.
We will go back but only during a non busy season. I think renting one of the larger units with a kitchen would be helpful as the restaurants are scarce and the ones there are expensive. But this is a beautiful setting that we truly enjoyed.

Room Tip: You can hear overhead walking so renting the larger units are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2gothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    16
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
41
54
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wow! This place was really something. I stayed here on a weekend trip away with my husband. We decided to pamper ourselves and just relax in our room after a day of skiing. The room was gorgeous! Everything looked practically brand-new. Even more gorgeous was the view- we woke up to the most beautiful sunrise over Lake Superior!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We choose Surfside because we had heard that their accommodations were the best on the North Shore. We had been here previously for a massage at the spa and could not wait to return. The rooms were well designed a extremely comfortable. The activities available through Bluefin Bay are challenging and entertaining. This was a great experience that we cannot wait to share with family and friends. The views of the lake, and the crashing waves on the shore are perfect compliment to this peaceful and romantic property. We will certainly return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TwincitiesAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our third time renting one of the Surfside Condos. The unit was clean, well organized and ideal for our multi-generations family. The few small issues we ran into were handled quickly and without hesitation. The kitchen is pretty well equipped, although we have learned to bring a number of items that are missing (blender). Great views of the lake. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandstrom_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed here a few times and have always enjoyed our stay. The place is beautiful with a woodsy charm and excellent views of lake superior. It is near hiking, skiing, and wonderful restaurants.

Room Tip: The only issue I have read is that the master suite is a the bottom of a two bedroom complex. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVETHEBEACHES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We statuses here for three nights for a wedding. We had a two room two flooe townhouse. The place is righ on the water. We had the doors open to hear the waves hitting the beach all day and night. The beds were comfy and everything was clean and nice. The pool hot tub sauna and work out room were never busy. We had it to ourselves. They have. Shuttle service to their sister resort which has a bar And place to eat. Your stay includes bike rentals Nd s'mores by the out door fire pit. This is a great place for families or groups of friends. Get your groceries in Duluth As the store close is super expenssive. If my parents or friends lived closer we would go again but its a five hour drive. It u like to hike ski or winter stuff u will like it. Super quite and really in the middle of no where but lots of our door activities.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We just love this place. We've been reluctant to write a review because we didn't want to share our secret. Obviously, we're not alone. We just completed our fifth visit, and we already have the sixth one booked. There are no finer views of Lake Superior. The architecture is superb - all purposefully designed to feature the "star of the show". We stayed three nights, and the hardest part is leaving. There are views of the lake from almost every window. We take our dog, and it's so great that there are pet units. It's all wonderful, and worth the money. The spa is great too. We highly recommend it!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank usable_stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
4.5 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
3.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
2.8 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
23.7 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
269 reviews
5.4 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside on Lake Superior

Property: Surfside on Lake Superior
Address: Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfside on Lake Superior 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Lutsen/Tofte area, just a three-and-a-half-hour drive from the Twin Cities. Surfside on Lake Superior™ is set against the backdrop of the Sawtooth Mountains, surrounded by Lake Superior and the magnificent Superior National Forest. Surfside combines all the comforts of a luxury vacation on the North Shore, with the rewards and benefits of owning a second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Surfside on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing