We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance by the Lakeshore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surfside on Lake Superior
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We choose Surfside because we had heard that their accommodations were the best on the North Shore. We had been here previously for a massage at the spa and could not wait to return. The rooms were well designed a extremely comfortable. The activities available through Bluefin Bay are challenging and entertaining. This was a great experience that we cannot wait to share with family and friends. The views of the lake, and the crashing waves on the shore are perfect compliment to this peaceful and romantic property. We will certainly return.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TwincitiesAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Surfside on Lake Superior
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 117 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our third time renting one of the Surfside Condos. The unit was clean, well organized and ideal for our multi-generations family. The few small issues we ran into were handled quickly and without hesitation. The kitchen is pretty well equipped, although we have learned to bring a number of items that are missing (blender). Great views of the lake. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandstrom_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed here a few times and have always enjoyed our stay. The place is beautiful with a woodsy charm and excellent views of lake superior. It is near hiking, skiing, and wonderful restaurants.

Room Tip: The only issue I have read is that the master suite is a the bottom of a two bedroom complex. We did...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOVETHEBEACHES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We statuses here for three nights for a wedding. We had a two room two flooe townhouse. The place is righ on the water. We had the doors open to hear the waves hitting the beach all day and night. The beds were comfy and everything was clean and nice. The pool hot tub sauna and work out room were never busy. We had it to ourselves. They have. Shuttle service to their sister resort which has a bar And place to eat. Your stay includes bike rentals Nd s'mores by the out door fire pit. This is a great place for families or groups of friends. Get your groceries in Duluth As the store close is super expenssive. If my parents or friends lived closer we would go again but its a five hour drive. It u like to hike ski or winter stuff u will like it. Super quite and really in the middle of no where but lots of our door activities.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We just love this place. We've been reluctant to write a review because we didn't want to share our secret. Obviously, we're not alone. We just completed our fifth visit, and we already have the sixth one booked. There are no finer views of Lake Superior. The architecture is superb - all purposefully designed to feature the "star of the show". We stayed three nights, and the hardest part is leaving. There are views of the lake from almost every window. We take our dog, and it's so great that there are pet units. It's all wonderful, and worth the money. The spa is great too. We highly recommend it!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank usable_stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My family stayed at a three bedroom suite and loved it. There was enough space for all of us and we had great service. We went hiking on Eagle Mountain, cliff jumped at the Temperance River, ate at a restaurant at Lutsen Resort, visited Grand Marais, and enjoyed the bonfire at the resort. You can look out the window with a beautiful view overlooking Lake Superior. The resort wasn't crowded with people and we had the pool and hot tub to ourselves. I would go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our family of six stayed here at the end of August. We rented the three bedroom townhome. The facility was huge, plenty of room for everyone to spread out and relax. We liked having the lower level unit all to ourselves. The setting is very peaceful and if you are not refreshed and relaxed when you leave, that is your fault. Plenty of hiking trails in the area, Lutsen is only 10 to 15 minutes away. Gas station nearby has some limited groceries. If you plan on hiking, bring your own backpack. As although they say they have them available, the resort really does not have any.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ativan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
3.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
4.5 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
23.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
279 reviews
5.4 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside on Lake Superior

Address: Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfside on Lake Superior 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Lutsen/Tofte area, just a three-and-a-half-hour drive from the Twin Cities. Surfside on Lake Superior™ is set against the backdrop of the Sawtooth Mountains, surrounded by Lake Superior and the magnificent Superior National Forest. Surfside combines all the comforts of a luxury vacation on the North Shore, with the rewards and benefits of owning a second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Surfside on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing