We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Root Beer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drive-in

Drive-in
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Root Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

the food is great and staff wear poodle skirts. it is the old style drive in were they serve you in your car.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank KC9NVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chisago City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, prices are higher that expected for drive-in. Excellent home-made root beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Always good food and ice-cream, but I don't go often because of the price. Same owners opened another location in Grantsburg, WI.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Burgers and Fries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

What more can you want from a nice fall afternoon than a burger and fries? This little drive-in serves at picnic tables or you can get the food delivered to your car. It feels like you're sitting in a scene from American Graffiti or Porky's. The fries were crispy and absolutely awesome. The burger was as expected.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank H533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Symrna TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I luv this place. Best Burger, French Fry, and Cherry Coke! I was highly disappointed when I learned it was seasonal. One of the reasons I am looking forward to spring!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fun; delivers as advertised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

It is what it's supposed to be, a drive-in restaurant of a style from a half-century ago. The menu is expanded from classic burgers and fries to even include a few that can pretend to be healthy, like chicken sandwiches and carrots-- so you should be able to find something for all but the most picky.

Lots of picnic-table seating and an adjacent mini-golf course, which was fun too. We were pestered a bit by bees/hornets/wasps (I don't know which) after our drinks, but not much one can do about annoying flying bugs when eating outdoors.

Service was a little sluggish, but they were busy, which I expect is the norm on weekends.

Taste-wise, our sandwiches were somewhere between fast-food bland and sit-down yummy. Similarly, the price was between fast-food cheap and sit-down spendy. Expect to pay about $10/person. Credit cards accepted.

The root beer was quite good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drive-in also viewed

 

Been to Drive-in? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing