We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burgers and Fries!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drive-in

Drive-in
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Burgers and Fries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

What more can you want from a nice fall afternoon than a burger and fries? This little drive-in serves at picnic tables or you can get the food delivered to your car. It feels like you're sitting in a scene from American Graffiti or Porky's. The fries were crispy and absolutely awesome. The burger was as expected.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank H533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Symrna TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I luv this place. Best Burger, French Fry, and Cherry Coke! I was highly disappointed when I learned it was seasonal. One of the reasons I am looking forward to spring!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fun; delivers as advertised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

It is what it's supposed to be, a drive-in restaurant of a style from a half-century ago. The menu is expanded from classic burgers and fries to even include a few that can pretend to be healthy, like chicken sandwiches and carrots-- so you should be able to find something for all but the most picky.

Lots of picnic-table seating and an adjacent mini-golf course, which was fun too. We were pestered a bit by bees/hornets/wasps (I don't know which) after our drinks, but not much one can do about annoying flying bugs when eating outdoors.

Service was a little sluggish, but they were busy, which I expect is the norm on weekends.

Taste-wise, our sandwiches were somewhere between fast-food bland and sit-down yummy. Similarly, the price was between fast-food cheap and sit-down spendy. Expect to pay about $10/person. Credit cards accepted.

The root beer was quite good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good value. Good drive-in food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Fresh burger buns. Delicious "home-made" root beer. Mediocre crumb-crusted onion rings (I prefer beer batter.) Firm and sour pickles. Crinkle school-lunch french fries. Right next to a well-maintained putt-putt golf place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun concept, poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you wish to have the experience of the old-time drive in, you will find it here. However, the best way to enjoy the outing is to have a root beer float and soak in the atmosphere.
The food is not good and is very overpriced. We had hamburgers and fries - a basket. The hamburger was dry. It tasted like it had been reheated. They charge extra for onions- even on a California burger that has veggies on it! I don't think I have ever been to a restaurant that charges extra for onions- especially when the burger is already priced over $6. The billboard advertises "mega fries" with the basket. I would call it more like a small handful. Too much money for the value. Get a root beer- get your hamburger else where. I doubt if many repeat customers- mostly a tourist trap.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jackminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drive-in also viewed

 

Been to Drive-in? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing