We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Border Bar and Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Border Bar and Grill
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Otsego, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We weren't very impressed with the food at this restaurant. Could spend less and get a better burger elsewhere. Service was slow. The bathroom was gross. It was nice to be able to sit outside and enjoy some nice weather, but other than that, I don't have much to say.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luck, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Horrible service, food, and experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were served the "Garbage Can" of various fried foods, all of which were horribly over-cooked. We couldn't even tell what some of the items in the basket were. We ordered 4 meals and the food took forever to come out. Two of our meals came out first, then a 3rd meal about 10 minutes later (which had to go back since it was prepared incorrectly)...and when they asked if we needed anything else, we reminded them that we had a 4th meal that we were still waiting on. They'd forgotten about it, so that took another 10 minutes to come out. Both of the 1st two meals were finished before the 3rd and 4th meals were finally delivered. When the bartender came to tally up our total, she tried charging us again for drinks we'd already paid for at the bar. When we left the money on the table and started heading towards the door, the bartender called out across the bar "You have to pay for that!!!" How dare she assume that we'd "dine and ditch" even though we probably should have. How RUDE after that whole experience! Will definitely never go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, MN
Level Contributor
111 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

If a very jittery bartender/cook is your type of thing, than this is your place. I'm thinking our help had not slept in a few days but he could still serve you up a cold beer and a dry burger. I remember this place being "the" place to be a few years back. Must have seen a change in ownership or management. Still worth a stop for a cold one, to bad you can't smoke in there anymore, those were the good ol days!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MerlynDalamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't order food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We went as a larger group, grill could not handle the order. Very slow, items missed, not all food cooked to hot, and meals arrived a few at a time 45 mins to 1 hour after we ordered.

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bad review”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Beware! We called ahead for reservations since we had a party of nine. Despite telling us they had table for nine, they did not.Waited almost and hour for our food. Three attempts at coffee finally resulted in no coffee. They forgot one food order all together. No apologies, and we were overcharged on our bill.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Border Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing