We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sal's Angus Grill

Sal's Angus Grill
Ranked #32 of 92 Restaurants in Stillwater
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
147 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This restaurant is actually north of Stillwater in the town of WIthrow and luckily our friends took us here while we were visiting in the area. We enjoyed the lodge type atmosphere, menu selections and attentive service.

Their specialty is steaks, but we also tried pork medallions and the spaghetti. They have some yummy green beans and great fully loaded potatoes. We had a pleasant evening of conversation and food at this "homey" restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
274 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“NICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very nice place. The atmosphere is casual and the food is good. Great place to just hang out and take the edge off. Good for couples or to get together with a group. You'll feel welcome and want to come back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinnTraveler3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesnowta
Level Contributor
180 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“My Gal Sal Picks A Winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Good friends invited us to one of their very favorite mainstay restaurants and we were pretty excited, knowing what excellent cooks they themselves are. We were not disappointed. We both went for the Monday night special of filet medallions and were delighted ($12.95). One friend ordered spaghetti with meatballs which came loaded with shredded parmesan. The other got a large burger accompanied by excellent sweet potato fries. Our green beans were different and delicious, and the gargantuan baked potato was a meal in itself. Service was friendly, prompt and attentive. Its a pretty sure sign a place is good when you can see the server's pride and joy in their demeanor. The menu options were more than adequate and the prices were more than reasonable. Sal's is located in teensy Withrow, a burg north of Stillwater proper. We enjoyed the rural area and Sal's rustic charm, including the split log décor, stone fireplace and the casual atmosphere. Business was brisk and the overall experience was pleasing. I am looking forward to a return visit to this out of the way spot soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minnesnowtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul ,MN
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing-4th visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Tried Sal's again yesterday, turkey /mashed potatoes was hot ( previous visits not so, food has been served cold ) .Green beans were soaked in mustard, missing the sprinkling of black sesame seeds. My Mom order fried chicken dinner....1st time ordering. Waitress indicated 1/2 of a chicken , mixed dark/white meat. It was only a mixture of 2 legs & 2 thighs, severely overcooked , it look like it was left over from lunch & reheated. I saw the one of cooks, walking around the bar several times, he had gloves on , so wondering if he changed his gloves when he went back into the kitchen ? > doubtful. I called & left message for manager to let him know about our experience, waiting to hear back....
Plus the music is too loud in the dining area, won't be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No great, but a tasty lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We met some friends here in Feb for lunch. We live close, but hadn't been here for a very long time, as the last time the food just wasn't very good. Since it had been so long, we agreed to try again. We're glad we did. I wouldn't say that it's gormet food, by any stretch of the imagination, but my Italian Chicken Bruchetta was very tasty. The large portion of chicken was moist, and the sauce, while certainly not made fresh, was pretty good. The "bruchetta" under the whole thing was pretty soggy, but it really wasn't a necessary component. The thing I really liked was that I had the option of substituting fruit instead of fries or other starch...the bread was quite enough starch for a meal. My husband had the chicken wild rice soup which was very thick and heavy. He said it was very tasty also. There were no other diners here for lunch, so at first we thought that might be a bad sign. As it turned out, we found it a nice surprise, and will go back again for dinner sometime.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveThatMouseHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Angus Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sal's Angus Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing