We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joseph's Restaurant

Joseph's Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 91 Restaurants in Stillwater
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A great restaurant with super food and service and now we added a bar. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Healthy options are available and the best pie in the Twin Cities.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Joseph's is a nice place for breakfast. The servers are very nice and know many of the patrons by name. Wonderful family restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, Owner at Joseph's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for taking a minute and writing a review of your visit to Josephs. We try very hard to be the best restaurant in Stillwater. Your review tells us what we are good at and what we can do better. Thanks again for your help and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    11
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Plain food but good pies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Joseph's has the general American fare of food.
Descent size portions but slightly greasy.
Don't care for the fries here.
Very good selection of pies!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 757200traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, Owner at Joseph's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review on Josephs Family Restaurant. We care about our customers and we appreciate your comments. We will continue to work hard to provide great family food at a reasonable price for your enjoyment. Thanks again for your review. Joe K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Joseph's a Family Restaurant Staple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family loves Joseph's. True, it is not fine dining but they don't pretend to be. What we love about Joseph's is that you can get in and out without a hassle. The food is tasty and the pie is delicous.

On our last visit my children had the Coconut Chicken Tenders. Wow! We'd never ordered them before and they looked so good that I had to swipe a bite. Delicious! I would definitely be interested in ordering that in the future. I had the Vegetable Beef Soup because I wasn't that hungry. It was tasty but a little salty. I remedied the saltiness by adding a little water and it was fine.

We've had their burgers frequently and have never been disappointed. They're very good.

We like to share a piece of pie when we eat at Joseph's. My favorite of late is the new Peanut Butter Pie they've got on the menu. I can't remember the exact name but it is unbelieveably good. Very rich. Yum!

I love Joseph's for what it is: A nice family restaurant that gives good service and good value for an unpretentious meal... And they just happen to have out of this world pie!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1_Can_Do_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Walmart Crowd”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great place to check out Walmart shoppers. Food is below average. Service is average. Atmosphere sucks. Pretty good breakfast everything is average at best.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adventurerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park Heights
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Joseph's, good food, and the best pies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Joseph's is properly called a family restaurant. No alcohol, friendly to children. Excellent breakfast, pancakes and waffles with whatever trimmings and side dishes, Really a simple place. No fancy steaks, but good meatloaf. No prime rib, but great fried chicken, A truck stop? No. People of every walk of life eat here. Why? The pie. They serve absolutely the best pies in the St Croix River Valley area. And not just your common fruit pies and the usual cream this or that pie.Every year they hold a pie contest. Many creations are submitted. An independent panel chooses the winner. It will be on the menu for the next year, or even forever. Any day you have your choice of at least 20 or more pies. For Thanksgiving you better get your order in early. I believe they bake only 1000 pies for pick up! So the problem is picking a lunch or dinner that will leave you with enough room in your tummy for pie, or outstanding cake. Of course you can always share. We go there once a week if possible, for a great simple meal, and you can guess what for dessert!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Skye V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Joseph's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing