We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Spiced up dining in Stillsville -” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nacho Mamas

Nacho Mamas
Ranked #11 of 91 Restaurants in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Marine on Saint Croix, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spiced up dining in Stillsville -”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lorie and I decided to visit (for the 3rd or 4th time) Nacho Mamas on a Monday night and were pleased with the service and food quality. We are engaged and curious diners, so we like to know what we're eating. We were discussing the excellent, chili rellenos - I mentioned that the poblano peppers were a welcome flavor but that the peppers seemed really hot. I asked the waitress if the stuffed peppers were pablano peppers (one or two other varieties are sometimes substituted). She said that they were relleno peppers (relleno means "stuffed" or "filling"). I suggested relleno peppers might not exist. The waitress said she would ask the kitchen staff. She returned and said, "they are relleno peppers." They are not. They are pablanos and the staff should really know what it is they are serving... Our appetizer choice was the lettuce taco plate. This plate would make a nice, light lunch or "bar-snack" - the chicken and beef on the taco plate were excellent. We garnished with the green peppers, tomato and sweet sauce - it made a excellent, fresh-tasting starter. I was not as impressed with the shrimp on the taco plate - but, they came a long way and seemed tired. Lorie had a chicken chimichanga and she enjoyed it. She liked the spice balance. I ordered the chili relleno even though it is on the high end of the "heat" scale for my taste - the variety of flavors and textures over-ride any anxiety of impending heartburn. Both dishes were immense and either would have easily fed us both. However, there's nothing wrong with Nacho Mamas left-overs. I just enjoyed some for lunch and will "sweat-it-out" again later today.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    78
    20
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a great find in little ol’ Stillwater. From the main street, this restaurant appears as a nondescript doorway, but inside is a quirkily decorated cantina and --- surprise! --- there is also a very cute little outdoor balcony with a fountain.

The food was X and the portion sizes super-generous. I was also really pleased with the service --- small touches like the waitstaff offering to mix me a customized mocktail with my favorite flavors.

I’m so pleased we found this hidden gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manasicaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor service--no service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Tried to eat at Nacho Mama Stillwater today. Went inside and had to find a hostess and ask if we could be seated. She asked us to dine outside. Ok sounds like a good idea on a nice evening. Went around back and again-- no hostess or waitress to seat us. We seat ourselves. Another couple came after us, was seated and handed menus by a waitress. We had to ask the waitress for menus. Then after several minutes the waitress reappeared, brought drinks to another table then went to the table that was seated after us and took their order. We politely waited believing to be next. Wrong. She never made eye contact, never acknowledged us, never spoke to us. She walked away after taking the other table's order. We then just left. Poor service. Will never be back. Do not try to dine there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at this quaint little place to eat lunch and was blown away by the food.. The drinks were right on and the prices are very reasonable for what you get... We ordered the fried tacos and the queso. The queso was amazing..big chunks of meat, bean, jalapeños (you get the point).. The taste is a mix between mexican and carribean...our server rock and rolled. We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Summernuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Get em in, get em out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

After waiting for 15 minutes to be greeted, (plenty of staff walked by us in the front, but nobody bothered to stop and say "someone will be right with you", they all just walked by like you were not their problem) were finally seated on patio, yes they were busy but patio was filthy, we were served our drinks and chips, we ordered, not expecting to get our food in the next 5 minutes, we like speedy service but felt like a production line, food was not hot, usually plates are heated, not so here, average food. Took us longer to find parking than it did to try to sit and enjoy a drink and dinner, it was obvious they were were rushing people through to turn tables. Won't waste the time to go back, too many other choices

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank St_Paul_MNBluesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nacho Mamas also viewed

 

Been to Nacho Mamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing