We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nacho Mamas

Nacho Mamas
Ranked #10 of 91 Restaurants in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

A co-worker told me about this place and I never thought about it when in Stillwater. Yesterday my niece and I went there and didn't want to leave!! It is like walking into little restaurant in Mexico (if you can't afford the actual trip, then eat here). The portions were beautifully presented and large. I do not normally take pictures on my food, but my quesadilla was too pretty not to. The waitress Brenda is fantastic and I can't wait to bring my friends back there.. one at a time of course!! I

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    86
    21
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hugo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

we ate here a while back, and vowed never to return. Crowded, loud, and very mediocre food. There are much better choices for good mexican food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveThatMouseHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small place, large food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

You have to keep your eyes open for this small place on the west side of Main St in Stillwater. You can always walk off the food while shopping.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great authentic food with nice cozy atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have been here many times and are never disappointed. The only down side is that it is quite small and so if the town is busy you can plan on a wait.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, sad food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I first have to say that the service at Nacho Mamas was excellent. The server was very friendly and the food came in a timely fashion. The food however, was not up to par. Anything other than the appetizer quesadilla is not worth having. I was served meatballs wrapped in bacon floating in what was called lobster sauce. Basically, just brown food with a lot of spice. I also had the shrimp wrap, which was basically shrimp that had been boiled and bland chicken wrapped up with a bunch of lettuce in a tomato tortilla.

The bill for five appetizers and two cocktails was $85. A bit steep for the quality of food.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nacho Mamas also viewed

 

Been to Nacho Mamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing