We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic weekend getaway ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
William Sauntry Mansion
Ranked #5 of 8 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Sandy and Tom have done an excellent job with this Stillwater B&B. Very warm and welcoming. Beautiful home with an amazing music room, complete with cello and player piano. At check-in, we were welcomed with our room key, wine and appetizers. We stayed in the Madam La Fuegy room, which has a very comfortable king size bed, gas fireplace and the most amazing bathroom ever - giant soaking whirlpool tub and a Swedish shower equipped with eucalyptus steam. It is impossible not to be relaxed here. Treat yourself to a massage by Cindy and/or Donna and request to have Sandy and Tom's delicious breakfast delivered to your room in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Velvetjeww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 277 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2011

Thank you to our hosts for the wonderful accommodations in November 2010. My man had been away for a month training with the military and we were looking for a romantic getaway for when he returned. The mansion was perfect! Walking through the door felt like stepping into a past only known by the elites of society. Every last detail was beautiful and we were very impressed by the hospitality we received.

Being we were one of the first to arrive, we were able to explore the various rooms of the mansion. Every room was finished with immaculate details that boasted authentic elegance from the woodwork of the fireplaces, to the classical music played on the stereo systems, which are present in every room.

We very much enjoyed our stay in the Joseph room. Outside the snow was falling, but our room was inviting, comfortable and cozy! The Joseph has both a jacuzzi and a steam shower. If you have never before experienced a steam shower, I recommend it.

In the morning we gathered with the other guests in the formal dining room and were served an exceptional homemade breakfast! I have never tasted anything so delicious as the maple pecan scones (with the orange marmalade jelly).

When one stays at the Sauntry Mansion, they are not deprived of any detail of comfort. I was impressed to find that even the apple cider served at the afternoon wine and cheese reception had been prepared with some special recipe. This is a bed and breakfast that I strongly recommend to those looking for a romantic, Victorian get away close to the Twin Cities. It is evident in so many ways that the hosts care for their guests. Their care and hospitality was the icing on the cake for our stay at the Sauntry Mansion.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llvink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We live here in Stillwater and feel this one of the best B an Bs in town. The house is very old, historic, impecably maintained, and restored. Everything was clean. Much of the house, floors, and fireplace surrounds are original as is the fabulous dining room table. The reservation process went well and they even honored a gift certificate that had expired 3 years ago! The amenities in the room were wonderful and even having no TV in the room was a plus. We relaxed and listened to music which we seldom, if ever, do. The breakfast was wonderful --eaten to the background of a player paino from 1903. During the breakfast the innkeepers were conversant but not to the point that we did not have time to chat with the other guests. Tom and Sandy are doing a great job with the house and the B and B operation. The Sauntry Mansion is a Stillwater treasure that has been restored and maintianed thanks to the 2 B and B owners since it openned in 1990. We highly recommend The Sauntry as the quintesential B and B. It it everything I ever thought a B and B should be.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We had a great two night getaway. Stayed in the Beltram room which was perfect for us. It has a great whirlpool set in a bay window. We appreciated the wi-fi and watched a couple movies on our laptop. Tom was accomodating and brought breakfast to our room each morning. We were able getaway completely and enjoy each other's company to the fullest. Breakfast was very good, plentiful and delcious!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandLBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband and I just stayed at the William Sauntry Mansion it was an awesome experience! We checked in then went to dine at a local restaurant and came back to our room. It was so elegant, the king-sized bed was very comfy, the double whirlppol was just what we needed and the breakfast the next day was delicious! The owners of the B&B really go out of their way to make you feel welcomed, we have stayed there before and we would stay again. I highly recommend this B&B nestled in the historic town of Stillwater, the birthplace of MInnesota.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Sauntry and loved every minute. The room we stayed in was as charming as could be, the breakfast was wonderful, and the owners (Tom & Sandy) were very gracious. It felt like home.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bentg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed at the Sauntry for 1 night as part of a short getaway. It was pretty easy to find, and it kind of stands out from the other houses around it. We stayed in the Butler's cottage Suite which was very nice. We arrived, checked in, dropped our stuff off in the room and went back to the main house for the wine/cheese reception. The wine/cheese reception was nice, 2 choices of wine a few cheese, crackers and meats, and a few other appetizers. It gave us a chance to talk to a few of the other guests, and look at some of the decorations in the main part of the house. The decor of the house itself is amazing, and well kept up. It has almost all original woodwork in the floors, built ins, fireplaces, etc.
The butler's cottage, while attached to the house, is pretty separated from than the other rooms. It is actually bigger than we expected from the photos on the website. The room was clean, well organized and comfortable. We had privacy and quiet.
The room does have 2 sinks which isn't obvious from the pictures, the 2nd sink is around the corner from the hot tub. This is a nice feature, since it has a small nook, with a sink, mirror and counter, perfect for a lady to get ready in the morning. The hot tub was nice, and the small table worked great for breakfast.

Breakfast was good, the biscuits were great and desert was great. Sandy was a great hostess and was very friendly and engaging.

A few minor things, while I thought the bed was fine, my wife found it too firm, but not to the point where she couldn't sleep. The bathroom itself was a bit small, but a fair tradeoff for having so much space in the rest of the room. Lastly, the only control for the heat is the gas fireplace, which made it a bit difficult to get the right temperature, but I think part of the problem is the time of year. In the fall here the temperature can change so much during the night its hard to decide if its too hot or too cold.

Overall we loved this place and we would stay there again if we had the chance.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachVsActivites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stillwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
352 reviews
2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Stillwater
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Staples Inn
Aurora Staples Inn
#1 of 8 in Stillwater
407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rivertown Inn
Rivertown Inn
#4 of 8 in Stillwater
218 reviews
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Sauntry Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Sauntry Mansion

Address: 626 4th St N, Stillwater, MN 55082-4827
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: $109 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fanciest and most authentic inn in Stillwater. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
William Sauntry Mansion Hotel Stillwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing