We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food, warm hosts, in a Victorian marvel with walking suggestion”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
William Sauntry Mansion
Ranked #5 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Sandy and Tom make you feel right at home. They know Stillwater and dispense solid advise on places to eat or shop. Then again you may want to stay put in one of the reading rooms or just take in the craftsmanship that surrounds you. For lovers of hand carved woodwork, this alone is worth a stay. Have had dozens of B&B breakfasts but these are the best- period. To those who walk( and want the iconic Stillwater photos) go over to Pioneer Park- overlook downtown & the bridge , walk down the stairs behind the band stand, go along the river to the end of Lowell Park, walk up the Main Street stairs ( overlook downtown again). Return via Main Street stairs - or Chilikoot Hill. See the Carniege Library for the 1902 style and the new terrace view. Return to The Sauntry and relax in style.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 275 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was my first stay at a B&B and I was beyond impressed....the owners were very friendly and conversed with us at breakfast, close to downtown, was very comfortable there, breakfast was wonderful !!! Awesome place to stay !! Will hopefully return again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anggirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Took my girlfriend for her first B&B experience. Nice place. Bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was a great start to the day. My girlfriend loved her first stay at a B&B. And they are close to the downtown area. Thanks for a great weekend.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The home is stunning, and the service was perfect! We had breakfast delivered to our room, and that privacy was lovely (also the best scones I've ever had). The room was cozy and the steam shower delightful. Not walking distance to town, but a short drive. The drink and snack reception in the evening was a great touch. A little on the pricey side for the area, but worth it for the overall experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellyBird80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I are frequent visitors of Stillwater. We come to Stillwater a few times a year. We have visited every bed and breakfast in Stillwater and William Sauntry is by far our favorite. We love the location, close to downtown, yet quiet. We love the innkeepers who are very welcoming and ready to answer any questions we have. Tom and Sandy have a way of being present, but also giving us privacy. The breakfasts are delicious, the beds are so comfortable and the inn is really quite stunning. The mansion has the story about the original owners that is also very interesting (alot of history) William Sauntry is our home away from home and we look forward to each visit. It is our time to really relax and unwind. It is hard to leave. Our plan is to someday retire in Stillwater and then we won't have to say goodbye anymore. Until that happens, we are so very thankful that there is William Sauntry to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane and John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a fantastic time; we especially enjoyed the breakfasts. We stayed in the Butler room, which gave us the option of having breakfast in our room. It was our 40th wedding anniversary, and we were making the most of it. The house is beautiful, and very well kept. It was also very peaceful and quiet. We are looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We loved staying in the Butler room, but all the rooms are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mschultz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We found the Inn sumptuous in its 1800's style. It's a real step back into history and decor. Our hosts were welcoming and more than friendly. A wine and cheese hour in the later afternoon allowed us to meet some of our fellow "Inn-mates" and was a relaxing intro to the property. Breakfast was fabulous!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stillwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
349 reviews
2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
0.5 mi away
Rivertown Inn
Rivertown Inn
#4 of 9 in Stillwater
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Stillwater
131 reviews
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
2 mi away
Asteria Inn & Suites
Asteria Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Sauntry Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Sauntry Mansion

Address: 626 4th St N, Stillwater, MN 55082-4827
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: $109 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fanciest and most authentic inn in Stillwater. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
William Sauntry Mansion Hotel Stillwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing