We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Mini-Vactation Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of William Sauntry Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
William Sauntry Mansion
Save
You added William Sauntry Mansion to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect Mini-Vactation Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at the Sauntry Mansion for a mini vacation. We were lucky to find a room due to a cancellation. The house is beautiful, and immaculately maintained. The decor is classy and sophisticated, down to the finest detail. Wine, beer, cheese, crackers, and snacks were served in the evening. We enjoyed perusing the coffee table books, and basket of menus for local restaurants. Our room was elegant, comfortable, and I can't say enough about the double sunken jacuzzi in the Ellen room! Breakfast on the lovely wrap-around porch was the perfect way to wrap up our stay. The food was delicious, and not overwhelming in portion. The location feels secluded, but is a quick walk or drive to town where there are many great restaurants and shops to visit. Tom and Sandy were gracious, friendly hosts. We hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    7
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
189
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My hubby and i had heard of the B&B from a friend and thought a trip to Stillwater would be great for a holiday weekend. We were greeted warmly and my request for gluten free food was honored from the happy snacks all the way through breakfast. Very relaxing to sit out on the porch in a quiet neighborhood and just relax. We were in close proximity to downtown so were able to walk and explore. The home is beautiful, beds comfortable and the hosts are friendly and accomodating. We have not had many B&B experiences but this was great.

Room Tip: On the website is a good description of the 6 rooms. Some are more elaborate than others but are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Absolutely beautiful home extremely well cared for, beautiful inside and out. Excellent service, very comfortable and relaxing. We loved the snacks and wine on arrival and awesome breakfast on the front porch! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveV21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onamia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I were given a stay at the William Sauntry Mansion as an anniversary gift from our children. Upon our arrival the owner, though he acknowledged that we did have reservations, could not find the initial information obtained from our boys and became very rude and gave me the distinct impression he thought I was lying. (He did find the information.) Later he implied I was lying again when I referenced a conversation I had had with a pleasant woman on the phone when I had made our initial reservation. His wife then confirmed that I HAD spoken with a different woman as they were gone on that date. Although we found the Mansion to be tastefully done and staying in places like that is "right up our alley" we will NEVER go there again because of the owner's rudeness and attitude. He was not hospitable at all, nor welcoming and as I previously stated, we found him extremely rude. The welcoming wine reception was very minimal.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Butler Suite which was nice. However, it was not any nicer than other B&Bs we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauntry, Owner at William Sauntry Mansion, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Even in a small Inn like the Sauntry, over the course of a year, we will have over 20,000 guest contacts (phone calls, emails, letters). While I'd love to be able to recall them all, its just not possible. There was certainly confusion regarding the reviewers stay, but the reviewer also fails to mention some key facts which contributed to the confusion. First off, when the reservation was made, we were told there was a gift certificate. In fact there wasn't one as we were to bill directly the son's credit card. Next, the reviewer doesn't mention that the reservation was a cancel and rebook. When we asked the date of the original reservation we were told (and looked in the month of May) the wrong date.

We would love to handle all reservations professionally and efficiently. But our guests have to help us by providing correct, accurate information.

As far as the wine reception, we provide red wine, white wine, locally brewed beer and a non alcohol alternative at no charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

For those of you that think you have stayed at some of the best B & B's in the country you will have to give this one a look! My wife and I vacation 3 to 4 times a year at various places across the country and usually are hard to impress when it comes to accommodations. The Sauntry Mansion in Stillwater MN was not only great but exceptional in so many ways. The owners Tom and Sandy were very helpful when asked about various activities along the water front and restaurants that fit our taste. The mansion rooms were very clean, comfortable, and it seemed they had a type of room that would fit most all peoples needs. We stayed with a group of 6 other friends; who when the stay was over all agreed this was a place to definitely come back too. If you have an interest in early 1900 period architecture this place has a very interesting background. As far as the overall way this place was run; from the excellent food to the accommodation's and hospitality, many B&B's could use this place as a template. Thank you so much Tom and Sandy for making our entire group feel so welcome! If you wish to check it out go to this web address. http://www.sauntrymansion.com/ Warmest Regards Mark and Elaine D.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 475Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were visiting Stillwater from Portland, OR. What a surprise we found at the Sauntry Mansion! There was an incredible atmosphere, the home itself is beautiful and each room is so unique. The hospitality...amazing Innkeepers- they are SO much more than just innkeepers, they are great hosts and make the experience that much greater. It was so relaxing sitting on the beautiful veranda overlooking the garden while sipping great coffee and waiting for a gourmet breakfast. Each morning had us impressed with the food! The evenings were relaxing with a nice selection of beer and wine and snacks that complimented. We had never stayed at a B&B before, and this experience sets the bar high! The hosts pointed us in the right direction for where to eat and how to enjoy the beautiful town of Stillwater. We would highly recommend this place and hope to come back again.

Room Tip: You can look online to get a good idea of what room you want to stay in. The descriptions there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited Stillwater on our way to the Twin Cities. We hadn't planned on staying overnight but really liked the town and one day wasn't enough time. While talking to the owner of another B & B we were told of a cancellation for the night at the Sauntry Mansion. What a treat! The buffet was perfect - we sat on the porch and visited with other guests. The next morning breakfast on the porch was fabulous- ending with home made ice cream! The owners recommended the trolley tour downtown, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
2.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
7.7 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 9 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
8.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Sauntry Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Sauntry Mansion

Property: William Sauntry Mansion
Address: 626 4th St N, Stillwater, MN 55082-4827
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fanciest and most authentic inn in Stillwater. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
William Sauntry Mansion Hotel Stillwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing