We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and relaxing New Years!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of William Sauntry Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
William Sauntry Mansion
Ranked #3 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Joseph, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing New Years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I came here to have a relaxing and peaceful New Years and that is exactly what we had! We stayed in the Ellen room and it was quite small, but very beautiful and perfect for our one night stay. The bathroom was romantic and the bed was plush and comfortable. The owners happily delivered breakfast to our room per our request and it was excellent. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The Ellen room is small, but beautiful! We probably would have not picked this room if we were stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    7
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
194
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have stayed in a few different B&Bs during our 9 years of living in Minneapolis. Wm Sauntry is our favorite! The owners, Tom and Sandy, have done an amazing job maintaining and restoring the house. It is absolutely beautiful. We stayed the first time in a smaller room (Joseph room). Even though it was smaller (which we expected according to the prices on the rooms), it was cozy with a fireplace, and the bathroom with jacuzzi tub and spa shower were wonderful. The larger La Fuegy room, where we stayed this time, was a treat. Plenty of space to spread out, a couch in front of the fireplace, and breakfast served in the room spoiled me.
Breakfast both times has been exquisite. When we ate in the dining room the first time, Tom was a wonderful host and conversationalist, with a wealth of knowledge about where we should eat, hike, spend time for the rest of our stay. We will not be staying anywhere else when we get out of town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed two nights in the beautifully decorated and maintained Willian Sauntry Mansion. The history of the mansion and of the city of Stillwater was facinating. The mansion is a wonderful victorian home on several city lots that are beautifully manicured with plenty of parking and easy access to the home. The mansion is located in a quiet neighborhood just a few blocks from downtown Stillwater. The rooms were a bit small but very comfortable with attention to detail. They even provide a sound machine. The floors were creaky (expected in an older home) and you could hear the people next door, but only slightly. Breakfast was exceptional and the coffee very good. (Good coffee is VERY important) A light snack was provided at night. The hosts were friendly and very accomadating. Overall a great experience and well worth the $128 a night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbumette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was a perfect weekend getaway! Perfect for our last getaway before baby comes. The room (servants) was fantastic! Very comfortable. Haven't slept that well in months! As for the mansion itself, INCREDIBLE! Beautiful place to stay and relax! Must visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful home. Breakfast is very good. The food is made from scratch and you can tell. The bakery served with breakfast was excellent. The proprieters were very cordial.

My husband and I have stayed in quite a few Bed and Breakfasts over the years. We stayed a week ago at this one and I am still disappointed in the lack of attention to detail we experienced and the room. We stayed in Joseph's room. The room was very small. The owners mentioned they plan to expand it in the future. There is a fan in the adjoining bathroom to remove moisture that randomly started a few times in the middle of the night which was loud. Not what you expect at a Bed and Breakfast. I requested no meat with my breakfast when making the reservation which they remembered the first day but didn't remember the second. We stayed Fri-Sun and they forgot to clean our room Saturday which was disappointing to arrive to after 9 p.m. There was a large annual event they were hosting Sunday, so maybe it was just a busy time and our stay wasn't typical.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay in the Joseph's room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serena p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I had the privilege of staying at this beautiful mansion on November 16, 2012. We pulled up to the location and went "WOW, this place is beautiful. We walked in and more of the same antique beauty. The host & Hostess were quiet welcoming. We went through the short and sweet checking process, checked out our room, then enjoyed the delightful wine and cheese left out for a snack. We enjoyed a little time on the City, then came back to a cozy in-the-floor whirlpool and a fireplace. The room was quite cozy and the bed was amazingly comfortable.

The next morning we were welcomed to the dining room by an amazing breakfast, all served by the hostess. We were joined by another couple who were also visiting. This was a fun part of the morning experience.


I would highly recommend this B & B, and we will defintely be making reservations here in the future.

Room Tip: We reserved "Hellen", our room name. Although "Hellen" was one of the smaller r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circle Pines, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We chose this Bed and Breakfast because of the Bathroom, a steam shower and a jacuzzi. What we got was the best honeymoon a person can buy. In the morning they knock on your door and you see someone has left you a picnic basket with all kinds of good morsels for breakfast. The fireplace keeps it very nice and toasty as it is connected to the thermostat. All of the decor was amazing. Walk about Stillwater for a few hours and when you come back the room is beautiful again. Very Clean. The host and hostess have a policy when you enter the hotel that they ask you how much interaction you want from them and they give you what you want. Between 4-7 there are snacks which to us was as filling as a dinner and we mingled with the other guests attempting to play the piano while gazing into the architecture of the place. You have your own little parking lot and gardens to explore. I would definitely go back here for a 5 year or 10 year anniversary.

Room Tip: We chose the Madame LaFuegy room, this was both spacious and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadowcatrancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Sauntry Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Sauntry Mansion

Property: William Sauntry Mansion
Address: 626 4th St N, Stillwater, MN 55082-4827
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fanciest and most authentic inn in Stillwater. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
William Sauntry Mansion Hotel Stillwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing