We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing B&B! You have to try it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of William Sauntry Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
William Sauntry Mansion
Ranked #3 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B! You have to try it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Okay, this was the most amazing place I've ever been to! The rooms have different romantic beds, hot tubs, lighting, music, and more! Wine and apps greet you, along with the amazing owners. So kind! I can't decide what my favorite part was?!?!?! The hot tub next to the fireplace? The wrap around porch where we sipped early morning coffee, watching the sun rise? The fountain out front where we sat on the swing? The amazing 3-course breakfast they cooked us? You have got to try this B&B. I'm definitely going back to check out a different room.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Ellen" room. It was quiet, cute, and the hot tub was sunken into the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeacherNtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    7
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
194
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

We have stayed at a couple different B&B's but we will return to this one! From the moment we drove up to the mansion to our walk out to leave the staff, property and house had us in awww. I have heard many great things about this place and then to experience it on our own made us speechless. Celebrating our wedding anniversary has never been so beautiful and peaceful while staying close to home. The couple that now owns and runs it have to be the best inn keepers we have done business with while being so full of energy and life. The in room massages were such a delight, I was sad when it was over. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a nice quiet, relaxing night stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

A charming hostess and an historic Victorian B&B nestled in a neighborhood above the St. Croix River town of Stillwater, MN. One of the nicest properties we have have stayed in and listed on the National Register of Historic Places. we dealt with Sandy, the owner and found her knowledge of the Mansion and the area to be superb. It's well worth the value and the stay. Try it..you'll love it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed over a weekend in this B&B. We had gone there for our
anniversary celebration. This was our first time experience staying in
B&B and i cannot express how pleasant and delightful the experience
was. The rooms were as gorgeous as the photos illustrates in the
website. Our room was ready when we moved and were greeted very
pleasantly by Tom and Sandy. The host were very gracious and polite
and also very helpful to let us know what we can do in the city
without being very interfering with the plans. We enjoyed our stay
immensely and highly recommend this B&B for everyone. the breakfast
was sumptuous and totally worth the cost. It made our anniversary more
special as nothing was a spoiler.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saket G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

As this was our first time visiting a B&B, we picked the William Sauntry Mansion by the reviews we read here and from the photos of the rooms and front porch. We went with another couple for a 2-day getaway, hoping to do a little sightseeing/eating in Stillwater and a lot of relaxing. After the trip was over I wished it would have lasted a week! We were greeted by one of the friendly hosts, Sandy, and was shown our room while she explained all the things we needed to know concerning our room and our stay at the Sauntry. We stayed in The Servant's Quarters and found the accommodations were excellent! The king size bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom and room was neat and clean. It also included a large whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and cd player. After checking in we began our stay in style with a wine and Hors d'oeuvres happy hour. It was very tasty and the homemade bread and and accompanying spreads was fantastic! The house itself was impeccably furnished in the period and was like living in a museum. The breakfast that is served was excellent and sitting on the porch made it all the more enjoyable. Both Tom and Sandy were always willing to answer questions about local restaurants or other things to do while visiting Stillwater. Tom was also engaging when I was pestering him about his landscaping plans, as I was interested in their plans for the grounds around the Sauntry Mansion. To sum up the visit I would say gracious hosts, delicious breakfast, beautiful accommodations and when can I plan my next visit?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccfore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We recently spent two nights at the William Sauntry B&B with another couple. Since this was our first time at a Bed & Breakfast we were not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised with our romantic accommodations and the our host's hospitality. They were very accommodating and made our stay as stress free as we had hoped.
We were taken to our room, the Joseph, and shown the various amenities. What we found was a very clean and cozy room with a comfortable queen sized bed, a gas fireplace, a CD player and a small refrigerator stocked with complimentary water and pop. The large bathroom included a large whirlpool tub and a Swedish steam shower. I really enjoyed the steam shower.
We had an exceptional four course breakfast each morning on the porch. The breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, pastry, an entree and homemade ice cream with fruit. Any one course by itself was average, but as a whole (good food, on the porch with great company) made this breakfast relaxing and one of the most pleasurable I have had.
We enjoyed our stay here and said to each other that we were sure that we would do this again. We will recommend the William Sauntry B&B to any of our friends thinking of going to a B&B.

I can't think of anything that we didn't like.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful 2 nights at the William Sauntry Mansion. Our hosts Tom and Sandy were very friendly and accommadating! The Mansion was breathtaking and our rooms were beautiful. The steam shower was my husband's favorite, along with the history of the Mansion. I loved the historic story of the Mansion along with the grounds. Very breathtaking! We are planning on visiting there again over Christmas and bringing my parents as I know they would love the Mansion and history behind it. They will also love the Christmas decorations. We will definately go back! Thank you Tom and Sandy for a wonderful 31st Anniversary!

Room Tip: We stayed in the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillverdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.5 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
7.7 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Sauntry Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Sauntry Mansion

Property: William Sauntry Mansion
Address: 626 4th St N, Stillwater, MN 55082-4827
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fanciest and most authentic inn in Stillwater. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
William Sauntry Mansion Hotel Stillwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing