We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible stay!”
Review of Aurora Staples Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aurora Staples Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Cathy was a great host. She toured us around the house common areas and our suite upon arrival. We enjoyed the wine & hors d'oeuvres while we took some time to unwind on the porch of the Riverview Suite before walking down to downtown Stillwater for dinner. Very relaxing place, tranquil garden, tiny view of the St. Croix River bluffs from the porch and a tasty breakfast in the morning too. A great way to celebrate our 10th anniversary!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cocoapuff0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for coming to celebrate your anniversary, and we'll hopefully see you on the 11th! Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 398 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary along with my brother in law and his wife. This was our second visit to Stillwater and our second stay at Aurora Staples Inn. We chose the Inn again because of its charm and peaceful environment. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Cathy with a glass of wine, cheese and crackers and felt comfortable immediately. We stayed in the Riverview Suite attached by a lovely sun porch where we enjoyed our morning coffee. Coffee was brought up to our room at 8:00 am every morning followed by a delicious breakfast served in the dining room. The home is a very beautiful Victorian mansion surrounded by beautiful grounds heavily linked to the history of Stillwater. Although complete with all the modern conveniences, the home still retains most of its original splendour. The hosts Cathy and Jerry are welcoming, gracious and friendly. The Inn felt like coming home after a full day of shopping and dining in Stillwater.
Michele W.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you Michele and Barry, it was so nice to see you again. Hope we see you again next summer. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We love Stillwater, MN and this was our second B&B experience there. The Victorian house is beautiful and not overly Victorian in decor, which we like. Jerry and Kathy were wonderful hosts...very friendly and accommodating, but didn't overtake the experience...(an inn keeper at the last B&B ... We knew her life story in the first 5 minutes.) We stayed in the Carriage House, separate from the main house...private, spacious, relaxing. My only complaint was "no view". The view out all four windows was of parking lots. The one wall with no window is a missed opportunity which would be a view toward the river...maybe no actual river view but at least a view of tree tops. That sitting area would have been a more wonderful place to sip my morning coffee if there was a window there. The gardens are beautiful and immaculately kept. The food was delicious and conversation with other guests at the breakfast table was enjoyable. We will visit Aurora Staples again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hi Kristy, thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. We would have loved to put a window on the back wall of the Carriage House, but the City has some ordinances that did not permit us to do that, but it is a great idea. We will look forward to seeing you next time you're in the area. Thank you again. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

我们来之上海,4人中三人第一次住B&B. 维多利亚式房子虽老,但是维护的极好并且很有分格。夫妇两人给我们的服务也温馨。早餐也满意!

We were a group of four from Shanghai! It was first time for three out four to stay in a B&B. We all enjoyed the well maintained old house and services given to us by Cathy and Jerry. The breakfasts were great too!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOveouting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Jeff, I wish I could write this in Chinese, it is so beautiful! It was a pleasure meeting you and your friends, and I hope to see you again next year during camp week! Thank you. Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and stayed two nights over the July 3 and 4th Holiday in 2013. We had a wonder stay in the PeakCock Room. This is a beautiful home with little touches everywhere that make you feel like how it must have been to live there in the late 1800's. We were just 4 blocks walking distance to a busy old down town. The antique shops were so much fun there are several right down town that are full of things to look at and bring back your home memories of childhood. We spent the evening downtown having dinner right near the St Croix River and walked back to Inn which is in a stately quiet neighborhood.

Both mornings we spent with a great cup of coffee on the wrap around porch enjoying the yard. Breakfast is a three course meal that you will not have anywhere else. Breakfast was so much fun we met couples from all over the world.

If you need a little romance and a time to reconnect with your special someone this is the place! Our room was beautiful with a whirlpool, robes, and a fireplace. May favorite thing was all the pillows! Can never have enough of those.

Room Tip: 3 out of the 4 rooms have a whirl pool. Two of the rooms face the St.Crox River and are larger suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine1985960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

We are so glad you were here over the 4th. It was wonderful to meet you. Thank you for all your kind words, and we hope we'll see you again real soon. Just a note, in case you'd like to try a different room on your next stay, all the rooms do have double whirlpool tubs in them. Thanks again. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Asked my husband to help me write this review...and we agree we've stayed at other nice b&b's over the years but we agree everything here was just a little bit nicer & "above & beyond" our expectations. We were in the area to attend the annual Back to the Fifties car show in St. Paul but choose to relax a day or two beforehand in beautiful Stillwater. Stayed two evenings & arrived late the first nite & Jerry welcomed us graciously & we truly enjoyed the glass of wine he offered after a long day. Met his lovely wife Cathy the next morning at the first of 2 wonderful breakfasts. My husband still is talking about how she brought him a cup of coffee outside when she saw him washing his antique car (which by the way we appreciated using Jerry's hose). Loved the room service coffee delivered to our room while I relaxed in the beautiful St Croix suite.
We had friends fromTexas join us for our 2nd evening & I know they truly enjoyed the Riverview Room with the adorable porch. Again, second morning coffee service & breakfast great again.
Property is close to downtown , menus available to look at from many area restaurants and beautiful front porch and backyard seating all open for us to enjoy. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone and do hope to return there ourselves next year.

Room Tip: Each room is a little bit unique...S Croix suite largest but no shower which was fine for us...large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Lee and Kathy, thank you so much, and we would look forward to seeing you again next year. You were absolutely delightful, and we love the old cars in our parking lot. Thank you again. Cathy and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had an excellent stay in the carriage house. Our first experience with a B & B and we were not diasppointed, The grounds are lovely, everything within walking distance.We have been coming to stillwater from milwaukee for many years and thought we would try a new place.
Thank you Kathy & Jerry for the gracious hospitality, the food was delicious as well as meeting the other people staying here!
Blessings ~
Roxie and Jim Rupnow

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Roxie and Jim, it was certainly wonderful to meet you both. I'm hoping sometime you're able to ride your bikes here! Thank you again for coming, and we'll see you again. Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Stillwater
133 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Rivertown Inn
#4 of 9 in Stillwater
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Staples Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Staples Inn

Address: 303 4th St N, Stillwater, MN 55082-4808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: $164 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Staples Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Aurora Staples Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing