We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aurora Staples B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Staples Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aurora Staples Inn
Save
You added Aurora Staples Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Aurora Staples B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We love Stillwater, MN and this was our second B&B experience there. The Victorian house is beautiful and not overly Victorian in decor, which we like. Jerry and Kathy were wonderful hosts...very friendly and accommodating, but didn't overtake the experience...(an inn keeper at the last B&B ... We knew her life story in the first 5 minutes.) We stayed in the Carriage House, separate from the main house...private, spacious, relaxing. My only complaint was "no view". The view out all four windows was of parking lots. The one wall with no window is a missed opportunity which would be a view toward the river...maybe no actual river view but at least a view of tree tops. That sitting area would have been a more wonderful place to sip my morning coffee if there was a window there. The gardens are beautiful and immaculately kept. The food was delicious and conversation with other guests at the breakfast table was enjoyable. We will visit Aurora Staples again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Kristy, thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. We would have loved to put a window on the back wall of the Carriage House, but the City has some ordinances that did not permit us to do that, but it is a great idea. We will look forward to seeing you next time you're in the area. Thank you again. Cathy and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
218
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

我们来之上海,4人中三人第一次住B&B. 维多利亚式房子虽老,但是维护的极好并且很有分格。夫妇两人给我们的服务也温馨。早餐也满意!

We were a group of four from Shanghai! It was first time for three out four to stay in a B&B. We all enjoyed the well maintained old house and services given to us by Cathy and Jerry. The breakfasts were great too!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOveouting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Jeff, I wish I could write this in Chinese, it is so beautiful! It was a pleasure meeting you and your friends, and I hope to see you again next year during camp week! Thank you. Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and stayed two nights over the July 3 and 4th Holiday in 2013. We had a wonder stay in the PeakCock Room. This is a beautiful home with little touches everywhere that make you feel like how it must have been to live there in the late 1800's. We were just 4 blocks walking distance to a busy old down town. The antique shops were so much fun there are several right down town that are full of things to look at and bring back your home memories of childhood. We spent the evening downtown having dinner right near the St Croix River and walked back to Inn which is in a stately quiet neighborhood.

Both mornings we spent with a great cup of coffee on the wrap around porch enjoying the yard. Breakfast is a three course meal that you will not have anywhere else. Breakfast was so much fun we met couples from all over the world.

If you need a little romance and a time to reconnect with your special someone this is the place! Our room was beautiful with a whirlpool, robes, and a fireplace. May favorite thing was all the pillows! Can never have enough of those.

Room Tip: 3 out of the 4 rooms have a whirl pool. Two of the rooms face the St.Crox River and are larger suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine1985960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are so glad you were here over the 4th. It was wonderful to meet you. Thank you for all your kind words, and we hope we'll see you again real soon. Just a note, in case you'd like to try a different room on your next stay, all the rooms do have double whirlpool tubs in them. Thanks again. Cathy and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Asked my husband to help me write this review...and we agree we've stayed at other nice b&b's over the years but we agree everything here was just a little bit nicer & "above & beyond" our expectations. We were in the area to attend the annual Back to the Fifties car show in St. Paul but choose to relax a day or two beforehand in beautiful Stillwater. Stayed two evenings & arrived late the first nite & Jerry welcomed us graciously & we truly enjoyed the glass of wine he offered after a long day. Met his lovely wife Cathy the next morning at the first of 2 wonderful breakfasts. My husband still is talking about how she brought him a cup of coffee outside when she saw him washing his antique car (which by the way we appreciated using Jerry's hose). Loved the room service coffee delivered to our room while I relaxed in the beautiful St Croix suite.
We had friends fromTexas join us for our 2nd evening & I know they truly enjoyed the Riverview Room with the adorable porch. Again, second morning coffee service & breakfast great again.
Property is close to downtown , menus available to look at from many area restaurants and beautiful front porch and backyard seating all open for us to enjoy. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone and do hope to return there ourselves next year.

Room Tip: Each room is a little bit unique...S Croix suite largest but no shower which was fine for us...large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auntiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Lee and Kathy, thank you so much, and we would look forward to seeing you again next year. You were absolutely delightful, and we love the old cars in our parking lot. Thank you again. Cathy and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had an excellent stay in the carriage house. Our first experience with a B & B and we were not diasppointed, The grounds are lovely, everything within walking distance.We have been coming to stillwater from milwaukee for many years and thought we would try a new place.
Thank you Kathy & Jerry for the gracious hospitality, the food was delicious as well as meeting the other people staying here!
Blessings ~
Roxie and Jim Rupnow

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Roxie and Jim, it was certainly wonderful to meet you both. I'm hoping sometime you're able to ride your bikes here! Thank you again for coming, and we'll see you again. Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Aurora Staples Inn recently because we needed to be in the area for medical appointments. Cathy warmly welcomed us, provided generously for us in many thoughtful ways, and we loved staying here.

The food was delicious, the inn was quiet and the bed was supremely comfortable, and the fireplace in our room (Giverny) was fantastic since the weather was cold and sleety.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you so much Julie, It was great getting to know you and your friends. We'll be praying for you on the 10th, but let us know if the husbands need a place to sleep. Our home is always open to you. Bless you, Cathy and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Third Box Car
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well appointed property within easy walking distance to historic Main Street in Stillwater. Quiet and comfortable with an amazing breakfast each morning. Gracious hosts made our stay special. We stayed in the St. Croix Suite. There was a nice view of the river.

Room Tip: The St. Croix Suite has a two-sided fireplace you can see from the bed/sitting room and from the jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnesota_Mongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora50, Owner at Aurora Staples Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much. It was great to meet both of you, and we hope to see you again when you visit Minnesota. Cathy and Jerry and Zoe too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.3 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
1.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul
16.0 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#1 of 18 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Staples Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Staples Inn

Property: Aurora Staples Inn
Address: 303 4th St N, Stillwater, MN 55082-4808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing