We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Murasaki Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Murasaki Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We used a groupon coupon and stuffed ourselves with lots of food. Chicken teriyaki (it was ok but I prefer a sweeter teriyaki sauce and this one was tangy), shrimp shumai as an appetizer was pretty good, and the shrimp tempura roll was OUTSTANDING.

The place is located in a strip mall as other reviewers have stated and right next to a gas station. Once inside, you forget about the location.

Overall, a good meal and great service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlempx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    3
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luck, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Sushi!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I stopped here with a Groupon and had a huge platter of absolutely delicious sushi. The chef was very friendly as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stillwater, mn
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good sushi”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We visit on special occasions several times a year. Shushi is good and the chef will accomodate your requests. Tempura is excellent, have not tried the hibachi.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank getaklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“really odd out of the way place - but good food”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

the place isn't downtown but up the hill in a strip mall. kinda chaotic with everyone running around, but in the end good food

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in the Midwest”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

My husband and I have enjoyed Murasaki over the last seven years. My husband always orders chrirashi sushi, and it has always been very fresh, beautiful to look at, and very tasty. We went on Super Bowl Sunday, and had the restaurant to ourselves unfortunately for the owner. But, my husband got an even more lovely bowl of sushi with octopus, squid, tuna, salmon, and others. I am a fan of the Bento Box with shrimp tempura, a little sushi, salad, and vegetables. Unfortunately, we missed the Miso soup. The owner said that many dismiss the Miso and they had to turn to egg drop soup to accomodate palates unaccustomed to Miso was thrown away in great quantities. But, it is a charming restaurant, one of the first Japanese sushi restaurants in the Twin Cities. The owner, though Korean, worked for many years in a Japanese Restaurant. She is just now introducing some Korean items on the menu. It is a small hidden gem of a restaurant in Stillwater, in a non-descript shopping center. My husband worked in Japan over a five year period, and became a fan of Sushi. We ate sushi for breakfast at the Tsukiji fish market in Toyko. We think we know sushi, and this little restaurant does a very good job.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cardinalhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murasaki Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing