We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun night in Stillwater”
Review of Luna Rossa - CLOSED

Luna Rossa
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nelson Parkway
Description: In Italy, when you plan a meal for someone you care about, you do many things to prepare. You start with the freshest ingredients of their favorite foods, and then you combine those ingredients with so much affection that you can taste it in every bite. Only the best will do, and here at Luna Rossa Trattoria & Wine Bar, we want you to feel like our family and best friends, and we have been anxiously awaiting your arrival! We hope you feel right at home with us, and like you’ve experienced a little bit of Italy with your best friends and family right here in Stillwater.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun night in Stillwater”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

There were 15 of us that had dinner at Luna Rossa in Stillwater. We had dinner in the back cave part of the restaurant, it was very neat and had a great atmosphere. Our service was nice and we had a great time. The cave area was a little chilly, but it was really neat just to be there. Most of everyone had pasta which was very good and the wines were fantastic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennahope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    53
    44
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Girls' Night Out!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I purchased the Groupon deal for the Cave Tour with appetizers and wine and we made dinner reservations for after the tour. We had a group of five women, two of whom had been on the tour previously and were returning because they had such a great time, so we were expecting fun.

The tour of the cave was informative and well done by our guide Anna, who was cute and threw in some "ghost stories", which was good, as part of the reason our friends wanted to return was due to their experience with "a presence" the last time they were in the caves. They have a picture which clearly shows something going on with the energy in the cave, so it was fun and interesting to learn from Anna that others had had similar experiences/photos, and exciting to try to capture new "orbs" too.

The appetizers and wine weren't what I would call Gourmet, but they were good enough, nicely presented at a long table within the caves, with wine barrels around us. We had a few different kinds of cheese, some cured meats, and pickled veggies, as well as some wine. It was so much fun to gather around the table, have something to nibble on, and chat with our friends and the other guests. The whole experience was well worth the time, and I would have paid full price for what we got. We really had a fun time with the tour, wine, and appetizers.

On to our dinner experience... And our wonderful server, Stefan, whom I promised a good review for not only being so helpful, but also putting up with our shenanigans, as we got a bit silly from the wine. He was personable and attentive, providing great service throughout our dinner. The Chicken Marsala was very tasty, as was my friend's Carbonara.

Overall it was a very pleasant experience and a wonderful way to spend a Girls' Night Out, would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
“Fun Night Out”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was a wonderful evening! There were 5 of us ladies. We experienced the wine tasting cave tour and it was AWESOME! Thanks Anna! Very interesting stories! Great appetizers and wonderful wine  We went to the Cave wine store and got 20% off on our purchase. We then headed into the restaurant for an excellent Italian dinner. Our server Stefan was warm, friendly, and professional. He knew the menu extensively and helped us out with our choices. This was definitely made from scratch Italian Cuisine, by a wonderful chef who is beyond talented! They also had a great band playing in the bar area. The evening was amazing! We will be back soon for another great experience! Thanks to All!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Service EVER”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I would also give this place a zero if it existed. We sat in a booth near the bar. The bartender took our orders and then we waited for an hour. After finally realizing we had been completely forgotten----I walked up to a group of four waitresses and asked them if we could have a waitress. You think at that point we would have gotten better service, nope. Our lunch took an hour and 45 minutes. The food was pricey and just ok. You would think the manager could have at least offered an apology, nope. Nothing. Full price bill. Of all the places to go in Stillwater, skip this one.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 952Lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scam Cave Tour”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Made a 2 pm lunch reservation and a cave tour for 3 pm prior to leaving our home in Red Wing, MN. We arrive at the restaurant and confirmed the reservation with the hostess regarding lunch and the tour. My husband instructed the waitress to add the tour fee on to our lunch tab which she did. When the dessert arrived the waitress informed us that we couldn't go on the tour any longer as it was full and she would gladly refund our money. After speaking to other employees I found out the tour was full prior to my calling "Groupon" and she should have never made the reservation with us. The food was cold and the tiramisu was dry cake with tasteless pudding. The bread in the basket was dry and the butter was a tasteless tomato colored ball. Tried twice to speak with the owner but staff said he was busy. I left a voice mail message at 763-439-1900 but Mr. Raffaelle has yet to return my call. This was to be a nice day trip to Stillwater but turned out to be an expensive tasteless lunch with Cave Tour scam.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelly903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Rossa also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing