We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cave Man Happy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Rossa

Luna Rossa
Ranked #37 of 91 Restaurants in Stillwater
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nelson Parkway
Description: In Italy, when you plan a meal for someone you care about, you do many things to prepare. You start with the freshest ingredients of their favorite foods, and then you combine those ingredients with so much affection that you can taste it in every bite. Only the best will do, and here at Luna Rossa Trattoria & Wine Bar, we want you to feel like our family and best friends, and we have been anxiously awaiting your arrival! We hope you feel right at home with us, and like you’ve experienced a little bit of Italy with your best friends and family right here in Stillwater.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cave Man Happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The company was marvelous. Stillwater is a gem. Luna Rossa was a find. Our friend had a groupon. I was not prepared for the lovely atmosphere. Our waitress was hands down one of the best ever. Attentive, informative, efficient. I had veal piccata. It's the first time I've had a creamy sauce on piccata but it worked. The entire meal was an experience. Even better, after dinner we met the owner and his fiancée. The owner complimented two separate employees in our earshot. He took us on a personal tour of the caves though they don't open for a few days yet. If I lived here I would come back soon and often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    53
    44
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sorry, Not recommended.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

It'd have been a better experience to dine here if chefs can use Italian ingredients better than just salt and pepper, improve the dated tasting palettes with right pricing on menu. We'll try other restaurants in this area next time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DealsFinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Evening. Delicious Food. Exceptional Hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We had the best impromptu day! We stumbled across Raffaele's wine store where we sampled many wines and bought a delicious variety at amazing prices, and then decided to grab dinner at his beautiful restaurant (despite having reservations elsewhere). We made the right choice! Raffaele and Lisa were so welcoming, our visit to the store and dinner at the restaurant made our trip. Thank you for your hospitality and delicious food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melissauiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere...but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first time to Luna Rosa. My wife had wanted to go here for years since she thought it loke nice.
The restaurant lived up to expectations regarding atmosphere, especially in the back by the cave.
But we both thought the food was plain, bland, and overpriced.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 757200traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stillwater needs an Italian restaurant with passion for food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Luna Rossa is Ina quaint setting on the south end of Main in Stillwater. We dined here on a Saturday night in early spring. The space was only half full. It seemed to take a while for our waitress to acknowledge our presence. Eventually she saw us and brought a menu and wine card. It should have been a tip- off that the list had 4 white wines for every red! I never saw that ratio before! We played it safe sharing a salad and a wood fired calebrese pizza. I never had a pizza with so little flavor!!! This great space needs a menu and a chef with a passion for food equal to the potential for the great space. I hope it gets it soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PVVVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Rossa also viewed

 

Been to Luna Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing