We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time here and expecting better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Rossa - CLOSED

Luna Rossa
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nelson Parkway
Description: In Italy, when you plan a meal for someone you care about, you do many things to prepare. You start with the freshest ingredients of their favorite foods, and then you combine those ingredients with so much affection that you can taste it in every bite. Only the best will do, and here at Luna Rossa Trattoria & Wine Bar, we want you to feel like our family and best friends, and we have been anxiously awaiting your arrival! We hope you feel right at home with us, and like you’ve experienced a little bit of Italy with your best friends and family right here in Stillwater.
Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“First time here and expecting better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My friend and I go out 4-5 time a year and pic a different restaurant each time to check out in the Twin Cities area. I have lived in Stillwater for 15 years. For some reason I have not checked out this place but know of just about everything else down in Stillwater. Saw the reviews and wanted to try this and it was my treat. The waitress was very nice. We had asked about Happy Hour since we were there at that time and it is not for dining guests but for bar only. The food was good. There were three tables with guests in the room where we dined. The owner came in to the room and said hi to the other two tables and ignored us and we were right there. He might have been upset that we asked about the happy hour with our wine. When we left though he was sitting at the bar and said goodbye. I don't think I would go back to this restaurant but I will say the waitress was good and the food was good. Otherwise very stuffy atmosphere but the place does have more potential.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lauriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    53
    44
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had never been here before, so when some friends suggested we give it a try, we were excited. We had no trouble getting a prime-time reservation for a Friday night...should that have been a sign to us? When we entered the restaurant--which was less than half full--we all fell in love with the atmosphere! The restaurant itself is built into actual caves and there are a number of rooms--all of which have a wonderful feel. The lighting is soft and all of the rooms seem very nicely decorated. Our server was fine--not great--just fine. We tend to be a friendly group, but she didn't play along with us--she just served us. The wine was excellent (at that price, it should be), but once our food came, we began to wonder if that's why the restaurant was so empty...our meals were mediocre at best! Bruschetta was burned toast with chopped tomatoes (no seasoning, nor flavor), mozzarella cheese sticks were similar to what you purchase in a grocery store then reheat in your own oven, salads were nothing special...but it was the entrees that were truly disappointing. Chicken piccata was swimming in a light cream sauce with very little lemon flavor and almost no capers (reminded us of something that Applebee's might make), a pasta carbonara was gluey and had a "funny" flavor to it, marinara sauce was watery--but had an overwhelming roasted pepper flavor, lamb was fine--but nothing special. Since many italian restaurants pride themselves on their desserts, we decided on cheesecake and tiramisu. The cheesecake was a miniscule slice that, after one bite, proved to be more than enough cause it was so bad. The tiramisu was not rich, nor flavorful--and was so perfectly formed that we suspected it came from a local grocery store--certainly not homemade!

If we'd paid Applebee's prices, we might not have been quite so disappointed, but this was an upscale, expensive meal that didn't live up to our expectations. Sadly, with so many restaurants in this area, I'd probably give one of those a try before coming back here...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gatwicksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Food and service great Had canneloni and some great wine with my who had some great pasta too. He had a great manhatten and we ate in the area by the actual cave. Great memory

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank unhappy12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stopped here for lunch which was great as was the wine and service. There is a wood fired oven that is used on weekends.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank farmgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
164 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun Italian Restaurant in Stillwater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

While visiting the twin cities during Christmas vacation I had the pleasure of dining at Luna Rossa in Stillwater. The restaurant is situated in the historic caves right near the river and has a definite charm to it. I was with a large group of friends and I think everyone was very pleased with their dinner. I had the Veal Saltimbocca and it was great. The service was great, too - fast (but not rushed) and friendly. There are many good restaurants in this little area and you should definitely make this one of those you try out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Rossa also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing