We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wondered back through history” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warden's House Museum

Warden's House Museum
Ranked #9 of 34 things to do in Stillwater
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Former home of Stillwater State Prison's warden.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wondered back through history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

An amazing tour back in time. Great pictures and stories of what went on in this house.

A couple of changes I would make
1) Have a place in doors for people to wait for the next tour
2) The tour guide talked in a monotone

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank plasticman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kids loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I brought our kids to the Warden house and was not sure what to expect. I was hoping it was a self-guided tour since my kids, ages 9, 7, and 4, sometimes get a little rowdy. It is a guided tour through the house and they did a fantastic job! They kept the kids interested the entire time!! It was only an hour, which was the perfect amount of time for the kids. It was reasonably priced, but make sure to have cash as that is all they accept!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank alarson214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great piece of history!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I love being able to step into a different time to get an idea of how different life over 100 years ago. This is a fascinating little place and the tour guides are very knowledgeable AND engaging!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great History Lesson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

It is a grand old house but also has the history of the original prison it stood next to, (that is now located just south of Stillwater). My favorite part was learning more about the Younger Brothers who rode with Frank and Jesse James in their failed attempt to rob the bank in Northfield, Minn.

Helpful?
2 Thank SightseeingCyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warden's House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Warden's House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing