We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Overpriced for what you get” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Water Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Water Street Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

Stayed in the "vault" "suite", room 318 with my husband for 4 nights. I feel we were really mislead about the charm of this room. LOTS of traffic on the bridge all day and night and very loud. Room was creepy dark, even with the lights on. Fireplace is oddly situated - had to sit on the floor to enjoy it. Tacky , psuedo victorian decor. Wallpaper peeling. Holes in wallpaper were pictures had been hung. Tacky rummage sale pictures oddly placed in room - maybe to cover holes? Low end linens and fixtures. Entire hotel looks shabby and rundown. Front desk staff unprofessional in appearance and actions. Odd arrangement of plants under tacky light in main stairwell. Food in hotel is just average. Menus were gross - never wipped off and sticky. Refused to touch mine.

Way overpriced for what you get. Stay somewhere else.

We loved Stillwater and will be back - just plan to stay elsewhere.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank isabellaMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    62
    71
    55
    61
See reviews for
38
189
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed at a suite at the Water Street Inn for a weekend getaway. We were initially disappointed with the accommodations as the towels and bedding were extremely old and threadbare. That evening we also found out that the walls are paper thin. There was a wedding and drunken guests were screaming obscenities at 2:30 in the morning. A fight also broke out in the hallways outside our room. We called down several times but the phone was never answered. To make matter worse, they offered to comp the room the next morning, then charged us two days later. Please choose someplace else to stay.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymousMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stillwater hotels

Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

My now husband booked a room here for our wedding night. Let's just say I was underwhelmed. No room service, mold on the shower curtain, the sheets were old and thin - and in fact, the sheet is all you get, unless you want to use the itchy Walmart-quality bedspread that is on top of them. Yucky pillows, and not enough of them. Paint is chipping, wall paper peeling in the bathroom.... We were there from about 3am-11am, then promptly checked out and moved to the EXCELLENT Lowell Inn, just down the street. We were ready to pay lots more for a better newlywed experience - but the Lowell was actually cheaper than WS Inn!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bedding
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonlocalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2008

We had an absolutely marvelous stay. The room was warm and inviting, the whirlpool was a great addition and to watch the fireplace from the whirlpool while it was snowing outside was way cool. While the facility could use a bit more tender loving care, it was clean and well kept. The staff was all very friendly and helpful.

We had the Easter Buffet and that too was great. The food was delicious and special - way better than your usual powdered eggs on a normal buffet.

We are already planning when we should return for another visit.

  • Liked — The whirlpool and fireplace really made the room out of the ordinary.
  • Disliked — There really wasn't anywhere to put things in the bathroom.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beenz4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2008

Disappointed to find out when we arrived that the restaurant was closed for dinner. We had planned a romantic getway and looked forward to dinner or room service. Talked to the desk clerk about options for ordering food from a restaurant and was told they had menus at the desk that we could look at. Went down to look at them and the only thing they had was a phone number for a pizza joint. It was a Sunday night, and the town shut down at 6:00 p.m, so no food to be had - wound up walking to the convenience store that was less than a block away for some snacks. Not very romantic!
Here's the kicker - we had breakfast in the restaurant on Monday morning before we checked out and the waitress said that we were one of just three hotel guests! I would think that they could have picked up the phone and let us know about the restaurant situation. We could have prepared better.

  • Liked — The Victorian theme
  • Disliked — No table/dinette
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Cloud Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

Please do visit Stillwater, but do a little research and you will find there are better options for your stay. I would suggest the Rivertown Inn. I wanted to stay at the Rivertown Inn, but there were no rooms available, so we stayed at the Water Street Inn.

The Water Street Inn was formerly called the Lumber Baron. We were guests of the inn a few years ago, prior to the name change. Apparently there has been an ownership change also. The attention to detail is just not there.

We were originally booked in room 318: Riverview vault suite at $159/night. Upon review of the room, (sparce and very uncomfortable furnishings), we asked to be moved. The guy at the front desk really didn't want to be bothered with our request. However, we did trade with room 218 - also a riverview vault suite.

Here are my major concerns about this property:

The front desk guy was a pain and made me feel uncomfortable. As the customer, I should have the right to let him know if I am unhappy about something.

The furniture needs to be maintained or replaced now. I don't think the furnishings were commercial quality and the chairs bottom out when you sit in them. The chairs in our room and the chairs in the lobby are that way.

The painted wood work in the rooms is chipped.

Although the bathrooms are large, the showers are small.

There is one television in the room and it is so poor in size and quality the owners should be embarassed to even have them in the room.

The drinks in the lounge are quite expensive. I think they were more money than the Marriott in Manhattan.

The elevator is verrrrryyyy slllllllooooowwwwww (and there are only 3 floors!)

This hotel has soooo much potential - but it truly needs some tender loving care. The ambience of the Lumber Baron is gone and it's very sad for me to see - this was one of my favorites.

Stay at the Rivertown Inn. You will be amazed at the decor and the friendliness of the staff. You will feel like royalty. Don't go to the Water Street Inn unless the Rivertown is full and you can't change your dates.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poorly furnished
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

We just spent an unseasonably warm weekend in Stillwater, and stayed at the Water Street Inn. Record highs and high humidity made it uncomfortable outside, but our room was delightfully cool. Our parlor suite had very high ceilings, at least 12 foot I would estimate, as well as an adequate two-person jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace. We were a little concerned about street noise, but as the bed was in the interior room, we had no problems. Furnishings were a little sparse but tasteful. A few nits: a single garbage in the bathroom was all that was provided; my wife would have preferred another mirror, perhaps over the desk, rather than the two located in the bathroom, as it made it harder for her to get ready; the TV was quite small and not that new. Admittedly, we weren't there to watch TV, but still, an upgrade there would be appreciated. Our friends stopped by the room, and that was one of the first comments I heard. The Irish pub on the first floor featured live music both nights from Paul and Lorraine, who were quite entertaining. The patio bar and restaurant were also pleasant, with a great view of the river and lift bridge. My wife also enjoyed the easy walk to the various shops on Main Street. We will certainly stay at this hotel again on our next trip to Stillwater.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Elevator was way out of the way
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TandomRaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
2.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#1 of 17 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
8.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Inn

Property: Water Street Inn
Address: 101 Water St S, Stillwater, MN 55082-5150
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Water Street Inn in the heart of Downtown Stillwater. All guestrooms with double whirlpools, most with fireplaces and balconies overlooking the River. Restaurant with indoor & outdoor seating, Irish Pub overlooking the river, meeting, banquet and wedding facilities for 2 to 300 people. Stillwater’s only Inn on the River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Water Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel Stillwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing