We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing ice cream!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store

Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing ice cream!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

A little place that I passed multiple times, but everyone told me about. 42 flavors of homemade ice cream to chose from. The portions are HUGE!!! A child's size is ample for two people and the price is to die for. The chocolate peanut swirl is our favorite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodiegrl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    20
    4
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The portions and prices are UNREAL! A child size is like a larger in most other places. The ice cream flavors are outstanding. The only place to sit is outside so be prepared to eat very quickly if it's remotely hot out! Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shanl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

You might be taken back by the prices on the board but don't worry, the value may be the best you will find anywhere. A child's cone is more then enough for a full grown adult. I am not sure how anyone can eat a larger cone. The ice cream is excellent. Lots of flavors. Highly recommend the French Silk Pie or Black Cherry. No inside seating so on a hot day be prepared to wash yourself down. They have an outdoor sink for doing just that.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheeser0251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Lovers! Don't Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you are in Stillwater and you love ice-cream, this mom and pop ice cream shop is a must visit. At first glance, the prices seem high. One scoop is about 4.25. But one scoop is all you need. In fact, my friend and I both ended up getting the "child's" size cone at 3.50 and it was more than enough -- not like any child-size I had ever scene! There are lots of flavors to choose from -- from kid's favorite's like bubblegum and peppermint to more adult options -- like salted caramel with nuts. My friend and I had the salted caramel with nuts and it was delicious. When we were there the line was long, but the wait was not. They move the line quickly and at the same time are very friendly. No indoor seating, but lots of tables and chairs outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank allieetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Come after lunch- skip dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

In Stillwater, there are many cute shops and yummy places to eat. Among them are the few ice cream shops which cater to the tourists, giving scoops of ice cream the size of racquetballs for $5. Nelson's, on the other hand, is one of those places a bit off of the main drag and where even the locals stand in line. The same $5 at Nelson's will get you a near bowling ball sized ice cream treat. Even the "child size" is enough for the average hubby and wife to share.

With close to 30+ flavors at any given time, there is something for everyone. The flavors are varied and some are out there... My son got a combo of cinnamon churro and licorice, but it is not all adventure, as even the plain vanilla lovers will find their flavor at Nelson's.

The main caveat is that on the hot summer days when the store is open, you will stand a better chance of having ice cream running down your arm than getting it into your mouth. Be prepared to rinse off when you're done! For that reason, I would recommend getting your portion in a cup- you may not even be able to finish it anyway and it will be less likely to be all over you.

Finally, if you do decide to go and get your fill, don't plan on the next meal as it will fill you up for a long time. Gotta get to Nelson's, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store also viewed

 

Been to Nelson's Drive Inn Dairy Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing