We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty!”
Review of Domacin Wine Bar

Domacin Wine Bar
Ranked #10 of 96 Restaurants in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Osceola, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were looking for a place to celebrate an anniversary; the food was just what I hoped for (and a delicious glass of wine) but the noise was "a deal breaker" for my husband. Though we were seated by the window and not in the center of the room, it was almost impossible to have a conversation. Seems like an architectural change to ceiling or floor could really improve the atmosphere. The spinach salad was fabulous - crispy bacon bits, dried cherries and maple vinaigrette! My husband's liked the tenderloin but wasn't crazy about the cheddar butter. My chicken breast was fabulous ... Loved the combination of crispy seasoned crust, the mango salsa and the creme fraich was satisfying. Service was tops, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    37
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The BEST wine bar in Stillwater”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Sure, it's not on the River or right off Main street, but you shouldn't miss it. They know their wine and they know their food. Excellent food no matter you order from wine lovers appetizer to entree and dessert, you won't go wrong here. Be ready to spend a little $$, though the experience will be worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just had wine...we will be back!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stopped in after dinner at Luna Rossi for a glass of wine last night. The place was PACKED at 7pm except for two seats at the bar. Since we only wanted wine and to scope the place out, this was perfect!
Nick served us with a smile and it was apparent to me that he loved working there and his attitude made me want to come back every night.
We each had a glass of wine while we checked out the small menu. This place is right up my alley. Local ingredients with something on the menu for everyone.
Nick asked if we wanted dessert and although we declined, he said we had to try something: it was like a flan or brûlée type with raspberries. Yum. This little gesture guaranteed a return trip as was very nice of him. If Nick doesn't own or co own this place he needs to. You won't be disappointed if you go!

Helpful?
Thank lisathew8lifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We planned a romantic weekend in Stillwater and chose Domacin for dinner one evening. Our appetizer was good and the wine recommended to me was fabulous. The wait staff was very attentive. My husband's chicken was on the dry side and my fish was not as flavorful as I was hoping. The most bothersome thing for us was the acoustics. We had to yell at each other across the table the entire evening...not very romantic.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyB569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Crème de la crème"”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We chose Domacin based on the glowing reviews and were truly amazed at our experience. In fact (even though we were only in town for three nights) we ate twice at Domacin. The wines are exceptional in every price range. The food is amazing and the waitstaff is knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful without being intrusive. We even purchased two bottles of wine from their accompanying cellar to bring home. When we return to the area, we WILL return to Domacin. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank editordeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domacin Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Domacin Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing