We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great German atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter

Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter
Ranked #20 of 91 Restaurants in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award winning Old World hospitality in our beautiful pine forest. Lunch, dinner and Sunday buffet.12 Imported German beers on tap, wines, liquers and full bar. Strolling accordion Friday evenings. Reservation accepted and recommended. Outdoor seating in a pine forest. Family owned and operated since 1966! Guten Appetit!!
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great German atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

The grounds of this restaurant are beautiful in the summertime, with gorgeous flower arrangements surrounding the perimeter of the restaurant. The view over the surrounding fields is quite lovely. We were greeted and immediately seated by staff dressed in Bavarian costumes who made us feel right at home. Our waitress was very attentive and helpful with suggestions. Having said that, the food was uneven. We had the sausage sampler to start, and from what we could determine, there were only two types of sausages - a common bratwurst and a Polish sausage - heaped on top a ton of mediocre sauerkraut. The fried bread dumplings were nothing out of the ordinary. The ribs were excellent, but they did not need to have two cups of average sauerkraut heaped underneath it. The sauerbraten was good and generous, as were the potato pancakes that accompanied it and the red cabbage was very good. The beer selection was excellent and the imported draft was obviously fresh. It was fun to visit and the interior decoration and ambiance is reminiscent of Germany.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie8460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    37
    17
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Reminds me of Germany”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

If I can't go to Germany, this is the closest I can get. The food is authentic German. Even the waiters are dressed in authentic German costume. The food is very good. The ambience of the restaurant is totally German, from the tablecloths to the goats outside. There is a great outdoor deck to eat from. They have a large piece of property where they do special events during Oktoberfest. I love this place!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bandrpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great German resraurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Great German restaurant in a bucolic rural setting near the St. Croix River. Excellent German beer selection and German food. Rivals Glockenspiel as the best German restaurant in or about the Twin Cities. Nice deck and good German beer hall style special events including entertainment.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gemutlichkeit in the Green Forests of Stillwater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We like to celebrate a successful visit to Mayo Clinic each year and we did again this year on 1 August. It was a balmy Friday night and the terrace was inviting, but we opted for the charmingly Bavarian theme decorated inside dinning room with lilting accordion music of familiar German favorites.

My wife enjoys the Jaegerschnitzel that is ample portioned for dinner and a take home. For me, I started with the Gulashsuppe (spicy, but tasty) followed by my traditional Schweinshaxe adorned in Rotkohl is a must washed down with authentic Bavarian beer - no leftovers for me. There was no room left for dessert, but we had Key Lime pie anyway - superb!

We are looking forward to our next visit.

The service was excellent by a modern dirndled lass who was very accommodating to our schedule and conveniently attentive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CamanoCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim Q, Manager at Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are here to provide the best German dining experience for our great guests! We are truly blessed to have this Gem in the forest and be able to share it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My experience as a German to the Gasthaus visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

How about this, the Cook in this restaurant would be closing the restaurant in Germany or Austria. I went with my Boyfriend there, I was so a shame to bring him there. Everyone can open a can of Sauerkraut or Red Cabbage, and throw it on a plate. There are no side decoration (like Parsley or anything). The Bread(Brotchen) , is hard, not even warm. Maybe the owner needs to go back and order a German dish in Germany or Austria and compare. And for the price its worthless, was a waste a money. No Atmosphere at all. The only good thing was the location and Stillwater area. I am so glad I have a gift, and this is cooking with love and looks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank claudia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim Q, Owner at Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Sorry you did not enjoy your experience. I reached out to you on Monday via the Phone number you left and did not get a return call. As a person from Germany surely you have your favorite dishes as only you can make them, with love. Sorry you did not enjoy our German Specialties and recipes, some passed down 3 generations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter also viewed

 

Been to Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing