We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent German food and beer”

Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter
Ranked #27 of 93 Restaurants in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning Old World hospitality in our beautiful pine forest. Lunch, dinner and Sunday buffet.12 Imported German beers on tap, wines, liquers and full bar. Strolling accordion Friday evenings. Reservation accepted and recommended. Outdoor seating in a pine forest. Family owned and operated since 1966! Guten Appetit!!
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent German food and beer”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Gasthaus has been an institution of the Stillwater, MN area for many decades. It has excellent German food. Favorites include sauerbraten, Wiener schnitzel, jäger schnitzel, and rahm putin schnitzel. They always have around 10 German beers on tap, and some good German wine. The desserts are not made in house and are mediocre. Come on a sunny day and enjoy the deck under the pines. It is just like returning to Bavaria.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meadoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    39
    17
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wonderful food on the Sunday brunch. Cabbage rolls were the best ! Pickled beets, hot German potato salad, goulash was fantastic over the spatzle, roasted chicken and vegetables, spatzle, and so many more great authentic German foods were on the buffet. It was hard to make a choice. We ordered Potato dumplings with the gravy, off the menu and they tasted just like what my mom used to make, so delicious and brought back a wonderful memory. And the desserts were great too. Waitresses dressed in cute Bavarian costumes, and the accordion player, all added to the decor of a Bavarian hunting lodge.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our family group of 8 enjoyed Easter Sunday brunch at the Gasthaus. A wide variety of entrees were offered, including ham, roast turkey, sausage, and baked egg/potato casserole among others. A fresh fruit medley, green salad, mashed potatoes plus a variety of German specialty items were also on the buffet. Several dessert choices were offered, such as chocolate cake, chocolate-dipped strawberries, little cheesecakes and mini tarts. Everyone enjoyed their food but unfortunately it was very warm inside the restaurant and only when we were leaving was the air conditioning turned on. We felt the temperature inside should have been managed better on a busy day like Easter.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNDoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim Q, Manager at Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed the Buffet! The buffet is served every Sunday with changing entrees and still a great value at only $13.75. Sorry for the temperature but was hesitant to turn on as they hadn't been serviced or used yet this year. I did fire it up and we got cooled down, shouldn't be an issue moving forward! Hope to see you again!! Kim Quade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relief after X-Country Skiing”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

After some cross country skiing we arrived in the apparent middle of a rural zone at this German themed bar / restaurant. There were a comprehensive range of beers available (refer photo) but the tasting selection of 4 different beers seemed to be the best way to try a few without drinking too much.
The selection chosen had: Spaten LT, Spaten dark, Weiss dark, and a Stiegl Pilsner.
All were pleasant with the darker beers definitely up there in the flavour stakes.
The bar provides meals as well and there appear to be plenty of events on their calendar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiPaddyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim Q, Manager at Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We're glad to provide you comfort and relief after sking. The Gasthaus is gearing up for the trail you probably came in on to open this summer. Lunch, Dinner and a beautiful Deck to enjoy all Summer! Hope to see you again, Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding German food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Outstanding German food. I've never been to Europe but it screams "authentic" to me. Servers in European attire, great German beer and WONDERFUL food. My favorites are Sauerbraten and Rouladen. If you're partial to side dishes, go for the Spaetzle. I'm not a big desert guy but my family loved their choices. From what I saw, I'd be partial to the Apple Struedel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim Q, General Manager at Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you Robert B. We strive to provide a true German experience for all our guests! See you again! Kim quade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter also viewed

 

Been to Gasthaus Bavarian Hunter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing